- 1 EUREKA LODGE
- 2 REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
- 2.1 ANNIVERSARIES
- 2.2 VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 2.3 BY-LAW CHANGES
- 2.4 HISTORY
- 2.4.1 75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1933
- 2.4.2 CENTENARY HISTORY, JUNE 1958
- 2.4.3 125TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, APRIL 1983
- 2.4.4 NOTES AT 150TH ANNIVERSARY OF QUITTACUS LODGE, JUNE 2008
- 2.5 OTHER
- 2.6 EVENTS
- 2.7 GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- 2.8 OTHER BROTHERS
- 2.9 DISTRICTS
- 2.10 LINKS
Location: New Bedford
Chartered By: John T. Heard
Charter Date: 06/09/1858 VI-232
Precedence Date: 05/08/1857
- Timothy Ingraham, 1857; Mem
- Henry F. Thomas, 1858-1861
- Isaac M. Richardson, 1862
- Amasa L. Gleason, 1863
- William O. Woodman, 1864
- Charles W. Seabury, 1865
- John A. Lee, 1866-1868; SN
- Abraham H. Howland, Jr., 1869-1871
- Thomas B. Tripp, 1872, 1880
- James L. Sherman, 1873-1875
- Ansel G. Baker, 1876-1878
- William T. Soule, 1879
- Frederick W. Mosher, 1881-1883
- William H. Waterman, 1884, 1885
- Arnold B. Wady, 1886, 1887
- Daniel W. Cory, 1888, 1889
- Thomas R. Hillman, 1890, 1891
- Robert J. Moore, 1892, 1893
- Henry T. Phillips, 1894
- William Bliss, 1895-1897
- William A. Baker, 1898, 1899
- Robert W. Taber, 1900, 1901
- Elisha H. Fisher, 1902, 1903
- Elmer W. Brownell, 1904, 1905
- Herbert N. Peck, 1906, 1907
- Clifton H. Cornish, 1908, 1909
- Edwin R. King, 1910 1911
- Charles S. Coombs, 1912, 1913
- Henry S. Foster, 1914, 1915
- John A. Stitt, 1916
- Daniel W. Baker, 1917
- John A. Lee, 1918
- William O. Buzzell, 1919
- Robert M. Gunderson, 1920
- Dexter B. Goodwin, 1921
- Daniel C. Stephenson, 1922
- Stanley G. Baker, 1923
- Charles W. Smith, 1924
- Arnold Taylor, 1925
- William E. White, 1926
- Erford W. Poole, 1927; N
- Lynton M. Buffinton, 1928
- Herbert Griffiths, 1929
- Stanley A. Bullard, 1930
- Fred Selley, 1931
- Arthur R. Anderson, 1932; N
- Elmer H. Jennings, 1933
- Thomas A. Booth, 1934
- Joseph T. Timperley, Jr., 1935
- Percy L. Shaw, 1936
- Harold B. Aldrich, 1937
- Gilbert H. Dodge, 1938
- Norman Renne, 1939
- E. Malcolm Munson, 1940
- Albert E. Clarke, 1941
- James Giles, 1942
- Henry P. Brindle, 1943
- Charles O. Redfield, 1944
- Charles O. Redfield, 1945
- Walter E. Dreher, 1946
- John Banks, 1947
- Leonard S. Dodge, 1948
- Ernest C. Ashworth, 1949
- George R. Dewhurst, 1950; N
- Albert Waddington, 1951
- Arthur F. Miller, 1952
- Harvey Crook, Jr., 1953, 1981, 1982, 1986, 1990
- Francis L. Thomson, 1954
- Wilfrid C. Fortier, 1955
- Jack J. Goldberg, 1956
- William O. Fuller, Jr., 1957
- Ernest M. Hardy, 1958
- Edward A. Wagner, 1959
- Everett J. Rivard, 1960
- Oman R. Price, 1961, 1969; N
- Morris R. Furtado, 1962
- Mitchell I. Jackson, 1963
- Julius Shaw, 1964, 1965
- Philip C. Davis, 1966-1968
- Edgar S. Haworth, 1970, 1971
- Warren S. Wood, 1972, 1975
- David R. Price, Sr., 1973, 1974
- Charles R. McAfee, 1976, 1980
- Stephen W. Latham, 1977; N
- Frank J. Linhares, 1978, 1979
- Robert M. Streeton, 1984, 1985, 1987, 1991
- David E. Masters, 1988, 1989
REFERENCES IN GRAND LODGE PROCEEDINGS
- Petition for Dispensation: 1857
- Petition for Charter: 1858
- Consolidation Petition (with Quittacus Lodge): 1990
VISITS BY GRAND MASTER
- 1858 (Heard; Constitution of Lodge; not in Proceedings; see below)
- 1861 (W. Coolidge; Installation and dedication of hall)
- 1882 (Lawrence)
- 1908 (Blake)
- 1919 (L. Abbott)
- 1921 (Prince)
- 1933 (Chipman; 75th Anniversary; Special Communication)
- 1958 (A. Jenkins; Centenary; Special Communication)
- 1960 (Eaton; Reception for Junior Grand Warden George R. Dewhurst)
- 1961 (Eaton; Reception for Deputy Grand Master Thomas A. Booth)
- 1966 (Booth; 3 visits)
- 1967 (Booth; installation)
- 1974 (Vose; 50-year medal for Past Grand Master Booth)
- 1983 (Berquist; 125th Anniversary; Special Communication)
- 1984 (Richardson; 50-year Past Master Certificate for Past Grand Master Booth)
- 1989 (Ames; installation)
- 1991 (Darling; consolidation with Quittacus Lodge; Special Communication)
- 1933 (75th Anniversary History, 1933-58; see below)
- 1958 (Centenary History, 1958-99; see below)
- 1983 (125th Anniversary History, 1983-103)
- 2008 (History, presented as part of 150th Anniversary of Quittacus Lodge, 2008-66; see below)
75TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, JUNE 1933
From Proceedings, Page 1933-58:
by Wor. Charles S. Coombs, Historian;
Assisted by Wor. William Bliss and Bro. Alfred Bradley
We read in our Great Light, the Bible, that "the days of our years are three score years and ten, or even by reason of strength fourscore years; yet is their pride labor and sorrow; for it is soon gone and we fly away."
Eureka Lodge has already reached three score years and ten and five; and yet her strength is not diminished, or her future hopes dimmed. This Diamond Jubilee attests to the fact that her Brethren are confident of her future and anticipate that as the years go by she will attain added lustre.
A Historian is not a prophet; his province is to dig into the wells of the past and bring to the surface facts and figures to reveal to those who may be interested something pertaining to the founding and progress of this organization of ours which we call Eureka Lodge.
If you do not find it interesting, it will not be the fault of the Lodge, but the fault of your erstwhile historian who lacks the ability to display the abundant material which he has scanned in such an attractive manner that it will gain your attention and interest.
Tn the early part of the year 1857 ten Brethren of Star in the East Lodge decided that the time had come when another Lodge ought to be founded in New Bedford. Business was good, whaling was flourishing, money was plentiful, Star in the East Lodge was prospering, and as they said "it had so many members that it had become unwieldy." The population was about 22,000 and our ships were ploughing through the seven seas making contact with all nations; our streets were thronged with people from these nations speaking many foreign tongues so that it was cosmopolitan in character, no provincial city this. (Doesn't that sound good when we think of our times?)
At this time there were only four Lodges in the whole of Bristol County; Star in the East, New Bedford, chartered in 1823, Bristol, of Attleboro, chartered in 1797, King David, of Taunton, chartered in 1798, and Mount Hope, of Fall River, chartered in 1824.
These Lodges were all in the 7th Masonic District of Massachusetts. It is well to review the past at times and so derive all the benefit that can be obtained from past experiences in order to avoid mistakes that may have been made and if possible improve the future conduct of the work and affairs of the Lodge. The present Diamond Jubilee Anniversary is a good occasion.
The first meeting that we have any record of was held in Masonic Hall, north west Corner of Purchase and Union streets, Friday evening, May 15, 1857. Brethren present: Timothy Ingraham, Benjamin Russell, Stephen A. Tripp, Isaac M. Richardson, Henry F. Thomas, Robert C. Topham, George H. Taber, Moses G. Thomas, Moses H. Bliss, Pardon C. Edwards, Joseph R. Tallman, James C. Tripp, and Lineas Wood.
Visiting Brethren from Star in the East Lodge were James Moores, William Tallman, William W. Thomas, George Howland 3d, Rev. Spencer M. Rice, Charles W. Walker, Shipley W. Bumpus, Lawrence Cummings, and Benjamin Gage.
The Lodge was organized at this time under the name of Eureka Lodge, under a Dispensation granted by the Most Worshipful Grand Master, John T. Heard.
The Dispensation was granted May 8, 1857, by the sanction and recommendation of Star in the East Lodge, and to continue and be in full force (unless sooner revoked) until the Regular Quarterly Communication to be held in June, 1858.
The officers named in the Dispensation were Timothy Ingraham, to be the first Worshipful Master, Henry F. Thomas to be the first Senior Warden, Isaac M. Richardson to be the first Junior Warden. The Dispensation was signed by Most Worshipful John T. Heard, and Charles W. Moore, Grand Secretary.
The signers for the Dispensation were Timothy Ingraham, Stephen A. Tripp, Moses G. Thomas, Isaac M. Richardson, Benjamin Russell, Moses G. Bliss, and George H. Taber. The Lodge was further organized by the election of Benjamin Russell Treasurer, and Stephen A. Tripp, Secretary. The Worshipful Master appointed the following officers; Moses G. Thomas, Senior Deacon, Moses H. Bliss, Junior Deacon, Robert C. Topham, Marshal, and Eliphalet Robbins, Tyler "for the present." Brothers Rev. Spencer M. Rice and Moses G. Thomas were invited to act as Chaplains.
The first committee on By-Laws was George H. Taber, Moses H. Bliss, and Stephen A. Tripp. A petition was received for the degrees from Francis L. Porter. This was the first petition received by the new Lodge.
The next meeting of the Lodge, U. D. was a Regular, the first Friday in June. Four petitions for the degrees were received, being William Bates, Isaac C. Taber, John Frasier, and Lawrence Grinnell. Francis L. Porter was elected and initiated at this meeting, June 5, 1857. He was Raised August 28, 1857, being the first candidate to be made a Master Mason in the new Lodge U. D.
At a meeting held July 1, William Bain was Tyler; July 14, Daniel Montague was Tyler and served in that position until 1866.
I find in the Records of the Grand Lodge proceedings at the Quarterly Communication on June 8, 1858, this statement:
"The Brethren of Eureka Lodge at New Bedford having Worked for the Constitutional period under a Dispensation, returned the same and prayed that a Charter might be issued to them instead thereof, but there being a slight deficiency in the returns, the subject was referred to the Grand Master with power to order the Charter to be issued when the requirements of the Constitution shall have been complied with."
The Charter was issued on June 9, 1858, so the returns were corrected very promptly.
The Charter was signed by John T. Heard, Grand Master and Charles W. Moore, Grand Secretary. The Charter was granted to the following Brethren: Timothy Ingraham, Henry F. Thomas, Isaac M. Richardson, Moses G. Thomas, Stephen A. Tripp, Benjamin Tripp, Benjamin Russell, Moses H. Bliss, James C. Tripp, and Lineas Wood.
The first Communication after the Charter was granted was June 30, 1858. The following officers were elected; Henry F. Thomas, Worship Master, Isaac M. Richardson, Senior Warden, Isaac C. Taber, Junior Warden, Benjamin Russell, Treasurer, Stephen A. Tripp, Secretary,and Thomas Russell, Assistant Secretary.
The Lodge was Constituted July 21, 1858, by the officers of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge. The Charter was received at this time. It was signed by John T. Heard, Most Worshipful Grand Master, Henry Goddard, Senior Grand Warden, Isaac Hull Wright, Junior Grand Warden, and Charles W. Moore, Grand Secretary.
At the close of the Lodge, the Grand officers with other invited guests and the Brethren of the Lodge proceeded to the Mansion House and partook of a supper furnished for the occasion.
Charles W. Seabury was the first petitioner after the Lodge was constituted.
At a Regular Communication July 1, 1859, a committee was appointed to confer with a similar committee from Star in the East Lodge to see about procuring a new Lodge-room. The Lodge-room in which they had been meeting was on the third floor of property owned by George Macomber at the north west corner of Union and Purchase streets.
Mr. Macomber had permitted some kind of a nuisance to exist to which some of the members objected and which after it had been brought to his attention he seems not to have abated. What this nuisance was your historian knoweth not as no record could be found to enlighten him. The Committee appointed was composed of Benjamin Russell, Isaac C. Taber, and Moses H. Bliss. This committee made a report to the Lodge on August 5, 1859, which was accepted and the subject recommitted to the same committee with full powers.
Mrs. Charles L. Wood owned a piece of property on the north side of Union street between Pleasant and Purchase streets upon which she proposed to erect a brick block and rent the third story to the Masonic Lodges. It seems that the joint committee were fortunate in securing these premises for they accepted Mrs. Wood's proposition and signed a long lease of the property and furnished the Lodge room at an expense of $3,651.00.
The new building was commenced in the early part of 1860. The corner stone was laid in the northeastern part of the foundation June 24, 1860. The corner stone was not laid with Masonic ceremonies but a box was placed in a cavity made for the purpose. What was placed in the box was not stated. There is no record in Eureka's record books, neither could I find any account in the Evening Standard published at that time.
Quite a number of Masonic Brethren were present however, among them being Wor. Bro. John A. Lee, who worked on the building, as he said, "operatively not speculatively," and Henry Taber, 2nd, Henry F. Thomas, John B. Baylies, Lineas Wood, Henry Pierce, Moses Bliss, Benjamin Russell, and many others.
Mrs. Wood divided the property into joint ownership of 250 shares, of which she retained 86, and sold 164 shares to about 40 persons, 25 of whom were Masons. This building now stands at the north east corner of Union and Pleasant streets, known as the Masonic Building.
At a Special Communication December 28, 1860, on motion of Bro. Lineas Wood, a committee was appointed to act with other committees from Star in the East Lodge and Adoniram R. A. Chapter in regard to the dedication of the new Lodge room. The Worshipful Master appointed Lineas Wood, Gustavus Delano, and George L. Brownell the committee for Eureka Lodge.
At a Regular Communication of Eureka Lodge January 4, 1861, after the regular business, Henry F. Thomas, Worshipful Master, gave notice that this would be the last meeting in the old Lodge-room. Wor. Timothy Ingraham made a few appropriate remarks alluding to many interesting and pleasing associations in the old Lodge-room. He was followed by the Worshipful Master, who made a brief address along the same lines referring to the early history of Masonry in this city. For a splendid account of early Masonry in New Bedford read the account published in the history of Star in the East Lodge by their Historian, Bro. Henry B. Worth, on their 100th Anniversary in 1923. (See 1923 Mass., page 392.)
Eureka Lodge then closed its Labors in the old Lodge-room. The next Communication of Eureka Lodge was held January 22, 1861, in the new Lodge-rooms for the purpose of dedicating the new quarters.
The Dedication Committee consisted of John Ryan, George H. Taber, John B. Baylies, of Star in the East Lodge, Lineas Wood, Gustavus Delano, and George L. Brownell, of Eureka Lodge.
There were about 250 Brethren present at this meeting. The officers of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge were, Most Worshipful William D. Coolidge, George Washington Warren, Deputy Grand Master, Jesse P. Pattee, Senior Grand Warden, Sanford M. Hunt, Junior Grand Warden, Isaac Cary, Grand Treasurer, Charles W. Moore, Recording Grand Secretary, George H. Taber, Corresponding Grand Secretary, Rev. Charles H. Titus, Grand Chaplain, Peter C. Jones, Senior Grand Deacon, William Parkman, Junior Grand Deacon, William W. Baker, Grand Marshal, William D. Stratton, Senior Grand Steward, W. W. Whielan, Junior Grand Steward, William Wallace Mitchell, Grand Sword Bearer, and Eben B. Gay, Grand Tyler.
The Grand Officers entered and proceeded to dedicate the new Lodge rooms in due and ancient Form. At the conclusion of the Dedication ceremonies the Most Worshipful Grand Master presented to the Masonic fraternity of New Bedford a beautiful copy of the Holy Bible as a present from Brother William Sutton, of Salem, Massachusetts, for whom Sutton Commandery No. 16, K. T. was named.
The officers of Star in the East Lodge and Eureka Lodge were separately introduced and installed into their respective stations by the Grand Officers. At the conclusion of the installation ceremonies, the Grand Officers retired; the Lodge was closed, and the Brethren with their guests to the number of 150 proceeded to the Parker House to partake of a supper prepared for the occasion. Hon. Isaac C. Taber presided at the supper table.
The first Regular Communication of Eureka Lodge was held in the new Lodge-rooms, February 1, 1861. Several petitions for the degrees were received, among them being that of Amasa L. Gleason, who became Worshipful Master in 1863 and William O. Woodman, who was Worshipful Master in 1864.
At a meeting of the Masonic Brethren of Star in the East and Eureka Lodges for the purpose of attending the funeral of Brother Isaac C. Taber, Past Master Henry Taber, 2nd, of Star in the East Lodge presiding, it was voted to meet at the Lodge-room, Friday, October 3, at 12 o'clock for the purpose of attending the funeral.
At a Regular Communication of Eureka Lodge, November 7, 1862, a communication was received from Mrs. Isaac C. Taber thanking the Lodge for attention and kindness shown her husband during his sickness, and their consideration of the family in their wishes for the funeral solemnities. A committee was appointed to draw up resolutions on his death and I quote them in part.
"Inasmuch as it has pleased Almighty God to remove from our fraternity by death our late Brother, Honor able Isaac C. Taber, therefore resolved that as a tribute of our respectful and affectionate remembrance, we make this record of his many virtues that his name with those of the honorable dead, not lost,— but gone before, may be treasured in our archives."
I refer to this for the reason that prominent Masons in our Lodges are not memorialized in this way in our day. Perhaps this is because there is so little time for meditation in this jazz age of ours in which we live. 'Tis a pity in my opinion.
At a Special Communication Friday evening, February 13, 1863, the Worshipful Master announced the death of Brother Lineas Wood, one of the Charter members, also Brother James M. Lowden. Brother Lineas Wood was buried with full Masonic honors, February 17, 1863, De Molay Commandery of Boston taking charge. It was voted at the Special Communication, February 13, that the Lodge-room be draped in mourning in memory of these two Brethren.
At a Special Communication May 27, 1864, the Worshipful Master announced the death of Brother James C. Tripp, a Charter member. He was buried with full Masonic honors May 30, 1864. Worshipful Timothy Ingraham, first Master under Dispensation, died February 26, 1866, and was buried with full Masonic honors. Worshipful Amasa L. Gleason, third Master of Eureka, died February 19, 1877; Worshipful Henry F. Thomas, second Worshipful Master, died March 21, 1880. Worshipful Brother Thomas was the first Master under the Charter and served three years. Rev. Moses G. Thomas died in 1881. He was a Charter member, the first Senior Deacon, and the Chaplain for many years. He was buried with full Masonic honors by Blazing Star Lodge, of Concord, N. H.
At a Regular Communication April 6, 1883, a committee was appointed to arrange for a celebration of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the Lodge. The committee consisted of Worshipful Brother James L. Sherman, Chairman, Brothers William H. Waterman and Edward H. Field. They appointed Right Worshipful Brother John A. Lee for the Historian. They attended to the arrangements for the event and on Friday evening June 8, 1883 Eureka Lodge was opened on the third degree to celebrate the twenty-fifth anniversary, with Worshipful Frederick W. Mosher, Worshipful Master; William H. Waterman, Senior Warden; Edward H. Field, Junior Warden; Humphrey A. Gifford, Treasurer; William A. Mackie, Secretary; Arnold B. Wady, Senior Deacon; A. J. Blossom, Junior Deacon; Edwin Whittaker, Chaplain; George S. P. Bradford, Marshal; Chester L. Tripp, Senior Steward; H. L. Dwight, Junior Ste ward; Thomas J. Borden, Inside Sentinel; A. F. Blossom, Tyler.
About 200 Brethren were present. Among the visitors were Right W'orshipful District Deputy Grand Master, George A. Ballard, and representatives from twenty-five different Lodges of Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and New York. Routine business was transacted, the Lodge was closed, and the Brethren repaired to the Banquet Hall, where an "elegant banquet" was served, 200 sitting down. "Good music" was furnished by Heap's Band. After supper, Right Worshipful John A. Lee read a history of the twenty-five years Eureka Lodge had worked since the Charter was granted. The Evening Standard says of the event, "the exercises were most enjoyable and marked by great geniality." Having enjoyed the friendship of Right Worshipful James L. Sherman, who was the Chairman of the supper committee, quite a number of years before his death, I can vouch for that quotation from the Standard.
Four Charter members were living at this time; Worshipful Isaac M. Richardson; Moses H. Bliss, Stephen A. Tripp, and Benjamin Russell. Representatives from Star in the East Lodge, of this city, Concordia, of Fairhaven, Noquochoke, of Westport were among the invited guests who sat at this Twenty-fifth Anniversary supper. (Concordia is now George H. Taber.)
The principal speakers were, Rev. S. Wright Butler, Rev. J. B. Hingely, Moses H. Bliss, Robert C. Topham, George H. Taber, of Fairhaven, and others.
The cost of the twenty-first anniversary celebration was $119.77 as "appropriated for the committee to pay the bills with," at the Regular Communication in July of that year.
At the election of officers, December 4, 1885, an incident occurred which threatened to jar the harmony which had always prevailed. Worshipful Brother William H. Waterman was the presiding Master. On the first ballot for Worshipful Master, Arnold B. Wady was elected and so declared. On the first ballot for Senior Warden, Daniel W. Cory was elected. The Worshipful Master now declared the election null and void, he understanding that Arnold B. Wady had said he would not accept the election as Worshipful Master. The Worshipful Master then ordered another election of the officers. Three ballots were taken for Worshipful Master with no election. On the fourth ballot, Worshipful William H. Waterman was elected. For Senior Warden two ballots were had, Edward H. Field being elected on second ballot. The next three officers were each elected on first ballot, being Arnold B. Wady, Junior Warden; Humphrey A. Gifford, Jr., Treasurer; A. S. Foster, Secretary.
Worshipful Brother James L. Sherman and eleven others appealed from the ruling of Worshipful Brother Waterman to the Grand Lodge. December 21, the Most Worshipful Grand Master issued an order to Eureka Lodge, at New Bedford, Massachusetts, to stay all further proceedings as to the election and installation of the officers; an appeal having been filed with the Recording Grand Secretary from the decision of the Worshipful Master, rendered at the Regular Communication held on Friday, December 4, 1885. Abraham H. Howland, Jr., also Past Master of Eureka Lodge, who was then Grand Master of the Grand Lodge, came to New Bedford and gave the members a hearing and left the matter to Right Worshipful Charles A. Welch and a committee. In the meantime the old officers were to hold over until their successors were elected.
At the Regular Quarterly Communication of the Grand Lodge March 10, 1886, Right Worshipful Charles A. Welch presented the following report.
"The Committee appointed by the Most Worshipful Grand Master to examine into and report upon the complaint of Brother James L. Sherman and eleven other members of Eureka Lodge, of New Bedford, beg leave to report: — that the complaint was that Brother Daniel W. Cory was duly elected Senior Warden of Eureka Lodge on the 4th day of December last, for the year ensuing, but the Worshipful Master erroneously decided that his election was null and void, and ordered a new election.
"It appeared without contradiction that Brother A. B. Wady was elected Master on the said 4th day of December and was declared elected; that an election of Senior Warden was then ordered, and Brother Daniel W. Cory was chosen, was declared elected, and accepted the office; that the Worshipful Master then declared the election void, and ordered a new election; that the votes having been cast a second time for Master, that the Worshipful Master himself was declared elected; that the voting having proceeded, another Brother was declaredelected in place of Brother Cory, elected at the first balloting; that Brother Wady, originally chosen Master, was declared elected Junior Warden, and subsequently a Treasurer and Secretary were declared elected.
A difference of opinion existed and was expressed by different members of the Lodge, whether Brother Wady, who had at the first ballot been elected Master, as above stated, declined accepting that office, before or after the election of Senior Warden.
"But your committee are of the opinion that, considering the interest taken in the election, the natural excitement which attended it, and the manner in which the memory and judgment of the most honest and intelligent persons are affected by their opinions and wishes, after an occasion like this, it is not at all surprising that this difference of opinion exists. We give full credit to all the Brethren for stating honestly their view of what took place; but we do not think it necessary or important to decide which are right. In our judgment the election of Brother Cory as Senior Warden, whether the Brother previously elected Master had absolutely declined or not before Brother Cory's election, was a legal one, and Brother Cory is the rightful Senior Warden of Eureka Lodge, and the subsequent elections were void.
"It is proper to state that, although we consider the Master's action in declaring the election of Brother Cory void to have been erroneous, he acted in perfect good faith and with an honest intention to perform his duty.
"Indeed there is nothing to show that the members generally did not intend to act fairly, and the committee cannot but feel and express the hope that on a new election of Master, Junior Warden etc.; each of the opposing parties, if they still differ in opinion and endeavor to carry into effect their different wishes (as they have a perfect right to do) will cheerfully acquiesce in the final result, and do all in their power to maintain unimpaired the high character which this Lodge now holds in the Masonic Fraternity.
"Some question might be made whether anything more is required of the Grand Lodge than to declare the election of Brother Cory valid, if it should agree in the conclusions of the committee, as the decision of the Master declaring it invalid is the only matter complained of, but this would seem unjust to the Brother who was improperly declared elected Senior Warden into Brother Cory's place, as it is clear that the whole election, after the election of Brother Cory was declared void, was illegally carried on, and the members of Eureka Lodge, if they fail through your decision to place the Brother illegally elected Senior Warden in that position, may choose to place him in some other, and ought to have the privilege of doing so.
We recommend that the Most Worshipful Grand Master be requested to declare the election of Brother Cory as Senior Warden valid, and to order such further elections of the officers of Eureka Lodge as the circumstances of the case require."
- Charles A. Welch
- George H. Rhodes
- E. Frank Williams
The report was accepted and the recommendations adopted. Subsequently the following order was issued in regard to the same subject matter: —
Grand Lodge of Massachusetts
Masonic Temple, Boston, April, 20, 1886
To the Worshipful Master, Wardens and members of Eureka Lodge, of New Bedford, in our jurisdiction:—
By virtue of authority in me vested, and in accordance with the request of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge, approved at its Quarterly Communication, holden on the tenth day of March last, I hereby declare to be valid, and of full force and effect, the election held by said Eureka Lodge, on the fourth day of December last, whereby Brother Arnold B. Wady was chosen to be Worshipful Master, and Brother Daniel W. Cory to be Senior Warden; and I do further declare the election held on said fourth day of December last, so far as relates to the offices of Junior Warden, Treasurer and Secretary to be null and void.
I do therefore direct the Worshipful Master of said Lodge to summon the members thereof to attend a Communication, to be held on the 30th inst., for the purpose of proceeding with an election to fill the vacancies in said offices of Junior Warden, Treasurer and Secretary, and installing the officers of said Lodge, both elected and appointed; and for so doing this shall be your sufficient warrant.
It is further ordered that this order be extended upon the record of the Communication held for said election and installation, and that due return of your doings thereon be made to our Recording Grand Secretary.
Given under our hand and seal on the day and year above written. Abraham H. Howland, Jr.
Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts Attest: — Sereno D. Nickerson
Recording Grand Secretary
The following return was received on the above order.
New Bedford, April 30, 1886
To Sereno D. Nickerson, Recording Grand Secretary: —
At a Special Communication of this Lodge held April 30, 1886, in accordance with instructions contained within the foregoing order, Brother Thomas R. Hillman was elected Junior Warden, Brother Humphrey A. Gifford, Jr., was elected Treasurer, and Brother Arthur S. Foster was elected Secretary, and they together with the other officers of this Lodge were duly installed.
William H. Waterman
Master of Eureka Lodge Attest: — Arthur S. Foster
March 6, 1908, on motion it was voted that the Worshipful Master appoint a committee to consider the advisability of having a celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the Institution of Eureka Lodge, and report at the next Regular Communication in April.
The Worshipful Master appointed Brothers Charles S. Coombs, Edwin R. King, and Worshipful Elisha H. Fisher as the committee.
At the Regular Communication on April 3, 1908, the committee on celebrating the fiftieth anniversary of the Lodge reported that they were in favor of such a celebration and recommended that a committee be appointed with full power to act on the matter. On motion the report and recommendation were adopted.
The Worshipful Master appointed as the committee, Brother Charles S. Coombs, Chairman, Worshipful Elisha H. Fisher, Worshipful Henry T. Phillips, Worshipful William H. Waterman, Brothers Edwin R. King, and John A. Stitt.
This Committee met and appointed Sub-Committees as follows:—
- Reception of Visitors
- W. M. Clifton H. Cornish, Chairman of all Committees
- P. M. William H. Waterman
- P. M. Henry T. Phillips
- P. M. Elisha H. Fisher
** P. M. William A. Baker
- P. M. Edwin R. King
- P. M. Charles S. Coombs
- P. M. John A. Stitt
- P. M. Henry T. Phillips, Committee on Speakers
- P. M. Elisha H. Fisher, Committee on Speakers
- P. M. William H. Waterman, Committee on Historian
- P. M. Edwin R. King, Committee on Banquet
- P. M. Elisha H. Fisher, Committee on Banquet
- P. M. John A. Stitt, Committee on Banquet
- P. M. Charles S. Coombs, Committee on Printing and Entertainment
Organization of Eureka Lodge for 1908
- W. M. Clifton H. Cornish, Worshipful Master
- Edwin R. King, Senior Warden
- Charles S. Coombs, Junior Warden
- P. M. Elisha H. Fisher, Treasurer
- P. M. Daniel W. Cory, Secretary
- Rev. Thomas M. Bateman, Chaplain
- George S. Kennedy, Marshal
- Henry S. Foster, Senior Deacon
- John A. Stitt, Junior Deacon
- Daniel W. Baker, Senior Steward
- Frank. L. Rawson, Junior Steward
- Obed S. Cowing, Inside Sentinel
- Robert Allen, Organist
- James Slater, Tyler
- P. M. William H. Waterman, Hall Committee
- P. M. William H. Waterman, Library Committee
- P. M. James L. Sherman, Finance Committee
- P. M. William H. Waterman, Finance Committee
- P. M. James L. Sherman, Committee on Permanent Funds
- P. M. H. Wilder Emerson, Committee on Permanent Funds
- W. M. Clifton H. Cornish, Committee on Permanent Funds
Of the officers above, seven have died since the fiftieth anniversary.
At a Special Communication of Eureka Lodge June 9, 1908, which was opened on the third degree at 4.45 P.M., 70 Brethren were present. Before the Lodge was closed 80 more Brethren had entered making 150 present on this occasion, in the Lodge-room.
Among those present were Most Worshipful J. Albert Blake, accompanied by Right Worshipful William M. Belcher, Senior Grand Warden; Right Worshipful Sereno D. Nickerson, Recording Grand Secretary; and Worshipful George J. Tufts, who acted as Grand Marshal.
The Grand Master was introduced by a committee consisting of Worshipful Brother James L. Sherman, Chairman, Worshipful William H. Waterman, Worshipful W. A. Baker, and Worshipful Robert J. Moore.
A very interesting synopsis of the events happening during the fifty years since Eureka Lodge was Constituted was given by Worshipful Brother William H. Waterman. Remarks were made by Most Worshipful J. Albert Blake, Grand Master, the Right Worshipful Grand Secretary and the Right Worshipful Senior Grand Warden; after which the Most Worshipful Grand Master retired with his suite.
The Lodge was closed at 7.25 P.M. and the Brethren and visitors to the number of 300 entered the Banquet Hall and enjoyed a very pleasing supper. I find by referring to the Records that the Semi-Centennial cost $922.89. Some of the large amounts were: Caterer, $387.50, Printing, $48.25, Mendelssohn Quartette, $44.40, Flowers and Decorations, $28.00, Guests entertained at Parker House, $8.50.
At the Regular Communication September 5, 1924, the Hall Committee reported that the rent of our rooms from August 1 had been raised to $7500.00 per year and it would be necessary to charge $56.25 for each Communication from that date. This was a tremendous raise and it jarred the nerves of the Brethren. There had been a raise each time the lease had to be renewed, but never such an enormous spread.
The old quarters in Masonic Hall were poorly ventilated and not large enough to enable the officers and Brethren of the different Masonic bodies to carry on their work with any comfort and attendance was falling off for this reason; and so the Hall Committee was given authority to secure new quarters.
Some time during 1925 the Hall Committee purchased the "Richmond property" on the North side of Union street, and had sketch plans drawn by a Boston firm and they were inspected at a general meeting of the Brethren called for that purpose.
For reasons considered good and sufficient this property was not retained, but the plans were paid for and the property sold. The Hall Committee then bought the Wamsutta Club property at the north west corner of County and Union streets which had been for sale for some time.
The Hall Committees of the several Masonic bodies in the city formed a Masonic Temple Corporation and this Corporation carried out the project of building the new Masonic Temple, which is located on the above corner. The new Masonic Temple was completed at an expense of less than $200,000.00 and is considered one of the best for its size in the State.
At a Regular Communication June 6, 1926, it was voted that Worshipful Clifton H. Cornish, Hall Committee member for Eureka Lodge, be authorized to sell in conjunction with the other Hall Committee members the property owned by the several Masonic bodies at their discretion.
At the Regular Communication, March 4, 1927, Worshipful Erford W. Poole, Master of Eureka Lodge, reported that the new Masonic Temple would be ready to be dedicated about the middle of April.
The last Regular Communication of Eureka Lodge was held in the old Masonic Hall, April 1, 1927, at which time it was voted to move its quarters to the new Masonic Temple.
The last Communication of Eureka Lodge to be held in the old Masonic Hall, was a Special Communication called for the purpose of attending the funeral of Brother Hugh McGuire Wamboldt.
Worshipful Brother Cornish stated at the last Regular held in the old quarters that "it was just 61 and one half years since the first lease was sighed for these quarters."
A Special Communication was held in the new Masonic Temple, Monday evening, April 11, 1927, for the purpose of dedicating the new Temple. Acting under instructions from the Most Worshipful Grand Master, Frank L. Simpson, Eureka Lodge was opened in one of the small rooms of the Temple. The officers present at this opening were:
- Erford W. Poole, Worshipful Master
- Everett W. Bailey, Senior Warden
- Lvnton M. Buffinton, Junior Warden
- Alfred Bradley, Secretary
After the opening, adjournment was made to Doric Hall, where Star in the East Lodge was opened in Form by Walter Slocum, Worshipful Master. The Marshal then introduced Worshipful William S. McRobert, Grand Sword Bearer, who announced that Most Worshipful Frank L. Simpson, Grand Master of Masons of Massachusetts, was in an adjoining apartment having come for the purpose of "dedicating the new Masonic Temple according to the Ancient Customs and Usages of Freemasonry."
The Worshipful Master then appointed the following committee to wait upon and escort the Most Worshipful Grand Master and his suite into the Lodge: — Right Worshipful Henry W. Mason, Chairman, of Star in the East Lodge; Worshipful Henry T. Phillips, of Eureka Lodge; Worshipful Lyman Bauldry, of Abraham H. Howland, Jr. Lodge; Worshipful Daniel W. Baker, of Paskamansett Lodge; Worshipful George E. Allen of Quittacus Lodge; Worshipful Samuel G. Davenport, of Abraham H. Howland Jr. Lodge; Worshipful Arthur S. Babbitt, of Paskamansett Lodge, and Worshipful Walter P. Morton, of Quittacus Lodge.
The Grand Lodge was represented by the following:—
- M. W. Frank L. Simpson, Grand Master
- R. W. Benjamin F. Arrington, Deputy Grand Master
- R. W. Stephen C. Luce, as Senior Grand Warden
- M. W. Dudley H. Ferrell, Past Grand Master
- R. W. Frank H. Hilton, Past Senior Grand Warden
- R. W. William Ridings, Past Junior Grand Warden
- R. W. Arthur C. Staples, Past Junior Grand Warden
- R. W. Walter B. Chase, Past Junior Grand Warden
- R. W. Fred L. Moses, Past Junior Grand Warden
- R. W. Charles H. Ramsay, Grand Treasurer
- R. W. Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary
- Wor. & Rev. John Vannevar, Grand Chaplain
- Wor. William S. McRobert, as Grand Marshal
- Wor. John H. Joy, as Senior Grand Deacon
- Wor. G. Sumner Wilson, as Junior Grand Deacon
- Wor. Theodore N. Wood, as Senior Grand Steward
- Wor. Stephen J. Lent, as Junior Grand Steward
- Wor. George W. Chester, Grand Tyler
- R. W. Howard C. N. Ripley, D. D. G. M., Taunton, 28th Dist.
- R. W. Walter E. Dow, D. D. G. M., Fall River, 30th Dist.
- R. W. Horace L. Humphrey, D. D. G. M., New Bedford, 30th Dist.
- R. W. Alfred E. Smith, D. D. G. M., Nantucket, 31st Dist.
- R. W. Emanuel A. DeWager, D. D. G. M., Provincetown, 32nd Dist.
- R. W. Rawson C. Jenkins, D. D. G. M., Hyannis, 32nd Dist.
After the Grand Master and suite had been received and welcomed, they were conducted to their several stations by the Grand Marshal and prayer was offered by the Grand Chaplain.
Worshipful Erford W. Poole, Master of Eureka Lodge and architect of the new Temple, was presented to the East and addressed the Grand Master as follows:—
"Most Worshipful Grand Master, having been intrusted with the superintendence of the workmen employed in the construction of this edifice, and having, according to the best of my ability, accomplished the task assigned me, I now return my thanks for the honor of this appointment, and beg leave to surrender the implements which were submitted to my care when the foundation of this fabric was laid, humbly hoping that the exertions which have been made will be crowned with your approbation and that of the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge."
Walter Slocum, Worshipful Master of Star in the East Lodge, then addressed the Grand Master as follows:—
"Most Worshipful Grand Master, the Masonic Brethren of New Bedford, being animated with a desire to promote the honor and interest of the Craft, have, at great pains and expense, erected a Masonic Temple for their convenience and accommodation. They are now desirous that the same should be examined by the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge; and if it should meet with their approbation, that it should be solemnly dedicated to Masonic purposes, agreeably to Ancient Form."
The Deputy Grand Master, Senior Grand Warden,and Junior Grand Warden then examined the building and reported it to be in conformity to the requirements of the Grand Lodge. The architect was then presented to the Most Worshipful Grand Master who informed him that his work had the approbation of the Grand Lodge.
The Most Worshipful Grand Master and Grand officers then dedicated the Masonic Temple in Due and Ancient Form. The Grand Master congratulated the Brethren on the "acquisition of such a beautiful Temple."
About 700 Brethren were present on this occasion. The Grand Lodge guests were entertained at the Wamsutta Club previous to the dedication. Honorable Charles S. Ashley, member of Eureka Lodge and Mayor of the city, was present with the guests at the Club. Eureka Lodge felicitates itself upon the fact that its Worshipful Master, Erford W. Poole, was selected as the architect, assisted by Brother Frank C. Brown, also a member, in the designing of the Temple.
The designs laid down by the Master Architects were carried out faithfully by these members of Eureka Lodge: Brother Herbert C. Bailey, General Contractor, Brother Ernest Margeson, Plumbing, Brothers Clayton P. Hawes, E. M. Farmer, and R. T. Hawes, Lighting, Brother Henry Harlow, Painting.
Eureka Lodge furnished 52 men for the army and navy in the "Great War" against the German Empire. Their names are as follows:—Lesley B. Allen, Andrew H. Ashley, Thomas Bradley, Frederick Burrows, Walter L. Burrows, Raymond A. Burt, Ernest J. Bury, Jr., Harry A. Caswell, Harold R. Chamberlain, Harold T. Cleveland, Leon C. Covill, Robert W. Cushman, George A. Davidson, Ward DeWolf, James Dodds, Jr., Rudolph Dvorak, William L. Edmands, M. M. Gray, Philip S. Grimshaw, Thomas E. Halliwell, John Hampson, Richard Hoyle, Elmer H. Jamieson, Elmer W. Landers, Ernest N. Lee, William F. Le-maire, Benjamin R. Luscomb, Robert Martin, William A. Moncriefr", James Parkinson, E. Gilbert Peterson, Clarence A. Pierce, John Polasko, Manuel P. Rezendes, Samuel Ross, Joel W. Rowan, Evan C. Seaman, Charles H. Sharpe, George H. Sistare, George H. Smith, Ralph G. Spooner, Worshipful John A. Stitt, Charles B. Thompson, Lewis S. Tripp, Daniel K. Valentine, Jay A. Wheat, Walter C. Wilbor, Raymond H. Wilbur, A. V. Woodacre, John E. Woodacre, Richard Woodacre, and Percy H. Young. Christopher South worth was elected to take the degrees in Eureka Lodge May 3, 1918, but before any degrees were conferred upon him he was sent across to France, and died in action November 4,1918.
More than 38% of the enlisted men from this city who were members of the local Masonic bodies were members of Eureka Lodge, and she rejoices in their patriotic spirit.
Worshipful John A. Stitt left New Bedford July 28, 1917, as Captain commanding 4th Co. Massachusetts Coast Artillery, N. G. This Company was afterwards incorporated in a new regiment, as Battery "D," 55th Artillery (C. A.) A. E. F. On returning from the war, he was retired with the rank of Major.
Worshipful Brother Stitt was appointed an "Especial Representative" by the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons of Massachusetts to represent him in France in Battery "D," 55th Artillery regiment (C. A.) A. E. F.
The copy of his commission follows:—
THE MOST WORSHIPFUL GRAND LODGE
OF ANCIENT FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS
OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS
Masonic Temple Boston, April 8, 1918
To the Craft Throughout Our Jurisdiction, Greeting:
Know ye, that reposing especial confidence in the integrity and ability of our Worshipful Brother John A. Stitt, Past Master of Eureka Lodge in this jurisdiction, I do by these presents, nominate, constitute, and appoint him to be my especial representative in the 55th Regiment United States Artillery and I authorize and empower him to satisfy himself by due constitutional means of the Masonic standing of members of said Regiment, and having done so to vouch for them on proper Masonic occasions.
I further empower him to gather such Master Masons as may be, or may become, members of said Regiment into a Masonic Club if it shall seem desirable so to do: said Club to elect its own officers and to provide in such ways as may be possible and fitting for the Masonic intercourse and welfare of its members, but without authority to confer Masonic degrees, to use Masonic ritual, or in any way to conduct itself as a Masonic Lodge.
I further authorize and direct him to communicate either directly to me or to the Right Worshipful Grand Secretary, any information, petition or request touching the interests and welfare of such Master Masons as may be members of said Regiment, or any other matters of Masonic interest and importance which should properly come to our attention.
Given at Boston, this eighth day of April, A. L. 5918, A. D. 1918.
Leon M. Abbott, Grand Master
Attest: Frederick W. Hamilton, Grand Secretary
The membership of the Lodge at this Diamond Jubilee Celebration is 860. Eureka Lodge has had a steady growth since it received its Charter.
It has been fortunate from the beginning in having leading public spirited citizens as its active members, who were interested in the welfare of their city and brought the same spirit with them into the activities of the Lodge.
Four of its members have been Mayors of the city of New Bedford. Brother Isaac C. Taber served as Mayor during 1859-60 and 61. Most Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr. was Mayor in 1874 and 1875. Worshipful Brother William T. Soule was Mayor 1878, 1879 and 1881. Brother Charles S.Ashley was Mayor 1890 and 1891; was then re-elected in 1896 for nine successive years: re-elected in 1906 serving one year: again re-elected, serving 1909—10—11— 12 and 13: again re-elected, serving 1916-17-18-19 and 1920: again re-elected for two year terms, serving from 1926 to the present time, having served this city as its Mayor for twenty-seven years, with the last two year term to expire in 1935.
Worshipful John A. Stitt is now serving his second two year term as Alderman. Many other members have filled various offices of responsibility in the city government.
During the year that Eureka Lodge received its Charter, the Grand Lodge sold its Masonic Temple to the United States and for several years used rented quarters. Then the Grand Lodge built a new Temple which cost so much more than anticipated that the regular income was not sufficient to finance it, and it voted to assess each member of the Lodges in the state one dollar per year for thirteen years, with the privilege of paying ten dollars at once and the other three dollars would be commuted.
This created quite a feeling among the Brethren and some Lodges were slow in paying. One Lodge voted not to pay it and lost its Charter for sixty days, at which time it changed its attitude about paying and the Charter was restored. This drastic action of the Grand Lodge in asserting its power over the Lodges brought them into line and the assessments were paid. Eureka Lodge seems to have been loyal to the Grand Lodge and paid its assessments regularly.
So many of its members were sailors who were away on voyages for three and four years at a time that it was hard work to collect the dues. In some instances the records show that the Grand Lodge commuted a portion of the assessment as it was impossible for the Lodge to collect it.
In the year 1882 the records show that 54 members paid the assessment in full and the total amount paid the Grand Lodge for fees and dues was $708.00. This was the largest amount paid the Grand Lodge in any one year. The nearest to it was in 1920, when Eureka Lodge paid the Grand Lodge $590.00 and the next year $560.00.
The first return to the Grand Lodge under the Charter in 1858 was $11.00 and showed a membership of 13. When the Lodge celebrated its twenty-fifth anniversary the return was $162.00 and the membership 191.
At the fiftieth anniversary the Grand Lodge was paid $100.00, and a membership of 340 shown by the returns.
Eureka Lodge has had 47 Worshipful Masters, each serving from one to three years. The first Master under the Charter served three years, Worshipful Henry F. Thomas. Then came one and two-year terms of Masters. Since 1916 each Master has served only a one-year term. Eureka Lodge has Raised 1468 Brethren to the degree of Master Mason. The largest number in any one year was during the term of Worshipful Robert M. Gundersen, 1920, the number being 120. The next largest number was 92 in the year 1921, when Worshipful Dexter B. Goodwin was Master.
The records show that Eureka Lodge has rejected about 30% of all petitions which have been received, the yearly average being about the same for the whole period of its existence. It would seem from this that Eureka Lodge has selected its members with discrimination, using the black ball in accordance with ancient Masonic teaching.
Prejudice may have sometimes influenced the ballot, but on the whole it would seem that the members of Eureka Lodge have hewed close to the high ideals of Masonry.
Eureka Lodge has been recognized by the Grand Lodge as six of its members have been Right Worshipful District Deputy Grand Masters. These are Worshipful George H. Taber, District Deputv Grand Master, 1858-59, Worshipful John A. Lee, 1869-70 and 71; Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr., 1872-3 and 74; Worshipful James L. Sherman, 1897-98; Worshipful Horace L. Humphrey, 1927-28; Worshipful Seth J. Besse, 1931-32.
Worshipful Brothers Humphrey and Besse while not Past Masters of Eureka Lodge, were raised in Eureka Lodge and have always retained their membership in Eureka Lodge. They were interested in and members of two other Local Lodges of which they became Worshipful Masters and received their appointments as Deputies to represent those Lodges. Worshipful Brother James L. Sherman served the Grand Lodge as Junior Grand Warden in 1911.
Eureka has had the honor of having one of its Worshipful Masters serve in the Grand Lodge as Grand Master. Most Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr. was Most Worshipful Grand Master in the years 1884-'85, and 86. We have one Lodge in New Bedford named in honor of him.
It is a pleasure to note that Eureka Lodge members have not only been honored in civic positions of responsibility and trust, but have also served the Most Worshipful Grand Lodge with fidelity and honor.
Eureka Lodge has been in four different Masonic Districts since it was Chartered, being in the 7th District then. The Grand Lodge redistricted the state in 1867 and it became a part of the 14th District. When it celebrated its 50th anniversary it was in the 26th District, and now it is a part of the 30th Masonic District.
The Lodge has had nine Secretaries: Brothers Stephen A. Tripp, H. Wilder Emerson, George W. Parker, William A. Mackie, Arthur S. Foster, James A. Gifford, Worshipful Brother Daniel W. Cory, Brother James B. Cook, and Brother Alfred Bradley, the present Secretary. Those who have served the longest are Worshipful Brother Daniel W. Cory, 21 years, and Brother Bradley, who is now serving his 16th year. Two Tylers have served long terms. Brother Charles H. Wood, twenty years, and Brother James Slater, twenty-two years. Of the six Tylers who have filled this office, only the present Tyler, Brother Richard Shaw, is now living. Of the Past Worshipful Masters, twenty-three are now living.
Worshipful Brother Charles S. Coombs presented the Lodge with a gavel while he was Master and many of the Brethren may not know its history. It is shaped like a stone mason's hammer and the head is made from solid oak taken from a huge oak timber from under the front door threshold of Most Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr.'s mansion on County Street. It had become decayed at one end and Dr. Hathaway, who was the owner at the time, replaced it with a steel girder. He very kindly gave the writer permission to cut out what he needed when told the use to which it was to be put.
Brother John A. Lee, son of Worshipful Brother John A. Lee, seventh Master of Eureka Lodge, who was a very close personal friend of Most Worshipful Abraham H. Howland, Jr., was a skilled wood worker, a member of Eureka Lodge, and Worshipful Brother Coombs asked him to make the gavel for him. He suggested that he had an ivory cane which his father had used in his walks about the city, and he would make the handle from a piece of that.
He completed the work and it is a fine piece of workmanship. It was presented to the Lodge and a letter of acceptance was sent the writer by the Secretary, Worshipful Brother Daniel W. Cory. This is a real Masonic gavel, uniting in itself the correct form, the workmanship of a son, afterwards the Worshipful Master of Eureka Lodge, two other Past Masters, one a Past District Deputy Grand Master, and very close friend of a Past Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts.
Over that threshold of oak stepped the Most Worshipful whenever going in or out of his front door, and that ivory part of the cane of Right Worshipful Lee tapped many a sidewalk of this city as he walked around its streets.
These three members of Eureka have now passed to their reward.
During the first twenty-five years of Eureka Lodge, ten other Lodges were Chartered in Bristol County. They were, Pioneer Lodge, of Somerset, Charter granted 1864; St. James, of Mansfield, Charter granted 1865; King Philip, of Fall River, Charter granted 1866; Alfred Baylies, of Taunton, Charter granted 1866; Ionic, of Taunton, Charter granted 1867; Ezekiel Bates, of Attleboro, Charter granted 1871; Charles H. Titus, of Taunton, Charter granted 1873; Concordia, of Fairhaven, Charter granted 1876; Narragansett, of Fall River, Charter granted 1876; Noquochoke, of Westport, Charter granted 1879. All or nearly all of these Lodges were organized by members from the original four Lodges. There are now after 75 years, 23 Lodges in this territory.
Five of them are in New Bedford: Star in the East, Eureka, Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Paskamansett, and Quittacus.
Eureka Lodge has gone steadily ahead, Initiating, Crafting and Raising Masons. It hasn't been called upon to lay any corner stones of private or public buildings, but we trust it has been inculcating those high ideals of friendship and brotherly love and civic righteousness, as well as uprightness of character which cemented into one complete whole will create a temple of beauty which will last as long as life endures and be projected into a never ending eternity to meet with "the great Master Architect," there to present its finished work for His approval, and we trust to hear His "Welcome good and faithful servant, enter thou into the joy of thy Lord."
CENTENARY HISTORY, JUNE 1958
From Proceedings, Page 1958-99:
By Right Worshipful Erford W. Poole.
The role of a Lodge historian, whether writing of a decade or a century, is not an easy or simple one. It involves the scanning of countless pages of routine Lodge and other records and history and recording from such those facts and happenings as will or may be interesting to the membership of another day.
In referring to the history of a hundred years in Eureka Lodge, it is well to refer in some detail to conditions as they existed at and before its beginnings in the Whaling City a century ago.
Although Star-in-the-East Lodge is now the oldest Masonic Lodge in this City today, it was not the first one organized in this area. Washington Remembered Lodge was organized in what was then known as Bedford Village in the year 1803. Its charter was returned to the Grand Lodge in 1814.
During its existence, this Lodge enrolled a total of 121 members, but the influence of the War of 1812 proved a disastrous one and its charter was finally returned. About one-third of its members came from Bedford Village, one-third from Fairhaven and one-third from other surrounding towns. It is worthy to note how completely its membership became dispersed in the twenty years following its existence. Only five joined Star-in-the-East Lodge and they took no active part in its affairs. An 1836 Directory contained the names of only seven of its members.
The first Master of this Lodge was Lieutenant William Ross, who was stationed in New Bedford at the time of the Revolutionary War. After the Revolution, he was proprietor of a public house at the corner of Union and First Streets until 1809.
The history of this early Lodge reveals some interesting facts concerning life in this Town during the early days of the nineteenth century. In those days, when the population was but a small fraction of what it is today, when Union Street was called Main Street and when Water Street extended only from Elm to School Street, the population was largely a seafaring one. The whaling industry was growing rapidly, developing into a profitable one. Foundations were already being laid for those fortunes that later became famous and the population was increasing with business prosperity. The records of Washington Remembered Lodge indicate a sort of military method of dealing with attendance of members. Any prolonged or unexplained absence from meetings led to an inquiry and possibly to some discipline. Often members expecting to be absent, were granted "leave of absence." The frequency of these indicates that members may have been largely mariners and in fact were often in the records referred to as "Captain."
In the summer of 1823, thirty-five New Bedford Masons signed a petition asking for a new Lodge to be known as Star-in-the-East Lodge. On the tenth day of December the Grand Lodge issued a Charter signed by John Dixwell as Grand Master. The first meeting was held in the Town Hall over the old Central Police Station on Second Street, which was torn down in 1917 to allow construction of the present building.
During its first twenty-five years, Star-in-the-East Lodge had a strenuous existence. It faced a hostile press and a strong anti-Masonic prejudice of the local Quakers who then formed a large and influential portion of the population. Quakers controlled the banks, the schools, the social life and the business. Quaker merchants owned the ships, the wharves, the factories and the fine homes. The strict Quaker creed so strongly condemned Masonry that any Quaker joining the Order was liable to be "read out of meeting."
A particularly unfortunate happening in those early days in Star-in-the-East Lodge was the public renunciation of Freemasonry by no less than twenty-five prominent members in the Morning Mercury of October 30, 1834. Three of the signers did so under a misapprehension of the nature of the announcement and were immediately reinstated in the Lodge. Eight signers had already demitted and six had never been members. The effect on the public, however, should not be underestimated, for among the number were two Past Masters, several prominent merchants, the principal of Friends Academy and a judge in a local court. An interesting thing was the following significant admission in the declaration "they at the same time feel it to be their duty to declare that as far as their own experience extends, there is nothing in the character of the institution to justify the fears entertained with regard to it by a portion of the community." The fact of their withdrawal gives greater significance to the admission.
The most damaging blow of all was the so-called Morgan episode and the anti-Masonic crusade that followed in many parts of the country. However, the Masons of those days were men of courage and conviction and local Masonry survived its greatest test.
It must not be assumed that the Masons were not without staunch defenders in those days of controversy and misunderstanding. On December 31, 1831, fourteen hundred and seventy-nine Masons, forty-four of them from New Bedford and thirteen from Fairhaven, signed a public declaration saying "it has been frequently asserted and published to the world that in the several degrees in Freemasonry, the candidate, on his initiation and subsequent advancement, binds himself, by oath, to sustain his Masonic brethren in acts that are at variance with the fundamental principles of morality and incompatible with his duty as a good and faithful citizen." They further declared "we do most solemnly deny the existence of such an obligation. Every citizen, who becomes a Mason, is doubly bound to be true to his God, his country and his fellow man." They concluded "entertaining such sentiments as Masons, as citizens, as Christians and as moral men, we can neither renounce nor abandon it." A strong influence during the height of this excitement was the fact that Andrew Jackson, who was President, was also the Grand Master of Masons in Tennessee, and remained a loyal Mason in the face of every criticism. He richly deserved the sobriquet of "Old Hickory."
It is interesting to note that those who petitioned for Star-in-the-East Lodge were not formerly members of Washington Remembered Lodge but a new group, apparently initiated elsewhere, even though several members of the older Lodge still lived in New Bedford, and often visited the newer Lodge.
After the first one hundred years of Eureka Lodge, there are now twenty-eight Lodges in Bristol County. Of these, six are located in New Bedford as follows: Star-in-the-East (1823), Eureka (1858), Abraham H. Howland, Jr. (1916), Paskamansett (1921), Quittacus (1922), and Wamsutta (1950). Nearly all of the later Lodges were organized by members of the original four Lodges.
Early in the year 1857, we read in the records of Star-in-the-East Lodge that Brother Timothy Ingraham requested permission to petition the Grand Lodge for a dispensation to form a new Lodge in New Bedford, which was granted.
At this time there were but four Lodges in Bristol County: Bristol of Attleboro, chartered in 1797, King David of Taunton, chartered in 1798, Star-in-the-East in New Bedford, chartered in 1823 and Mount Hope in Fall River, chartered in 1824.
In 1858, several members of Star-in-the-East Lodge demitted to form Eureka Lodge. On Dec. 1, 1873, ten Fairhaven members took demits to form Concordia Lodge, now known as George H. Taber Lodge. Five years later, still another group demitted to form Noquochoke Lodge in Westport.
The first meeting of Eureka Lodge, of which we have any record, was held on Friday evening, May 15, 1857, in Masonic Hall at N. W. of Purchase and Union Streets. Brothers present were Timothy Ingraham, Henry F. Thomas, two Past Masters of Star-in-the-East Lodge, later of Eureka Lodge, Benjamin Russell, Stephen A. Tripp, Isaac Richardson, Robert C. Topham,
George H. Taber, Moses G. Thomas, Moses H. Bliss, Pardon C. Edwards, Joseph E. Tallman, James C. Tripp and Lineas Wood. Nine visiting Brethren from Star-in-the-East were also present.
At this first meeting the Lodge was organized under a dispensation granted by M.W. John T. Heard, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts. Officers named in the dispensation were Timothy Ingraham, Worshipful Master, Henry F. Thomas, Senior Warden, and Isaac M. Richardson, Junior Warden.
The next meeting of the Lodge, U. D., was a regular one the first Friday in June. Four petitions for membership were received from William Bates, Isaac T. Taber, John Frazier and Lawrence Grinnell. An earlier petitioner, Francis L. Porter, was elected and initiated at this meeting, the first candidate to become a Master Mason in Eureka Lodge.
At a regular communication on September 15, 1924, the Hall Committee reported that the rented quarters, which had been in use for over sixty years, would cost the Masonic bodies after August 1st $7,500 per year. This was a very substantial increase and raised a storm of protest. The old quarters were inadequate and poorly ventilated and the Hall Committee was authorized to seek new quarters. Sometime in 1925 the "Richmond property" on the North side of Union Street was purchased and plans drawn by a Boston firm for a five-story building with stores at the Street level.
At a general meeting called to inspect plans and review the entire situation, it was voted that this program be abandoned. The plans were paid for and the property sold. The Hall Committee then purchased the Wamsutta Club property at County and Union Streets, the site of the present Temple. Two members of Eureka Lodge, a local firm of architects, were commissioned to prepare plans and specifications for a new Temple. The several Hall Committees of the various Lodges formed a Masonic Temple Corporation and carried out the project of building and equipping our present building.
At our regular communication on March 4, 1927, Wor. Erford W. Poole, Master of Eureka Lodge, a member of the architectural firm, reported that the new building would be ready for dedication by the middle of April. The last regular communication of Eureka Lodge in the old Masonic Hall was held on April 1, 1927, at which meeting it was voted to move its quarters to the new Masonic Temple. At this meeting Wor. Bro. Cornish stated that 6\y^ years had passed since the first lease was signed for the old quarters. The last meeting held in the old quarters was a special meeting to attend a Lodge funeral.
A special communication was held in the new Temple on April 11, 1927, for the purpose of dedication. Acting under instructions of the M.W. Grand Master, Frank L. Simpson, Eureka Lodge was opened in the suite-room with the following officers in charge: Erford W. Poole, Wor. Master; Everett W. Bailey, Sen. Warden; Lynton N. Buffington, Jun. Warden; Alfred Bradley, Secretary.
After the opening, adjournment was made to Doric Hall, where Star-in-the-East Lodge was opened in form by Walter Slocum, Wor. Master. The Marshal then introduced Wor. William S. McRobert, Grand Sword Bearer, who announced that M. W. Frank L. Simpson, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, was in an adjoining apartment, having come for the purpose of "dedicating the new Masonic Temple to the Ancient Customs and Usages of Freemasonry."
The Wor. Master then appointed the following Committee to wait upon and escort the M.W. Grand Master and his Suite into the Lodge: R. W. Henry W. Mason of Star-in-the-East Lodge, Chairman; Wor. Henry T. Phillips of Eureka Lodge; Wor. Lyman Bauldry of Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Lodge; Wor. Daniel W. Baker of Paskamansett Lodge; Wor. George E. Allen of Quittacus Lodge; Wor. Samuel G. Davenport of Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Lodge; Wor. Arthur S. Babbitt of Paskamansett Lodge; and Wor. Walter P. Morton of Quittacus Lodge. After the Grand Master and his Suite had been received and welcomed, they were conducted to their stations by the Grand Marshal and prayer was offered by the Grand Chaplain. Wor. Erford W. Poole, Master of Eureka Lodge and an Architect of the new Temple, was presented to the East and addressed the Grand Master as follows: "Most Worshipful Grand Master, having been intrusted with the superintendence of the workmen, employed in the construction of this edifice, and having according to the best of my ability, accomplished the task assigned me, I now return my thanks for the honor of this appointment, and beg leave to surrender the implements which were submitted to my care when the foundation of this fabric was laid, humbly hoping that the exertions which have been made will be crowned with your approbation of the Most Wor. Grand Lodge."
Wor. Walter Slocum, Master of Star-in-the-East Lodge, then addressed the Grand Master as follows: "Most Wor. Grand Master, the Masonic Brethren of New Bedford, being animated with a desire to promote the honor and interest of the Craft, have at great pains and expense, erected a Masonic Temple for their convenience and accommodation. They are now desirous that the same should be examined by the M.W. Grand Lodge, and if it should meet with their approbation, that it should be solemnly dedicated to Masonic purposes agreeably to Ancient Form."
The Deputy Grand Master and the Grand Wardens then examined the building and reported it to be in conformity with the requirements of the Grand Lodge. The Most Wor. Grand Master and Grand Officers then dedicated the Temple "in due and ancient form." The Grand Master congratulated the Brethren on the "acquisition of such a beautiful Temple," urging them to carry out in their lives the teachings of Freemasonry so that the new building would stand for what it was dedicated, thus also erecting a "spiritual building, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens."
Nearly 700 Brethren were present, some 200 of them assembling in Egyptian Hall where they were addressed briefly by the Grand Master. Eureka Lodge felicitates itself upon the fact that its Wor. Master, associated with another member, Bro. Frank C. Brown, were selected as Architects of the building. The following members of Eureka Lodge carried out faithfully the designs laid down by the Architects: Bro. Herbert C. Bailey, General Contractor; Bro. Ernest Margeson, Plumbing and Heating; Bros. Roy T. Hawes, E. M. Farmer and Clayton P. Hawes, Electrical Work and Bro. Henry Harlow, Painting.
The first return to the Grand Lodge under the Charter in 1858 was $11.00, with a membership of thirteen. When the 25th Anniversary was celebrated, the membership was 191 and the return $162.00. In 1933, at the 75th Anniversary celebration, the membership was 842. In the year 1882 the records show that the sum of $708.00 was paid the Grand Lodge in assessments and dues, the largest amount ever paid in one year. The nearest to this amount was in 1920 when Eureka Lodge paid $590.00 and the following year $560.00. The banner year of gain in membership began during the years of World War I. In 1920, when Wor. Robert M. Gundersen was Master, 120 new members were initiated. The following year under Wor. Dexter B. Goodwin, 92 new members were added to the rolls. The largest membership was in the year 1926 when 992 members were listed. A total of approximately 1650 have been raised in Eureka Lodge in its first one hundred years.
In our opinion, every honoring of a member of Eureka Lodge by another Masonic body is also honoring Eureka Lodge. Only a careful survey of records reveals a complete list of honors accorded to members of Eureka Lodge in its first one hundred years. Outstanding in the long list is the name of Abraham H. Howland, Jr., who was Master of Eureka Lodge in 1869-70 and 71. He was District Deputy Grand Master in 1872-74 and served as Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in 1884-86.
Many of our members have been honored by the Grand Lodge. Besides M.W. Abraham H. Howland, Jr., Right Worshipful James L. Sherman (Wor. Master in 1873-75) was elected Junior Grand Warden in 1911.
The following members have served locally as District Deputy Grand Masters:
- R. W. John A. Lee (1869-71)
- R. W. James L. Sherman (1897-98)
- R. W. Arthur R. Anderson (1941-42)
- R. W. Erford W. Poole (1951-52)
- R. W. George R. Dewhurst (1955-56)
- R. W. Horace L. Humphrey (1927-28)
- R. W. Seth J. Besse (1931-32)
- R. W. William Stitt (1957-58)
The last three in the above list were not Past Masters of Eureka Lodge but were numbered among its members.
In the Twenty-sixth Lodge of Instruction the following members of Eureka Lodge served as Masters: Wor. Bros. Besse, Selley, Smith, Anderson, Timperley, Poole, Banks and Brindle. R.W. Brother Poole has been a frequent speaker at various Lodges of Instruction in southeastern Massachusetts. In 1953 Bro. Poole was awarded the Joseph Warren Medal "for Distinguished Services" by the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
It is indeed fortunate that from the beginning Eureka Lodge has counted among its members many public-spirited citizens who were interested and active in the welfare of their city and brought the same spirit with them into the activities of their Lodge.
Four of our members have served as Mayor of New Bedford: Bro. Isaac C. Taber was Mayor in 1859-61; M.W. Abraham H. Howland, Jr., served in 1874-75; Wor. William T. Sowle, in 1878-80; Bro. Charles S. Ashley was first elected in 1890 and served intermittently for twenty-nine years, a truly remarkable record of public service. Many other members of Eureka Lodge have served in public office in various capacities and responsibilities and as heads of departments in city government.
Eureka Lodge has had in its first one hundred years sixty-seven Worshipful Masters, each serving from one to three years. The first Master after the Charter was Wor. Henry F. Thomas, who was also Past Master of Star-in-the-East, who served in Eureka Lodge as Master for three years. Since 1916, Masters have served only one-year terms. A total of 1650 members have been raised in Eureka Lodge in its first century. The largest number raised in any one year was 120 during the term of Wor. Robert M. Gundersen. The largest number of members was in 1926 when the total membership was 992. An average of approximately 30% of all applications has been rejected, an evidence of discrimination in selection of new members. The present total membership of Eureka Lodge is 532.
H. M. S. CAPETOWN
An outstanding event in local Masonic history occurred in 1927 when H.M.S. the Capetown made an official visit to the Port of New Bedford in celebration of "British Week." In anticipation of the expected visit, the Masters of five Lodges, with the Master of Eureka Lodge as Chairman, extended a most cordial invitation and welcome to members of the Craft on board the cruiser.
On Thursday evening, October 20th, open house was held at the Temple for the Brethren from across the sea. Twenty-two members of the Craft accepted the invitation extended to them. It is interesting to note that the visitors were members of Lodges in various parts of England, Scotland, Bermuda, Malta, Gibraltar and even from far off China. Also, the list of visitors ranged from a Commissioned Officer to a lowly Stoker, thus emphasizing the democratic nature of craft membership.
The Chairman of the local Committee extended to the visitors a most cordial welcome from the Masons of New Bedford. Then followed a luncheon and an entertainment provided by the visitors, of which the visitors themselves contributed a generous part to the delight of everyone in attendance.
After the entertainment, adjournment was made to Doric Hall, where a Chief Petty Officer from the crew, Jack Mathias, was raised to the Sublime Degree of Master Mason according to Massachusetts Ritual. The degree was exemplified by a selected corps of officers from the five New Bedford Lodges.
The following is a list of the twenty-two visitors in attendance that evening:
- Herbert Donley, Commissioned Officer, R. N. Brunswick #159, Plymouth, England ©:
- Wm. E. Tomlinson, Schoolmaster (W.O.), R. N. St. Clair #2074, Portsmouth, England ©:
- Henry Birkenshaw, Master-at-Arms, Lodge not known.
- John W. Eastman, Petty Officer, St. John #60, Inverkeithing, Scotland
- Henry J. Gregory, Chief Stoker, St. Andrew #966, Malta
- James A. Grundy, Leading Writer, Fidelity #230, Plymouth, England ©:
- John W. A. Ferris, Chief Stoker, Daintree #2938, Wei-Hai-Wei, North China
- David Hayes, Stoker 1st Class, Canmore #1175, Dunfermline, Scotland
- William Langridge, Canteen Manager, Loyalty #358, Bermuda ©:
- Fernley R. C. Liddicoat, Engine Room Artificer, Albercorn #271, Malta
- George H. Manning, Chief Mechanician, United Services #2258, Plymouth, England ©:
- Andrew Moir, Leading Seaman, St. Johns #112, Musselburg, Scotland
- Robert A. T. Manning, Supply Petty Officer, Charity #223, Plymouth, England ©:
- Jack S. Mathias, Chief Petty Officer, Charity #223, Plymouth, England ©:
- William J. Parford, Engine Room Artificer, United Services #2258, Plymouth, England ©:
- Wilfred D. Piller, Engine Room Artificer, St. John the Evangelist #4405, Plymouth, England ©:
- Ronald P. Ponsford, Engine Room Artificer, Henley #797, Darmouth, England ©:
- William A. J. Page, Engine Room Artificer, Metham #1205, Plymouth, England ©:
- Ernest A. R. Phillips, Petty Officer (not known) (H.M.S. Colombo)
- Henry D. Roberts, Stoker (Petty Officer), St. Johns, Plymouth, England ©:
- Joseph L. Ward, Engine Room Artificer, Robert F. Gould #2874, Gibraltar
- Leonard A. Woods, Engine Room Artificer, Sincerity #189, Plymouth, England ©:
©: English Constitution
It is unfortunate that there exists no complete list of members of local Lodges who have served in the armed services of our country. An impressive bronze tablet in the entrance hall of the Temple records the names of a list of veterans of World War I, compiled soon after the conflict terminated. However, it is only a partial list as many veterans joined the Craft after this list was completed. Also, apparently no list was ever made of participants in later conflicts. However, every Mason knows that a complete list to date would furnish conclusive proof of a true and full understanding of the duty that every Mason owes his Country.
In World War I, Wor. John A. Stitt left New Bedford July 28, 1917, as Captain commanding the Fourth Company, Mass. Coast Artillery, N.G. This Company was afterwards incorporated in a new regiment as Battery "D," 55th Artillery, A.E.F. On returning from abroad, he was retired with the rank of Major. Wor. Brother Stitt was appointed by the Most Worshipful Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts to represent him in France in Battery "D," 55th Artillery Regiment, A.E.F.
CHALLENGE TO MASONRY
The record of a hundred years in Eureka Lodge has been written. It is a story of good fellowship and notable service in the Masonic life of this community, of which every member is or should be justly proud. It is a record that holds much of promise for the future. In these days of strife and turmoil in which we live, when on every hand alien-minded individuals, who enjoy our freedom and our economy, seek to tear down and destroy that which in our land has been built so well, it is of vital importance that we should be firmly united in our determination to preserve our national ideals as well as the spiritual values of civilization itself. Only so long as those values and ideals can be preserved can we be sure that our nation, our fraternity or civilization will survive.
In these days of uncertainty, when ideals and standards are abandoned by an alarming number of our people, no one with certainty can predict the future. However, in that future there is a definite challenge to Masonry. "Truth is eternal and it must prevail." Our every effort must be to "hold fast to that which is good," striving to preserve those fundamental standards and ideals on which rests the whole structure of constitutional government as well as Masonry.
There was never a time in our history when it was so vitally important as now to be "vigilant, active and alert in matters affecting our Constitution." On every side numerous vicious assaults have been and are being made to undermine and impair its control and guidance of our government. We need an enduring faith today in the thought that after the night cometh the day, that after the gloom of the night cometh the glory of the dawn. Next to a Mason's duty to the Deity comes his obligation as a citizen, the duty he owes to the land in which he lives. As citizens of this land of ours, we have indeed a glorious heritage. The story of the establishment of these United States of America as a free and independent nation was largely written by our Masonic forefathers, who bequeathed to us a rich heritage of freedom, a Constitution that safeguarded that heritage and a guarantee to every man of life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness.
Someone has said that "eternal vigilance is the price of liberty." The present trend away from constitutional government and the consequent destruction or weakening of our freedom and economic stability has become truly alarming.
All that we of this nation are today and all that we have been in the past, we owe to the American Constitution. Colonial Masonry gave it birth in the City of Brotherly Love in the summer of 1787 and every Mason of today has a sacred obligation to preserve that priceless heritage. It brought us out of the darkness of bondage into the light of freedom and it welded the conflicting forces and ideas of a divided people into a unity of purpose and strength of national character. Regardless of how it has been flaunted and ignored in these later years, it still guarantees the dignity of free men and women and the security and welfare of millions yet to be.
Members of the Craft should strive, because of their obligations as citizens, for a reawakening of the public conscience, a return to a higher regard for honesty and integrity in all walks of life, but perhaps most of all a discard of alien philosophies and a return to the fundamental standards of our inspired forefathers, who legislated better than they knew.
Today as almost never before, the world sorely needs the teachings and philosophies of Freemasonry. It needs to recognize again the Brotherhood of Man as taught by Him who walked the Shores of Galilee. It needs a universal striving for World Peace, hoping ever and praying always for the coming of the day when "swords shall be beaten into ploughshares and spears into pruning hooks, when nations shall not lift up sword against nation, neither shall they learn war any more."
Only by such a spiritual rebirth and a definite return to the American way of life as given us by the wisdom and foresight of those inspired Masons of long ago can there be answered the prayer of the Great Emancipator, uttered in other days that tried men's souls, "that this nation, under God, shall have a new birth of freedom and that this government of the people, by the people and for the people, shall not perish from the earth."
125TH ANNIVERSARY HISTORY, APRIL 1983
From Proceedings, Page 1983-103:
1958 - 1983
By Worshipful Morris R. Furtado.
(Detailed histories of Eureka Lodge for the periods from 1859 to 1933 and from 1933 to 1958, by Worshipful Charles S. Coombs and Right Worshipful Erford W. Poole, respectively, may be found in the Proceedings of the Grand Lodge for 1933, pages 58-85, inclusive, and for 1958, pages 99-113, inclusive.)
At the 100th Anniversary of Eureka Lodge in 1958 Wor. Ernest M. Hardy was Master of the Lodge. M. W. Thomas A. Booth was General Chairman of the celebration, R.W. George R. Dewhurst was Chairman of the Reception Committee and the church service. Lodge Historian was R.W. Erford W. Poole and Secretary was R.W. Arthur R. Anderson.
A church service was held on Sunday June 8, 1958 at the Grace Episcopal Church at 4:00 P.M. Rev. Bro. Thomas L. Crum conducted the service and was assisted by Rev. Bro. Otis L. Mason and the sermon was by Rev. Bro. Raymond H. Kendrick, Grand Chaplain of Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. The soloist was Ralph K. Price, Jr. and the organist was Charles G. Smith, Jr.
On Monday, June 9, 1958, Lodge was opened at 5:15 P.M. at the Masonic Temple and at 6:30 P.M. a banquet was had in the Banquet Hall. The main course was Roast Tenderloin of Beef. Music was furnished by the Kenneth Park Trio.
M. W. Andrew G. Jenkins was Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, and he and his suite of officers were received. The soloist at the dinner was Henry McGowan and the organist was Harvey F. Greenhaigh. R.W. William Stitt was District Deputy Grand Master of the Fall River 30th Masonic District, and R. W. Donald B. Carr was District Deputy Grand Master for the New Bedford 30th District.
Officers of Eureka Lodge at this 100th Anniversary Celebration were: Wor. Ernest M. Hardy, Master; Edward Wagner, Senior Warden; Everett J. Rivard, Junior Warden; R.W. George R. Dewhurst, Treasurer; R.W. Arthur R. Anderson, Secretary; Wor. Wilfrid C. Fortier, Chaplain; R.W. Erford Poole, Chaplain Emeritus; Bro. Mitchell I. Jackson, Marshal; Bro. Oman R. Price, Senior Deacon; Bro. Morris R. Furtado, Junior Deacon; Bro. Edward C. Bedard, Senior Steward; Bro. Thomas Crook, Jr., Junior Steward; Bro. Robert Quirk, Inside Sentinel; Bro. Charles L. Stacey, Organist; and Bro. Harold Needham, Tyler. Our records show that in 1958 we had 529 members. Eureka Lodge Officers wore their newly purchased Aprons in January 1959 which were bought from the Harding Uniform and Regalia Corp. in Boston for the sum of $285.
On January 27, 1960, a Special Communication of Eureka Lodge was held to pay homage to R. W. George R. Dewhurst, the newly installed Junior Warden of the Grand Lodge of Masons in Massachusetts. M. W. Laurence Eaton and his suite of Grand Lodge Officers were present. 172 Brethren were served an excellent Roast Beef dinner.
December 1960 was another year of note for Eureka Lodge. M.W. Thomas A. Booth was installed as Deputy Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, and on March 17, 1961, M.W. Laurence E. Eaton, Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts was again received into our Lodge and a dinner honoring M.W. Booth on his new appointment was enjoyed by all in attendance.
Wor. Francis L. Thomson presented Eureka Lodge with a new Bible, Square and Compasses on April 14, 1961. Our Annual Report of that year shows a membership of 502 members.
On December 28, 1964, R. W. Oman R. Price was installed as District Deputy Grand Master of the Fall River 30th Masonic District.
In September of 1965, R. W. James P. Warbasse started our Blood Bank at St. Luke's Hospital. We still have a strong blood bank at this time. Our Blood Bank Chairman is Wor. Warren S. Wood. He and Wor. Phillip C. Davis, the Chairman before Bro. Wood, have done a wonderful job in maintaining the blood bank in order that we may all have blood when needed.
December of 1965 saw M. W. Thomas A. Booth installed as Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts and R. W. George R. Dewhurst was installed as Grand Marshal of the Grand Lodge.
In December 1968, R. W. George R. Dewhurst again gained honor, this time being installed as Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
M.W. Thomas A. Booth was elected to be Eureka Lodge's Proxy to Grand Lodge and the member of the Board of Masonic Relief for our Lodge in December 1971 and has served in that capacity ever since.
March 6, 1972 was a sad date for Eureka Lodge. It was the passing of R.W. Arthur R. Anderson who had served as faithful secretary for 32 years. He has been missed. In March after the death of Bro. Anderson, Wor. Thomas Crook Jr. took over as Secretary but because of health gave up the position after two months. Wor. Morris R. Furtado took over the duties of Secretary and is still holding that position at this moment in history.
The Annual Report of 1972 showed our membership at 300. Young people didn't appear to be joining any organizations, or so it seems.
On December 18, 1974 Wor. William O. Fuller, Jr. received his Past Masters Diploma. He was Master in 1957 but because of an oversight he did not receive it at this time. Wor. Morris R. Furtado, Secretary, along with M.W. Thomas A. Booth and R.W. George R. Dewhurst were instrumental in getting the Grand Master to present a diploma to Bro. Fuller.
On June 10, 1981, Grand Lodge approved of two changes in our By-Laws. The old By-Laws and the new By-Laws are as follows:
To amend the first paragraph of Article II which read as follows:
"The elective officers shall be chosen by written or printed ballot at the regular meeting in December by a majority of the members present, and shall be duly installed on or before the regular meeting in January following."
and amended to read:
"The elective officers shall be chosen by written or printed ballot at the regular meeting in June, by a majority of the members present, and shall be duly installed on or before the regular meeting in September following."
Article XI, which had read:
"Any Master Mason who has been duly elected and regularly installed as Master of this Lodge and who has performed the duties appertaining thereto for twelve (12) calendar months shall be presented with a Past Master's Jewel and a Past Master's Apron."
was amended to read as follows:
"Any Master Mason who has been duly elected and regularly installed as Worshipful Master of this Lodge and who has performed the duties appertaining thereto for twenty-four (24) calendar months shall be presented with a Past Master's Jewel and a Past Master's Apron. The Jewel shall be for the Master's use during his lifetime. Upon his demise, said Jewel shall be returned to the Lodge."
The new By-Laws took effect in June 1982.
On December 28, 1981, R. W. Oman R. Price was installed as Senior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. On Friday, April 2, 1982, the Grand Master of Masons in Massachusetts, M. W. J. Philip Berquist and his suite attended Eureka Lodge and, after being received, all proceeded to the banquet hall for a reception for R.W. Bro. Price. A Braised Beef dinner was served by Craven's Catering Service of Taunton to about 175 members of the Fraternity. A most enjoyable time was held by all that attended.
June 1982 saw an election in Eureka Lodge and it seemed strange to have an election at that time of year. Because of the by-law change we now vote new officers in during warmer weather. Our installations will now be held in September and that will be much better than during a snow storm. Eureka Lodge has been famous for having an installation during a heavy snowstorm.
The record of one hundred and twenty-five years of Eureka Lodge has been written. It is a story of good fellowship and notable service in the Masonic life of this community, and every member of Eureka Lodge should be justly proud.
It is a record that holds much promise for the future. In these days of strife and turmoil in which we live, when on every hand alien minded individuals, who enjoy our freedom and our economy, seek to tear down and destroy that which in our land has been built so well, it is of vital importance that we should be firmly united in our determination to preserve our national ideals as well as the spiritual values of civilization itself. Only so long as those values and ideals can be preserved can we be sure that our nation, our fraternity or civilization will survive.
NOTES AT 150TH ANNIVERSARY OF QUITTACUS LODGE, JUNE 2008
From Proceedings, Page 2008-66, address of Rt. Wor. David R. Price, Sr.:
In the early part of the year 1857, ten Brethren of Star in the East Lodge decided that the time had come when another Lodge ought to be founded in New Bedford. Business was good, whaling was flourishing, money was plentiful, Star in the East Lodge was prospering, and as they said "it had so many members that it had become unwieldy".
Early in the year 1857, we read in the records of Star in the East Lodge that Worshipful Timothy Ingraham, Past Master of Star in the East Lodge, requested permission to petition the Grand Lodge for a Dispensation to form a new Lodge in New Bedford which was granted.
At that time, there were but four Lodges in Bristol County: Bristol of Attleboro, chartered in 1797, King David of Taunton, chartered in 1798, Star in the East in New Bedford, chartered in 1823 and Mount Hope in Fall River, chartered in 1824. These Lodges were all in the 7th Masonic District of Massachusetts.
In 1858, several members of Star in the East Lodge demitted to form Eureka Lodge. On December 1, 1873, ten Fairhaven members took demits to form Concordia Lodge, now known as George H. Taber Lodge. Five years later, still another group demitted to form Noquochoke Lodge in Westport.
The Lodge was constituted July 21, 1858 by M. W. John T. Heard, Grand Master.
25th Anniversary Notations - 1883: The principal speakers were: George H. Taber of Fairhaven and others. The cost of the Anniversary Celebration was $119.77.
50th Anniversary Notations - 1908: The cost of the affair was $922.89.
75th Anniversary Notations - 1933: We find that Eureka Lodge has 860 members.
100th Anniversary Notations - 1958: R.W. Thomas A. Booth was General Chairman of the celebration.
- 1886 (Resolution of appeal by Master of the Lodge; 1886-41, 1886-72; 1886-129)
CONSTITUTION OF LODGE, JULY 1858
From Moore's Freemason's Monthly, Vol. XVII, No. 10, Page 319:
EUREKA LODGE, NEW BEDFORD, was regularly constituted by the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts, on Wednesday evening, July 21. In the forenoon of that day, the officers and members of the Lodge, together with members of Star in the East Lodge, went down the bay, with their families, to the number of four or five hundred, in the new steamer Eagle's Wing. The party was accompanied by a Band of Music and had a very agreeable time, returning to the city at 8 o'clock.
At half-past 8 o'clock, the consecrating ceremonies took place at the Lodge room. The organization of the Grand Lodge was as follows :— Col. John T. Heard, Grand Master; Rev. Dr. Flint, of Greenfield, D. G. M.; Charles W. Moore, S. G. W. pro tem; John H. Sheppard, J. G. W. p. t. ; William W. Wheildon, G. C. p. t.; Messrs. Low and Hunt, G. Deacons; W. S. Gardner, G. Marshal; Peter C. Jones, G. S. B.; Eben F. Gay, G. T., and Geo. H. Taber, of Fairhaven, District Deputy.
The services were commenced with prayer, followed by the singing of a Hymn and the usual ceremonies. The ceremonies were conducted in ample form under the direction of the Grand Master, and were highly interesting to a large number of the fraternity present on the occasion.
At the conclusion of the consecrating ceremonies, the officers elect of Eureka Lodge were regularly installed by the Grand Master, according to the ancient usages of the Craft, viz :—
- Henry F. Thomas, Master.
- Isaac M. Richardson, S. W.
- Isaac C. Taber, J. W.
- Benjamin Russell, Treas.
- Stephen A. Tripp, Sec'y
- F. L. Porter, S, D.
- Moses H. Bliss, J. D.
- Rev. Moses G. Thomas, Chap.
- Gustavus Delano, Jonathan Ellis, Stewards.
- Daniel Montague, Tyler.
The fraternity concluded the day by an elegant entertainment at the Mansion House, at which speeches were made and sentiments offered by the members and their guests. It was altogether a very pleasant and satisfactory occasion. — Bunker Hill Aurora.
OFFICER LIST, JANUARY 1864
From Masonic Monthly, Vol. 1, No. 3, January 1864, Page 140:
On the 4th ult., Eureka Lodge, New Bedford, Mass., elected the following officers:—
- William O. Woodman, W. Master;
- Henry J. Taylor, S. Warden;
- James H. C. Richmond, J. Warden;
- Stephen A. Tripp, Secretary;
- Benjamin Russell, Treasurer.
50TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION, JUNE 1908
From New England Craftsman, Vol. III, No. 10, July 1908, Page 375:
Clifton H. Cornish, Master; Edwin R. King, Senior Warden; Charles S. Coombs, Junior Warden
Eureka Lodge A. F. & A. M., New Bedford. Massachusetts, celebrated its fiftieth anniversary, Tuesday, June 9th in a manner befitting the importance of the event. The glad day had been looked forward to with great interest and preparations for its several features had been assigned to committees who faithfully discharged their duties. Many distinguished guests contributed to the interest of the occasion by their presence among whom were: Most Worshipful John Albert Blake, Grand Master; Right Worshipful William M. Belcher, Senior Grand Warden; Right Worshipful Oliver A. Roberts, Junior Grand Warden; Right Worshipful Sereno D. Nickerson, Recording Grand Secretary; Edward A. Horton, Grand Chaplain. Worshipful Melvin M. Johnson, Grand Marshal; Right Worshipful Albert F. Dow, District Deputy Grand Master of the 26th District; Congressman William S. Greene and others.
In the afternoon there was an anniversary gathering in the lodge room, the chief feature being the reception of the Grand Master and other officials.
A banquet was served in the Masonic hall at 7.30, at which 300 sat down. Speechmaking followed the banquet, Grand Master Blake, Grand Secretary Nickerson. D. D. G. M. Dow, Senior Grand Warden William M. Belcher. Allen P. Keith and Congressman Greene making appropriate remarks, while a carefully prepared and detailed history of the lodge was given by William H. Waterman, a Past Master.
Eureka Lodge came into existence because Star in the East Lodge, which then was the only other in New Bedford, had become overcrowded. The Charter was granted to nine brethren of Star in the East Lodge, June 9, 1858. All of these nine have passed on to the Celestial lodge. The oldest member at the present time is H. Wilder Emerson who joined the lodge in 1860.
From the start, the lodge had a healthy growth and within a year or two had reached the 100 mark in number of members. During the Civil War, the lodge met with the depression which in a greater or less degree affected every organization, and so far as the growth of the membership roll was concerned the lodge stood still. Along about 1870 or thereabouts, it began to pick up again, and its increase has been steady until the present time, Eureka Lodge having today 339 names on its list.
It has been blest throughout its entire existence with groups of able leaders, and its list of past masters is an honor roll indeed. Timothy Ingraham, the first master of the lodge, was one of the leading lawyers of the city in his day; Isaac M. Richardson was city clerk, and at one time president of the city council; Abraham H. Howland, Jr., was mayor of the city, and William T. Soule was mayor for two terms; and several others of the masters were prominent in the business or professional life of New Bedford.
A number of them too gained higher honors in Masonic circles than this city afforded, after having served the local lodge, Abraham H. Howland, Jr., being at one time grand master of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. Thomas B. Tripp and James L. Sherman were others who were honored with positions in the grand lodge, Mr. Sherman holding the office of district deputy grand master for one period.
The history of Eureka Lodge has been since its establishment a history of steady, harmonious growth, the lodge invariably occupying a high position among those in this district. Interest in its welfare has always been keen among the members, and that it is still alive, is shown by the hearty support accorded to the anniversary committee.
The anniversary program was handsomely printed. It contained a list of committees and names of members of the lodge. On the first page were photographs of the master and wardens and on the last page those of the nine charter members.
The present officers of the lodge are: Clifton H. Cornish, worshipful master; Edwin R. King, Senior Warden; Charles S. Coombs, Junior Warden; Worshipful Elisha H. Fisher, Treasurer; Worshipful Daniel W. Cory Secretary; Thomas M. Bateman, Chaplain; George S. Kennedy, Marshal; Henry S. Foster, Senior Deacon; John A. Stitt, Junior Deacon; Daniel W. Baker, Senior Steward; Frank L. Rawson, Junior Steward; Obed S. Cowing, Inside Sentinel; James Slater, Tyler; Robert Allen, Organist.
GRAND LODGE OFFICERS
- Arthur R. Anderson, DDGM, District 30 (Fall River), 1941, 1942; N
- Thomas A. Booth, Deputy Grand Master 1961; Grand Master 1966-1968
- George R. Dewhurst, DDGM, District 30 (Fall River), 1955, 1956; Junior Grand Warden 1960; Grand Marshal 1966-1968; Senior Grand Warden 1969; N
- Abraham H. Howland, Jr., DDGM, District 14 (New Bedford), 1872-1875; Senior Grand Warden 1876; Deputy Grand Master 1878-1880; Grand Master 1884-1886
- Stephen W. Latham, DDGM, District 30 (New Bedford), 1997, 1998; N
- John A. Lee, DDGM, District 10 (Springfield), 1869, 1870, 1871; SN
- Erford W. Poole, DDGM, District 30 (Fall River), 1951, 1952; N
- David R. Price, Sr., DDGM, District 30 (New Bedford), 1993, 1994; Senior Grand Warden 1994
- Oman R. Price, DDGM, District 30 (Fall River), 1965, 1966; Senior Grand Warden 1982; N
- James L. Sherman, DDGM, District 26 (Fall River), 1897, 1898; Junior Grand Warden 1911
- Moses Thomas, Memorial