Difference between revisions of "MAOtherBrothersK"
(→KELSEY, ALBERT HANNIBAL 1811-1901)
(→KENNEDY, PETER JAMES 1939-2008)
|Line 296:||Line 296:|
The funeral was held Wednesday afternoon, Nov. 17. in the Eastman Chapel, 896 Beacon Street, Boston, at 2 o'clock, interment being in Mount Auburn cemetery, Cambridge.
The funeral was held Wednesday afternoon, Nov. 17. in the Eastman Chapel, 896 Beacon Street, Boston, at 2 o'clock, interment being in Mount Auburn cemetery, Cambridge.
== KENNEDY, PETER JAMES 1939-2008 ==
== KENNEDY, PETER JAMES 1939-2008 ==
Latest revision as of 19:02, 6 July 2020
- 1 KADETZ, HENRY 1901-1993
- 2 KAVANAGH, EDWARD HAROLD 1853-1922
- 3 KEITH, WALLACE CUSHING 1859-1927
- 4 KELLEY, DAVID 1821-1887
- 5 KELLEY, NEHEMIAH 1783-1858
- 6 KELLOUGH, THOMAS 1833-1915
- 7 KELSEY, ALBERT HANNIBAL 1811-1901
- 8 KENDALL, ALBERT A. 1827-1862
- 9 KENDALL, JOSEPH SEWALL 1862-1926
- 10 KENDALL, WILLIAM HENRY BOSWORTH 1871-1935
- 11 KENNEDY, PETER JAMES 1939-2008
- 12 KENNY, MIAH GABRIEL 1837-1923
- 13 KENT, WILLIAM H. 1823-1889
- 14 KERR, WILLIAM 1830-1906
- 15 KIDDER, CHARLES WINSLOW 1861-1927
- 16 KIMBALL, HARRY W. 1861-1934
- 17 KIMBALL, JAMES 1808-1880
- 18 KIMBALL, JOHN TREADWAY 1840-1913
- 19 KIMBALL, OTIS FREEMAN 1856-1928
- 20 KIMPTON, DAN J. 1874-1933
- 21 KING, LEANDER G. 1830-1863
- 22 KING, LOUIS CAMERON 1896-1991
- 23 KING, RUFUS 1755-1827
- 24 KINGSBURY, WILLIAM HENRY SMILEY 1879-1947
- 25 KIRKHAM, JOHN B. 1791-1857
- 26 KIRKPATRICK, ALFRED HAMILTON 1929-1985
- 27 KNAPP, WILLIAM 1798-1863
- 28 KNOWLES, ABBOTT LAWRENCE 1843-1906
- 29 KNOX, HENRY 1750-1806
- 30 KOLSETH, HENRY SOPHUS 1841-1908
KADETZ, HENRY 1901-1993
- MM 1928, Ezra #215, Union City, NJ
- Member 1947, Guardian #921, New York, NY
- Member 1953, WM 1960, 1982, 1985, Ezra
- Member 1988, Metacomet Daylight
- Member 1992, Eastern Star
From TROWEL, Spring 1985, Page 9:
Only 84, and He's at It Again!
By Robert W. Williams III
"If you're lucky enough to be born in this country you should never complain. There's an opportunity here that.is difficult to match anywhere in the world."
Who should know this better than Wor. Henry Kadetz, the remarkable 84-year-old Master of Ezra Lodge, Taunton. He was installed in that office for the third time in November — not the second, mind you but the third time. A man possessed with more energy than many men ten and twenty years younger, he attends meetings of all Taunton Lodges and Lodges of Instruction and accompanies the District Deputy wherever he goes.
The emphasis now being focused on the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island strikes a familiar note in the early life of Bro. Kadetz. Like millions of other immigrants to America, he can remember being processed and examined in the spacious building that is now under restoration to serve as a national reminder of the days that once were. His mother, brothers Benjamin and Eli, and sister Bertha arrived here in 1906.
Born in what was Platzk, Russia, 84 years ago this past January, Bro. Kadetz never knew his father until reaching America. "I was only two when my father and older brother, Morris, left in 1903 to establish a place for my mother and the rest of us. We settled in Brooklyn. "Life in Russia then as now, was often hazardous for Jewish families. A new life in America wasn't without its problems and struggles, but there was opportunity here we would never have had in Russia. Perhaps not even life itself."
Employment in the garment business of New York was often an on-again-off-again way of life. When things began to prosper in the Roaring Twenties he took his degrees in Ezra Lodge No. 215, Union City, NJ, in 1928. He demitted in 1947 when he affiliated with Guardian Lodge No. 921, New York City. His brother Morris was also a member.
The Depression Thirties and World War II reshaped the lives of most Americans. It was no different for the Kadetz family. "We started in business twice and failed both times. Finally, Morris came to Taunton and the Taunton Garment industry became successful. Mother, brothers, sister, Henry, and his wife Ruth located in the city.
When Ezra Lodge was instituted in Taunton by M. W. Thomas S. Roy in 1952, Bro. Morris became a charter member. Henry affiliated a year later. Morris died in 1957 and Henry assumed leadership in the business. He retired and sold the firm in 1973.
He first was elected Master of the Lodge in 1959. He was Master again in 1981-82. The ironic part of Henry's third time around is the fact that Wor. Neil S. Sweet, Master of King David Lodge a second time, presided with Bro. Henry in 1959-60.
Life for Bro. Henry took a tragic turn in 1979. Two months following their 50th wedding anniversary, Ruth died, having been ill for several months. "I had a choice; give up or keep going. I chose to involve myself in Masonry, to give something toward a good purpose in life." He has done much more than that in his community; he considers the welfare of others as his own.
He had met his wife at a New York basketball game. "We both followed the new professional game when Nat Holman, Joe Lapchick, and others played for the original Celtics. Ed Sullivan of TV fame was the young sportswriter who helped get the pros started in New York.
Third Time Around as Master of Ezra Lodge, Taunton, began for Bro. Henry Kadetz, left, by receiving the Joseph Warren Medal.
R. W. Robert G. Hartley, D. D. G. M. of the Taunton 28th, made the presentation during November installation ceremonies. Photo by Dick Arikian.)
Labor of Love for Wor. Henry Kadetz, center, was the replication of the Lodge room in the Masonic Temple, Taunton,’
by Bro. Louis Rosenberg and his wife Seena. The illuminated gift can now be viewed in Bro. Kadetz’s home. Photo by Dick Arikian.)
His Veterans Medal is only one milestone in a Masonic career that is more meaningful to himself and others at age 84. The Joseph Warren Medal presented in November tells a lot of stories. "Nobody earns it himself, I accept it for everybody."
The love and respect Masons have for Wor. Henry Kadetz was proven when Bro. Louis Rosenberg, Ezra Lodge Secretary, and his wife Seena unveiled an exact replica of the Lodge room of the Taunton Masonic Temple. Completely equipped with lighting, furniture, flags, pictures, an altar with the Holy Bible, square and compasses, aprons and collars, books on desks — it is the result of many hours' work, and is truly a labor of love. Many friends contributed toward the cost, but only Lou and Seena Rosenberg can evaluate the labor involved. It may be viewed at his Bennet St. home in Taunton.
In what perspective does he hold himself as a Master at age 84 and the third time around? "If I can do it, some of these young men can do it. We need them and they need Masonry more than they realize."
KAVANAGH, EDWARD HAROLD 1853-1922
- MM 1900, Columbian
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XVIII, No. 2, November 1922, Page 54:
Edward H. Kavanagh, senior member of he firm of Kavanagh Brothers, granite manufacturers of Quincy, and prominent as a Mason died Sunday, November 5, after a long llness at his home at 14 Kings Cove Road, North Weymouth.
He was born July 22, 1853, in Southbridge and was educated in the schools of that town. He entered the granite business in Lynn with is brother, Henry, and 30 years ago the business was transferred to Quincy. It is one of le largest in that city, with headquarters in Penn Street.
He was grand master of the grand lodge of Odd Fellows in 1889 and 1890 and later was representative to the Sovereign grand lodge. He was a member of Columbian Lodge A. F. and A. M. of Boston, St. Paul's Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. Boston Commandery, K. T., Boston Council, Royal and Select Masters, Lafayette Lodge of Perfection, the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company, the Boston Charity Club, the Massachusetts Republican Club.
KEITH, WALLACE CUSHING 1859-1927
- MM 1904, Paul Revere
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XXII, No. 8, June 1927, Page 494:
Dr. Wallace C. Keith, prominent in medical, civic and Masonic activities, died Sunday, June 19, after a long illness at his home, 46 Rosseter Street, Brockton, Mass. He was 68 years old.
Funeral services, largely attended, were held at the Porter Church, Brockton, on Wednesday, June 22, at 2:30 o'clock.
A native of West Bridgewater, he was a graduate of the Brockton high school, Adams Academy, Amherst College, 1880, and Harvard Medical School, 1884. He was an intern at the Boston City Hospital from 1883 to 1885, served on the staff of the Brockton Hospital from 1903 to 1917 and was in the volunteer medical service during the World War.
He was a member of the Brockton common council in 1886 and of the school committee from 1887 to 1910, serving as chairman for four years. From 1899 to 1915 he was a federal pension examining surgeon, and from 1907 to 1913 was a state health inspector. He was president of the Plymouth District Medical Society for two years and its secretary and treasurer from 1917 until his death.
Dr. Keith served as treasurer of the Porter Church parish from 1890 to 1898 and was chairman of the church committee from 1909 to 1913. He was a member of the Chi Phi fraternity of Amherst and the Boston and Harvard medical societies.
He had long been prominent in Masonic circles. He was a member of Paul Revere Lodge, A. F. and A. M., of Brockton; Satucket Royal Arch Chapter of Brockton and St. Paul Chapter of Boston, serving as high priest of the latter in 1921, and was a past district deputy grand high priest for the first capitular district; was past grand scribe of the grand chapter, a past commander of Bay State commandery of Brockton past illustrious master of Brockton Council, Royal and Select Masters; past grand master of the grand council of Massachusetts and was grand treasurer at the time of his death. He was alsi grand captain of the guard of the general grand council of the United States, a member of the Scottish Rite bodies of Boston and was a past second lieutenant-commander of Massachusetts consistory. He was also a member of Aleppo Temple of the Mystic Shrine.
KELLEY, DAVID 1821-1887
- MM 1855, Mount Horeb (West Harwich)
From Liberal Freemason, Vol. XI, No. 7, October 1887, Page 218:
Captain David Kelley, a highly respected citizen of West Harwich, Mass., died on Saturday, September 10th, after a short illness, aged sixty-six. He began following the sea at the age of ten years and arose to the command of first-class ships, among which are the following: Osborne Howes, Rival, Robin Hood, Fleet-wing, Ericsson, and General Fairchild. Leaving the latter about six years ago, he retired from the sea and has since held several town offices. He was serving on the Board of Selectmen of the town of Harwich at the time of his death. Captain Kelley was a prominent member of Mount Horeb Lodge of Masons. He leaves a widow, one daughter and two sons.
KELLEY, NEHEMIAH 1783-1858
- MM 1805, Sumner
- Charter Member of Mount Horeb Lodge
From Moore's Freemason's Monthly, Vol. XVII, No. 11, September 1858, Page 351:
West Harwich, August 12, 1858.
Chas. W. Moore, Esq., Boston.
Sir, Comp. and Brother, — Enclosed I send you an account of the death of our late and worthy Brother, Nehemiah Kelley, who died July 19th, 1858, after a short but severe illness. Brother Kelley was probably one of the oldest Masons in the County; having first united with Sumner Lodge, North Dennis, April 29th, 1805. He was also a petitioner for Mount Horeb Lodge, and was ever a firm and devoted friend to Masonry. He was a zealous advocate in the cause of temperance ; and whenever he heard of others suffering and in distress, he was ever ready to alleviate their sufferings. No inconvenience to himself ever tempted him to turn the needy and suffering empty away ; if he had not the means of relief himself, he would find those who had.. Suffering humanity ever found in him a friend ; and it can be said of him with truth, that he went about doing good. He needs no monument to preserve his memory. He lives in the memories of the many he has assisted in the dark days of their adversity. His deeds are engraved on their hearts and will be immortal. He has gone! May we imitate his many virtues, and like him, be ever found at our posts of duty.
If you think the above worthy a place in your valuable Magazine, it is at your disposal.
Wm. E. Ansell.
At a regular meeting of Mt. Horeb Lodge, held on the 4th inst., the following preamble and resolutions were unanimously adopted :—
- Whereas, it having pleased the Great Ruler of all things to remove from us our aged and distinguished Brother, Nehemiah Kelley, from the terrestrial Lodge below to join with kindred spirits, as we trust, in the celestial Lodge above. He died July 19th, 1858, aged seventy-five years and six months.
- Resolved, That in the death of our venerable Brother, the Masonic family have lost a true and faithful Brother j the community a useful and active member, and the youth an earnest instructor in the walks of life, and will long be remembered by all.
- Resolved, That we, as Brethren of Mt. Horeb Lodge, sincerely sympathize with his widow in her afflictions, and invoke upon her and her family Heaven's choicest blessing.
- Resolved, That the Jewels and the furniture of the Lodge be draped in mourning for thirty days.
- Resolved, That a copy of the above preamble and resolutions be sent to the widow of the deceased, and to Brother Moore, and the Barnstable Patriot, for publication.
A true copy — Attest,
Wm. E. Ansell,
KELLOUGH, THOMAS 1833-1915
- MM 1874, WM 1878, Baalbec
- Junior Grand Steward 1891
FROM COUNCIL OF DELIBERATION, 1916
From Proceedings of the Massachusetts Council of Deliberation AASR NMJ 1916, Page 27:
September 16, 1915, at the ripe age of almost eighty-three years, Ill. Bro. Thomas Kellough, 33°, died at his home in Winchester. We have always thought of him as of East Boston, where his public life and business activities knew him from 1858 — at which time he came there from his home in Nova Scotia — until within a few years past.He was a shipbuilder and interested in shipping and transportation for many years, until he retired from active business in 1895. Thereafter he filled the position as superintendent of our ferries for two years, with marked credit to himself and corresponding benefit to our city. He was at one time Second Lieutenant-Commander of this Council, and received his thirty-third degree September 19, 1895.
His daily life was an open book, exemplified in his manner and appearance, while his honesty and unswerving devotion to duty made him one to be relied upon for any important work.
From Proceedings of the Massachusetts Council of Deliberation AASR NMJ 1916, Page 43:
Ill. Bro. Thomas Kellough died at Winchester, Massachusetts, September 10, 1915, aged eighty-two years, ten months. He was born in the town of Gay's River, Nova Scotia, September 6, 1833, son of Thomas and Jennie (Henderson) Kellough. Educated in the public schools, he came to Boston in 1858 and learned his trade of shipwright in East Boston. Later he took contracts to build ships, which led to his connection with the foreign steamship business. He was for eighteen years actively engaged in fitting steamships in the carrying trade of livestock, cattle, sheep, grain, and other commodities, from Boston to European ports.
He retired from active business in February, 1895. He was appointed superintendent of the ferries, May 1, 1895, which position he filled with much ability and credit to himself, retiring at the expiration of his two years term to private life.
Ill. Bro. Thomas Kellough was made a Master Mason in Baalbec Lodge, East Boston, April 21, 1874, and became deeply interested in the work and charities of the Masonic fraternity.
He was a member of the Board of Directors, East Boston Masonic Building Association, for thirty-three years. He was a Past Master of Baalbec Lodge; Past High Priest of St. John's Royal Arch Chapter; Past Thrice Illustrious Master of East Boston Council of Royal and Select Masters; Past Commander and Honorary Member of William Parkman Commandery, Knights Templars; Past District Deputy Grand High Priest and Past Grand King of the Grand Royal Arch Chapter of Massachusetts; Past Sovereign Prince of Giles F. Yates Council of Princes of Jerusalem; received the degree and elected in 1895 a member of the Royal Order of Scotland, Second Lieutenant-Commander of the Council of Deliberation, Ancient and Accepted Scottish Rite, Northern Masonic Jurisdiction; elected and received the thirty-third degree September 19, 1895.
He became a citizen of the United States in the year 1859, was elected a member of the Massachusetts Charitable Mechanic Association in 1882, and served on several important committees. In politics he was a steadfast Republican.
He was married in Boston, May 25, 1859, to Miss Mary West Tyler, (laughter of Job and Lucy Tyler, of South Danvers, Massachusetts. She died February 19, 1870, leaving three children, two now living, — Arthur F., of San Diego, California, and Jennie H. (now Mrs. Edward G. Graves). He married, second, June 15, 1874, Annie M. Kenney, of Boston. The children by this marriage are Eva T., Charles T., Hattie W. (now Mrs. R. G. Bickwell, of Worcester), Bertha M. (now Mrs. A. L. Danforth, of Brookline), Willard R., and Lester P.
In the community in which Illustrious Brother Kellough lived, he was esteemed as a man of integrity, upright and honorable in all his dealings as a citizen and master mechanic.
He has left with us the memories of a long and useful life well lived, a citizen of high ideals, devoted to the best interests of his fellow-men, a friend whose friendship was always real and sincere, a man honest and true hearted in all his instincts and affections, and a Mason whose whole life reflected high honor upon our Order, as it had honored him.
Edward G. Graves, 33°,
John M. Raymond, 33°,
John E. Pierce, 33°,
KELSEY, ALBERT HANNIBAL 1811-1901
FROM COUNCIL OF DELIBERATION, 1901
From Proceedings of the Massachusetts Council of Deliberation AASR NMJ 1901, Page 39:
Bro. Albert H. Kelsey was a worthy descendant of an honorable American ancestry reaching back 268 years. He was born In Shirley, Mass., Oct. 30, 1811, being the first-born son of David and Sarah (Ord�way) Kelsey. His father died in 1821, leaving but n small accumulation of this world's goods, and Albert was bound out to a Deacon Jaquith, a reputable farmer in Fitchburg, Mass., with whom he remained five years. At the age of fifteen years, he was apprenticed to Capt. Zachariah Sheldon to learn the trade of carpenter and builder, the consideration being "forty dollars and four weeks' schooling per year." In his eighteenth year he was permitted to have three months' schooling, which terminated his education in the public schools.
Immediately on attaining the age of twenty-one years, he went to Winchendon to superintend the erection of a Methodist meeting-house, also of the Winchendon Hotel, then the largest and most complete tavern between Keene and Boston. While there he also constructed the elaborate and ornamental mantelpieces in the residence of Captain Murdock, that work being done with a new set of tools (purchased by Mr. Kelsey of the late Bishop Brooks' father, who kept a hardware store on Dock Square, Boston), which was paid for in wrapping paper.
In 1833, Mr. Kelsey went to Northboro as foreman for John H. Wheeler. In 1834 he came to Boston and found employment with Mr. Ezekiel Bates, a well-known builder. Mr. Kelsey was employed first in the Old Court House, Court Square, and there he had his first experience with labor strikes. For two years he worked in the Court House and was the last carpenter employed in its completion.
Mr. Kelsey was next in the employ of the Boston & Worcester Railroad Company, and had charge of the building department, in which capacity he designed and constructed for them the permanent passenger railway station in the United States. It was located at the corner of Lincoln and Beach Streets in Boston. For the next sixteen years he was engaged in the building construction business in Boston with Mr. Ezekiel Bates and the firm were the prominent builders of that period.
Bro. Albert H. Kelsey thus carved his way through life, without influential friends or prestige, and simply by sheer hard work, indomitable perseverance, unfailing pluck and good nature elevated himself to the front rank of mechanical engineers, so that he ranked second to none of the United States as an expert authority in reference to the construction of cotton mills and hydraulic engineering.
In 1850 Mr. Kelsey went to Lewiston, ME., in the employ of the Lewiston Water Power Company, and later became its agent and superintendent. The Lewiston Journal of March 4, 1901, calls Mr. Kelsey "the father of Lewiston." He built, with a single exception, the mills and canals of that busy place, "which grew like a magic city." He laid out the streets and the Common, erected dwellings, churches, the hotel and public buildings during the seven years he was superintendent of construction and civil engineer of the Lewiston Water Power Company.
On his return to Boston, he re-entered his former business of contractor for the for the erection of large buildings with good success. In 1876, he took charge of the civil engineering and construction of the new State's Prison at Concord, and in 1880-81, erected a new cotton mill in the city of Waterville, Me. He was the superintendent of the extensive additions lately made to the State House on Beacon Hill, and superintended the erection of no less than three different buildings upon the site of this present Masonic Temple.
A list of the building operations he superintended during the last sixty-six years of his life, would include places as far west as St. Louis, as far south as Georgia, as Far East as New Brunswick, and as far north as Canada.
Mr. Kelsey was a practical and skillful builder, careful and sagacious in design, honest and thorough in execution. He carried through to complete satisfaction, works important in character, extensive in cost, and which required wise and ripe experience.
Mr. Kelsey became a member of the Washington Light Guard of Boston, and in 1838 was elected captain. He held that position five years. At the funeral of President John Quincy Adams, Captain Kelsey commanded the military escort, receiving the body at Faneuil Hall from Mayor Quincy and resigning it to the Adams family at their home in Quincy.
At the outbreak of the Mexican war, Captain Kelsey and the Washington Light Guard volunteered their services for three months, but subsequently when the requisition was countermanded and made for "three years or during the war," Company G refused to go.
When the Rebellion began in April, 1861, Captain Kelsey was in Maine, but was actively engaged in enlisting, organizing and constructing the first Maine troops sent to the war. He then commanded the Lewiston Light Infantry. Governor Washburn of Maine offered Captain Kelsey the colonelcy of the First Maine Regiment; he was elected Lieutenant-Colonel of the Third; a committee of citizens came to Boston from Portland and offered him the command of the Fifth Regiment of Maine Volunteers, all of which he felt obliged to decline for domestic reasons. He was, however, able to visit the front and one of the camps of the Army of the Potomac was named in his honor, "Camp Kelsey."
He was entrusted with the execution of two confidential commissions in the Southern States and sometimes within the Confederate lines; one by Governor Andrew to look up the condition of the colored men of those States and ascertain their fitness to enlist as United States soldiers, and the other by Senator William P. Fessenden to look after the government inspectors and the manner of the discharge of their respective duties. Mr. Kelsey was a conservative, safe man, and highly trusted as a director in financial and business corporations. He was a director of the Lewiston Bank, of the Lewiston Water Power Company and of the Hill and Bates Mills.
Brother Kelsey's Masonic experience covered a period of fifty-seven years. He was initiated, passed and raised in the Lodge of St. Andrew in 1844. He honorably filled every office in the Lodge except three, namely, Master, Secretary and Treasurer. He was chairman of the Board of Trustees of that Lodge from 1866 until his decease. He was present as acting Junior Grand Warden of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts at the laying of the corner-stone of the National Monument in Washington, D. C., July 4, 1848, and was one of the representatives of the Lodge of St. Andrew present at the dedication of that monument Feb. 21, 1885.
Brother Kelsey received the capitular degrees in St. Andrew's Royal Arch Chapter of Boston in 1845. He received the Templar orders in Boston Encampment, Knights Templars, being knighted April 15, 1846. He dimwitted and became a charter member of De Molay Commander, Knights Templars, of Boston, Oct. 10, 1848. Sir Knight Kelsey may well be called "The father of De Molay Commander."
The degrees of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite to the 32nd degree inclusive were received by him from time to time in the various bodies under the general control of Ill. Edward A. Raymond. He was created an Honorary Member of Supreme Council of Sovereign Grand Inspectors General of the 33rd and last degree of the Ancient Accepted Scottish Rite, N. M. J. U. S. A., Jan. 3, 1883.
Brother Kelsey was a representative of a generation becoming altogether too few. Deprived of his parents at an early age, entered life's battle single-handed and alone, prevented by circumstances beyond his control from obtaining a scholastic education, but blessed with health, strength and a sunny disposition, he had the elements of true success.
Unpretentious, honest, true, calm, peaceful, dignified, a gentleman always, everywhere, a brother whose spiritual life was fashioned in accordance with the designs drawn upon our sacred trestle-board, a Christian in whose daily walk were exhibited the loftiest principles of holy living: a man whose constant aim was to discharge every duty he owed his God, his country, his neighbor and himself; such a person was Ill. Bro. Albert Hannibal Kelsey, who departed this life on the 28th day of February, 1901, in the ninetieth year of his age. He lived and passed away supported by this faith.
"I hear it singing, singing sweetly,
Softly in an undertone,
Singing as if God had taught it:
'It is better farther on!'
"Night and day it brings the message,
Sings it while I sit alone;
Sings it so the heart may hear it:
'It is better farther on!'
"Sits upon its grave and sings it,
Sings it when the heart would groan;
Sings it when the shadows darken:
'It is better farther on!'
"Farther on? Oh! How much farther?
Count the milestones one by one!
No! No counting – only trusting
'It is better farther on!'
Respectfully and fraternally submitted by the committee,
KENDALL, ALBERT A. 1827-1862
From Proceedings, Page 1979-79, at the dedication of a Memorial Plaque at St. Mary's Parish Church, Newton Lower Falls, 06/10/1979:
Worshipful Albert A. Kendall, M.D.
Physician, Mason, Patriot
Albert A. Kendall was born in Vermont on March 3, 1827, and at an early age moved to Gardner, Massachusetts. He was graduated from University of New York Medical School in 1852 and two years later moved to Newton Lower Falls.
His Masonic career began in Meridian Lodge of Natick, previously of Newton, and he was raised a Master Mason on August 13, 1856. He became the first Charter Member of Dalhousie Lodge, F. & A.M. in 1860 and served as its Worshipful Master after Constitution being installed into that office on June 24, 1861.
He served until April 1862 when he enlisted in the 12th Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers of the Union Army. He was serving his country as a physician but accepted nomination for a second term as Master of his Lodge. On June 18, 1862, he was installed by proxy.
On September 17, 1862, while treating wounded from the Battle of Antietam, in Sharpsburg, Maryland, he was killed.
The Grand Master, Most Worshipful William T. Coolidge, and Wardens of Dalhousie Lodge traveled to Maryland and under a flag of truce searched for Albert Kendall's grave. They found at the head of his grave a rough board on which was inscribed in pencil,
Dr. A. A. Kendall
12th Regt. Mass. Vols.
Killed 17th Sept. 1862
The relic is in possession of the Lodge and is on display on this day in the Parish Hall.
Masons can take pride in the sacrifice of countless of their Brethren in the service of our country. In honoring Worshipful and Doctor Albert A. Kendall we honor all our Brethren who have made the supreme sacrifice.
From TROWEL, Summer 1985, Page 7:
Lodge Honors First Master
By J. Philip Berquist
His son was only an infant. His surgical practice was well underway and increasing in scope and number of patients. His contribution to his church was becoming more binding upon him in time and energy. His influence in the community was impressive for one so young. His Masonic career was beginning to blossom and his service to the fraternity was in the leadership he was providing to the membership of a young Lodge.
Yet, on Sept. 17, 1862, while treating wounded soldiers on the battlefield at Sharpsburg, MD, during the Battle of Antietam, Dr. Albert A. Kendall was killed. One of the more decisive Civil War battles had resulted in the North stopping Gen. Robert E. Lee's first invasion. The cost to both sides was heavy; 13,724 Confederates and 12,410 Union soldiers. The First Texas Regiment, with 226, lost 82% of that number.
Dr. Kendall was a charter member of Dalhousie Lodge of Newtonville, MA. He had been installed the first Worshipful Master June 24, 1861, the day the Lodge was instituted. William D. Coolidge was the Master when the Lodge began under dispensation in 1860, but he had to resign. He had been elected Grand Master of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
On June 18, 1862, Dr. Kendall was reelected and installed by proxy. He accepted the nomination by mail sent from the battle area, fully expecting the war would soon end. He apologized to the Lodge for his absence. "I should have preferred the Lodge would choose a Master who would have been with you and perform the duties of the office," he wrote. "But the Lodge has decided otherwise and I bow to the will of the majority."
Concluding that he hoped to return to Dalhousie Lodge within a few months, it is ironic that the words from that letter were read at a meeting on the very date Dr. Kendall was killed, Sept. 17, 1862. The tragic news reached Grand Master Coolidge and one Warden of the Lodge travelled to Sharpsburg and, under a flag of truce, searched for the grave of the fallen doctor. With the aid of both Northern and Southern soldiers, the grave marker was found. Written on a board by lead pencil was "Dr. A.A. Kendall, 12th Regt. Mass. Vols., killed 17th Sept. 1862." That board is now preserved in Dalhousie Lodge, under glass, so the wisdom of future generations shall find out the right.
Dr. and Bro. Kendall's body was brought back to Newtonville for burial. The Lodge was opened and a service followed in St. Mary's Episcopal Church. Grand Master Coolidge officiated at the burial in the church yard. Dalhousie Lodge remembered their Brother and on June 10, 1979, they met in the same church at Morning Prayer and rededicated the grave and headstone of Dr. Kendall.
At the invitation of Rev. Laurance Walton, church rector, the sermon was given by Rev. Arthur H. Melanson, Grand Master. Both preachers participated in the rededication ceremony, assisted by Wor. James C. Benoit, Master of Dalhousie Lodge. A new bronze plaque affixed to the 1862 headstone was unveiled and direct descendants of Dr. Kendall were present. The life of another young man cut down just when his future was blossoming. And yet, there is the simple memory of personal valor — the enduring realization that when the great challenge comes, the most ordinary people can show that they value something more than they value their own lives. Such are the memories of Memorial Day, 1985.
KENDALL, JOSEPH SEWALL 1862-1926
- MM 1884, WM 1897, 1898, Columbian
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XXII, No. 2, December 1926, Page 353:
Joseph Sewall Kendall, who until ill health about a year ago made it necessary for him to give up active business cares, was steward and purchasing agent of the State Infirmary in Tewksbury for 12 years, died Monday. Nov. 15. at his home, 36 Fern street, East Lexington, of heart disease.
He was born on Lyman Street. Boston, on July 12, 1862, the son of John T. and Susan (Reed) Kendall, and studied at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. For 23 years he was in the dry good commission business with the old David Nevins Company on Chauncy Street, Boston. Wor. Bro. Kendall was a Past Master of Columbian lodge, A. F. and A. M., Boston, and belonged to the Past Masters' Association in Boston. Besides his wife. Mrs. Bertha A. Kendall of East Lexington and Boston, he is survived by one son, Theodore R. Kendall of South Nyack, N. Y.. and also by two granddaughters.
The funeral was held Wednesday afternoon, Nov. 17. in the Eastman Chapel, 896 Beacon Street, Boston, at 2 o'clock, interment being in Mount Auburn cemetery, Cambridge.
KENDALL, WILLIAM HENRY BOSWORTH 1871-1935
FROM COUNCIL OF DELIBERATION, 1936
From Proceedings of the Massachusetts Council of Deliberation AASR NMJ 1936, Page 57:
Illustrious Brother Kendall was born in Fall River, Massachusetts, on May 7, 1871, and died at his home, 213 Madison Street, Fall River, Massachusetts, on November 3, 1935.
He was the son of Dr. James A. and Mary Elizabeth (Bosworth) Kendall and was educated in the Public Schools of Fall River, graduating from the B. M. C. Durfee High School in 1888.
Upon leaving school, he was employed for a short time as Clerk in the office of the Seaconnet Mill, then as Teller in the Union Savings Bank, and later bookkeeper for the lumber yard of Philip H. Borden and Company. In April, 1901, Brother Kendall and two of the other employees formed the Borden, Gainey & Kendall Lumber Company, with Brother Kendall as Treasurer, which position he held until his death.
Brother Kendall was married on June 27, 1893, to Elizabeth Dunham Pearce, who, with a son and daughter, still survives him.
His Masonic Record is as follows:
- Received the degree of Master Mason in King Philip Lodge on September 11, 1906, and was Master in 1912 and had just completed twenty-two years as its Secretary at the time of his death.
- Received the Royal Arch degree in Fall River Royal Arch Chapter on February 4, 1907, and was High Priest in 1920.
- Received the Super-Excellent Master degree in Fall River Council of Royal and Select Masters on May 13, 1913, and was Illustrious Master in 1921.
- He was Knighted in Godfrey dc Bouillon Commandery No. 25, K. T„ on January 14, 1914, and was Eminent Commander in 1921.
- In the Scottish Rite, he received the Fourteenth Degree in Fall River Lodge of Perfection on December 12, 1911, and was its Thrice Potent Master in 1919, 1920 and 1921. He received the Sixteenth Degree in Samuel C. Lawrence Council Princes of Jerusalem on April 9, 1912, and was Sovereign Prince in 1925, The Eighteenth Degree in Saint Andrew Chapter of Rose Croix on January 27, 1913, and the Thirty-second Degree, Sublime Prince of the Royal Secret in Massachusetts Consistory of Boston, Massachusetts, on April 24, 1914, and was its District Representative in the Valley 0f Fall River for several years.
- He received the Thirty-third Degree of Sovereign Grand Inspector General, Honorary Member of the Supreme Council, in the city of Boston on September 20, 1927.
The funeral service was held in the parlors of the Central Congregational Church in Fall River on Wednesday, November 6, 1935, at two o’clock in the afternoon, and it was attended by a large number of his Masonic Brethren, friends, and business associates, many of whom came from out of the city. There was a profusion of floral tributes. Burial was in Oak Grove Cemetery, Fall River, Massachusetts, King Philip Lodge, A. F. & A. M„ conducting the ritual at the grave.
Adrial W. Hathaway, 32°,
William Ridings, 32°,
William F. Thomas, Jr., 32°,
KENNEDY, PETER JAMES 1939-2008
- MM 1975, WM 1979, 1980, Waltham
Peter J. Kennedy, 69, died of cancer at the Ozark Care Center, Osage Beach, Missouri on Thursday, May 22, 2008.
He was born in New York, NY on February 1, 1939, the first of four sons of Lois M. Essenwein of Davenport, Iowa and George E. Kennedy of Middleboro, MA.
Peter grew up in Charlotte, NC, Norwood, MA, Rockford, IL and Stamford, CT, graduating from Stamford High School in 1956. He earned the B.A.(1960) and M.A. (1963) degrees in music education from the University of Connecticut, Storrs and took a position as a music teacher and choral director at JFK Junior High School and later at Waltham High School, Waltham, MA. He taught music, conducted choral groups, and produced choral recitals, concerts, and musical comedies for 19 years in Waltham. During that time, he was president of the local organization of the National Education Association and was Past Master of the Waltham Masonic Lodge. He also directed the choir of the First Lutheran Church of Waltham for several years. His former students in Waltham remember him as their best supporter, promoter, and mentor, challenging them to do work they never thought they could achieve.
In 1982, Peter moved to Sarasota, FL to care for his mother in the last years of her life. He held positions there as business manager of the New College Music Festival and traffic and information manager for Fluor Daniel (now Fluor Corporation). Fluor later transferred him to Dayton, OH where he completed a contract with them and then moved on to provide office managing and accounting skills to several area businesses in Dayton and Miamisburg, OH. In 2005, he moved for the last time to Eldon, MO to be nearer his brother, Bruce, and his family. He worked for over a year in the auditing and bookkeeping area of Tan-Tar-A Resort in Osage Beach.
Peter had numerous interests and skills he taught himself over his adult life, ranging from carpentry and woodworking to cooking and catering to accounting and information management. But music and teaching were his first and enduring interests, and he touched many lives with them. He was a man of strong opinions, held in a gentle heart.
His parents and his brother, William, predeceased him; he is survived by his brothers, George, of Pullman, WA and Bruce, of Osage Beach, MO and by six nieces and nephews.
KENNY, MIAH GABRIEL 1837-1923
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XVIII, No. 10, July 1923, Page 316:
Miah G. Kenny, senior trustee of the James L. Little estate of Boston, of which the Little building is a part, died Tuesday, July 10, at his home, 51 Munro street, Sonierville, Mass. Funeral services were held at his home Friday at 2 P. M. The Rev. Dr. R. Perry Bush officiated, burial being in the family lot at Mt. Auburn Cemetery.
Bro. Kenny was born in Ireland, February 6, 1837, and as a boy learned the trade of soap and candle maker. When 18 years old he went to St. John's, N, B., and a few years afterward came to Boston. Here he entered the employ of James L. Little, then agent for the Pacific Mills of Lawrence, as shipping clerk. He was active in the Little interests until shortly before his death, when he visited his office for the last time.
He was for 30 years treasurer of John Abbot Lodge, and was a member of Orient Council, DeMolay Commandery, K. T. Ho was also an honorary member of Gettysburg Post, G. A. R., of Boston, and was for some years a warden of St. Thomas's Episcopal Church, Somerville. Surviving him are a son, William Rogers Kenny, a daughter, Miss Ellen B. Kenny, and a brother, John B. Kenny, now 82 years old. His wife died about 20 years ago.
KENT, WILLIAM H. 1823-1889
- MM 1860, WM 1866, St. John's (Boston)
- Charter Member 1869, WM 1868-69, Faith
- Grand Chorister 1863-1866
- DDGM, Charlestown 2, 1873-1874
From Liberal Freemason, Vol. XII, No. 11, February 1889, Page 343:
Sterne tells us that "Death opens the gate of fame, and shuts the gate of envy after it, it unlooses the chain of the captive, and puts the bondsman's task into another man's hands," and Bruyere says, "Death never happens but once, yet we feel it every moment of our lives. It is worse to apprehend than to suffer."
When death comes into our midst and within the same week takes from the Grand Commandery of Massachusetts and Rhode Island, a Past Grand Generalissimo and a Past Grand Commander, the members of that body feel more as though they would gather together and say "Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me; for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I take my refuge until these calamities be overpast."
The business life of William H. Kent was passed in the city of Boston, where he was known and respected in mercantile and insurance circles as an honorable and fair-minded man. His home had been in Charlestown, where the citizens trusted him and called him into service in their behalf in various places of honor and of trust. Under that city government he was an alderman four years, and mayor in 1870, '71 and '72. In 1874 Charlestown having been united with Boston, he was elected to the common council of the latter, was made Chairman of the first board of license commissioners and for four years was one of the trustees of the city hospital, and president of the board during a part of the term. In all of these places he was recognized as being energetic, upright and devoted to the public good.
Mr. Kent was born in Duxbury, Mass., March 21, 1823, but by reason of removal was educated in the public schools of Boston, and in 1836 while attending the Mayhew School he received the Franklin Medal.
He was made a Mason in St. John's Lodge in Boston, something over twenty-eight years ago, became a member of the Lodge, October 1, 1860; was its Master in 1866, and was elected an Honorary Member, February 4, 1867.
In 1868 he became a Charter member of Faith Lodge, in Charlestown, and was its first Worshipful Master. He was District Deputy Grand Master of the 2d Masonic District in 1875, in the Jurisdiction of the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts. In February, 1869, he withdrew from St. Paul's Chapter in Boston to become a Charter member of the Chapter of the Signet in Charlestown. He received the degrees in Boston Council of Royal and Select Masters, in 1863, but never became actively identified as a ritualist in either Chapter or Council. In 1860 he received the orders of Knighthood in Boston Commandery, held office in it, but in October, 1871, became a petitioner for CceurdeLion Commandery in Charlestown, and was its first Eminent Commander. In the Grand Commandery of Massachusetts and Rhode Island, he was Grand Generalissimo two years, Deputy Grand Commander one year, and R. E. Grand Commander two years, ending in 1882, and it seems almost needless to say that he was always a dignified, conscientious and affable official.
Opinions he certainly had but they were grounded in knowledge, and always formed with deliberation, especially if the subject matter demanded it. He possessed also, the courage of his convictions, without rashness, but subordinate only to wider interests than those presented in the immediate issue. He was not, as may be inferred, a demonstrative man, but was of kindly disposition, well disposed toward his fellows, an agreeable companion and associate, a sound adviser, a good friend, and necessarily, a true Sir Knight. In a quiet way he was social, enjoyed amusement more as a looker-on than as an active participant. This feature in his character found expression in connection with his membership in the Nine Hundred and Ninety-ninth Artillery, a noted local organization, supported by many of the leading and influential citizens of Charlestown.
During his life men thought of him as a familiar figure, and a leading one wherever he appeared, whose presence carried force with him. He had been conspicious and approved in so many ways, that this very familiarity seemed to dwarf the respect in which he was held ; but now that he has gone from among men, the death so unwelcome to all who knew him, has "opened the gate of fame, and shut the gate of envy after it." To some extent he had been captive for several years to the pains that finally removed him. While Grand Commander he felt compelled to restrain his inclination to participate in proffered festivities and hospitalities with Sir Knights and Commandries because of this, but few complaints were known to escape from him. The chain, however, has been unloosed, and the bondsman's task is put in another man's hand.
The death which he had no doubt apprehended, and for reasons outside of himself he may have felt every moment of his life, though be knew it could come but once, came at last somewhat suddenly; and painful as it was to wife and daughter whom he has left, to neighbors and friends also ; the apprehension of it was harder to bear than the suffering that attended departure.
The funeral services were quietly conducted at his family's request, in his late home, where the body lay surrounded by flowers, in the presence of many friends, a detachment of his Commandery, the Grand Commander and officers of the Grand Commandery, all of whom felt that in committing " eartli to earth," they had evidence of the return of the spirit of William H. Kent, "unto God who gave it."
KERR, WILLIAM 1830-1906
- MM 1876, Joseph Warren
From New England Craftsman, Vol. II, No. 3, December 1906, Page 116:’’
Brother William Kerr, a member of Joseph Warren Lodge, Boston, Mass. died December 1, aged 76 years. He was born in Scotland and came to this country over a half-century ago. Mr. Kerr was one of the founders of the Boston Caledonian Club, and at the time of his death was the oldest living ex-chief of the clnb.
KIDDER, CHARLES WINSLOW 1861-1927
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XXIII, No. 2, December 1927, Page 35:
The Masonic fraternity paid an unusual tribute when representatives of various branches journeyed to North Easton, Mass., Friday, Dec. 9, for the funeral of Professor Charles W. Kidder, prominent in the craft and for forty-five years connected with Emerson College. The services were held in the Unity Church, with Rev. R. C. Leonard officiating, and officers of De Molay Commandory conducting the rites of that organization, of which Professor Kidder was a former commander. James Dalton was in charge of the Masonic service and was assisted by Em. Sir Walter A. Smith.
In the group of pallbearers were T. Frederick Brunton, Worshipful Master of Mt. Lebanon Lodge, A. F. and A. M.; Robert Chase, of Euclid Lodge, of which Professor Kidder was secretary; William M. Call, high priest of St. Andrew's Royal Arch Chapter; Edgar S. Evans of De Molay Commandery; Elmer C. Humphrey, representing the Scottish Rite bodies; Clarence E. Burleigh, deputy grand commander, representing the Grand Commandery of Massachusetts and Rhode Island; Leon Allen, representing Aleppo Temple, Mystic Shrine; and Dean Harry S. Glass, representing the faculty of Emerson College. The body was cremated at Forest Hills.
KIMBALL, HARRY W. 1861-1934
From Proceedings, Page 1934-226:
Right Worshipful Brother Kimball was born in Westboro August 11, 1861, and died there December 2, 1934.
Brother Kimball was educated in the Westboro schools and was engaged in the coal and wood business in Westboro and Worcester. He was Town Treasurer for many years, resigning in 1918 to become Treasurer of the Westboro Savings Bank.
Brother Kimball took his degrees in Siloam Lodge in 1904 and was its Master in 1914. He served as District Deputy Grand Master for the Natick Twenty-third Masonic District in 1926 and 1927, by appointment of Most Worshipful Frank L. Simpson. He was a member of Houghton Royal Arch Chapter, of Worcester County Commandery, and of the several bodies of the Scottish Rite in Worcester, and of Massachusetts Consistory in Boston.
So passes another worthy Brother, full of years and honors.
KIMBALL, JAMES 1808-1880
FROM LIBERAL FREEMASON, 1880
From Liberal Freemason, Vol. IV, No. 9, December 1880, Page 268:
In the year 1808, in Salem, Massachusetts, James Kimball was born, and where also, after a period of seventy-two years, he died on the morning of November 29th last, respected, honored and beloved.
For the last fifty years his life has been interwoven with the history of Salem, and the two are so closely connected, that a truthful sketch of one would necessarily illumine that of the other. In his earlier years he was actively engaged in the chair business; served his townsmen in the Legislature in 1845 and 1846, was a member of the School Committee for many years, served in the Common Council from 1839 to 1843, and again in 1854; in the Board of Aldermen in i860, and again in 1880, his term being unexpired at the time of his death. In i860, he was elected a County Commissioner of Essex County, and was re-elected five times for periods of three years each.
He took an active and intelligent interest in such local institutions as were supported by the people, was in his youth and apprenticeship, Librarian of the Salem Charitable Mechanic Association, and was subsequently its Secretary, Director, and President, successively. Vice President also of the Salem Lyceum, Trustee of Plummer Farm School, Captain for several years of the Salem Mechanic Light Infantry, and President of the Naumkeag Fire Club; he was singularly sincere in all places, and for forty-six years was a faithful member of the Crombie Street Church, where the purity of his life and character, as in all else, added lustre also to his religion.
As an antiquarian he had justly acquired considerable note, and was possessed of much information on the colonial and early history of Salem difficult to find elsewhere. For many years, he was an active member of the Essex Institute, was its Curator of History, and had contributed to its files many valuable papers. At the time of his death, and long prior, he as engaged in collecting material for a complete history of the privateering enterprise of Salem during the war of the Revolution.
At a meeting of the Board of Aldermen held on the evening of the day of his death, a series of resolutions were adopted which happily express the testimony of his fellows, and which we quote:
In Council, Salem, Nov, 29, 1880.
Resolved, That in the death of Alderman James Kimball, at the ripe age of seventy-two years, the City of Salem is called upon to part with one more of a class of her citizens, admirable alike in their private and public relations, whom she can ill afford to spare.
Entering the City Council more, than forty years ago, in the early days of our municipal organization, he has been called at short intervals, ever since, to one position or another of trust and honor. During all the years of his manhood, whatever has touched the interests of Salem, has touched him, and it would be hard to point to any public movement, whether it be educational, reformatory, political, industrial or social, which has enlisted the efforts of our worthiest citizens and has not owed something to his energy, intelligence or cheerful contributions of time and means.
Resolved, That while it would be impossible to close an official connection with our late colleague, marked on his part with such uniform urbanity of bearing, such intelligence, insight and fidelity to every trust, without a formal recognition of these admirable qualities, we desire that the record may none the less evince the sincere regard we feel at the loss of one who has been faithful in friendship, honorable in every relation of life, prompt in charity, wise in counsel, and full of good works. Such a career as that just closed goes far to illustrate the grand possibilities of American citizenship, and to round out the measure of a useful life.
The attention of the deceased was first attracted by Odd Fellowship, and he entered that society in 1843, in which he soon obtained official rank. In 1851 he was made a Mason, advanced from grade to grade through the York and Scottish Rites, until in 1875, he was elected to receive the 33d degree.
He appeared in the Grand Chapter in 1855 as Grand Master of the Second Veil, pro tem, being then King of Washington Chapter, and retired from the position of its High Priest about the time of his election to the office of Grand High Priest, which occurred September 13th, 1859. This place he held for the constitutional term of three years, and to it he was promoted from the office of Grand Scribe.
In his last annual address, made in September; 1862, he recognized die importance of a Committee on Foreign Correspondence, and in reference to the report of a sister body he said: "From this report I have learned more about Royal Arch Masonry in other Jurisdictions, than from all other sources." His recommendation on this matter was adopted, and he became, by the appointment of his successor, the first Committee on Foreign Correspondence of this Grand Chapter.
The interest of this brother in Masonry never abated, and neither Rite or Grade was by him neglected. He was one of the Founders of Starr King Lodge, and of Salem Lodge of Perfection; of the latter he was its late Secretary. In Cryptic Masonry he was a sound advisor, and did what he could to advance its welfare; he also served the Grand Council as R. P. Grand Master in 1862.
It is not necessary that a character like his should be magnified by a repetition of the offices he held in Masonry, nor of the many ways in which he served the Society. That lie was in harmony with its principles we know, and happily did he illustrate them. For forty years it had been his practice to regularly set aside a certain percentage of his income for distribution in charitable purposes, and his regret to a leading clergyman of Salem, a Mason also, was, that for a few years past that income having fallen off, his ability to do more had been reduced with il. but, said the minister, he never turned us away empty, and always said, "if that will not do, come again."
To such men society is indebted for what is humane, charitable, and Christian in it, but little does it know how much these are inspired -by the tenets of a Masonic profession.
The life of James Kimball is a benediction to his fellows, Masonic or profane, the testimony to which is, that his brethren who knew him best, loved him most.
On Wednesday, the first day of winter, through a heavy storm, his brethren followed him to the grave; there in the cemetery of his choice, amid the cold and storm, the funeral services were performed by Starr King Lodge according to the custom of the Freemasons, and the silence was broken only by the sighs of the wind and of the mourners.
The surrounding trees stretched out their bare arms to catch the thickly falling snow, the apron and the evergreen were dropped in the presence of tears, and with averted eyes the brethren turned their faces homeward, feeling that the whiteness of the soul departed was faintly represented in that of the mantle then falling upon the shrouded earth.
FROM COUNCIL OF DELIBERATION, 1881
From Proceedings of the Massachusetts Council of Deliberation AASR NMJ, 1881, Page 27:
The whitened grain is cut down by the sickle of the reaper, and no one asks the question, Why do you this? The mellow fruit is plucked from the bough, and gathered into the treasury of wealth and use.
Our Ill. Bro. James Kimball was, like the grain, whitened and ready for the reaper Death: like the fruit of luscious pulp and golden with the sunlight, ready to be garnered into the treasure-house of heavenly societies. The death of our lamented friend, after a life of more than threescore and ten years, full of useful labor, of kindly influence and of inspiring charity, is not to be received as an occasion of questioning or relenting, but as the beautiful and appropriate fulfillment and finish of an earthly career that had been inspired by a spirit so pure and holy, that it was
"made immortal on the day
It ceased the dusty grains of time to weigh.”
James Kimball was born in Salem, Massachusetts, October 14, 1808, and died in the same city, November 29, 1880, at the ripe age of 72 years 1 month and 15 days. He was the son of James Kimball and Catharine, born Russell. He was educated fit the public schools of his native city, entering the Salem Latin School in January, 1819, continuing his classical studies until April, 1822. The death of his father in 1821 brought his contemplated curriculum of education to a premature close.
Immediately upon leaving school he commenced the trade of a cabinet maker, with Mr. Thomas Needham of Salem, in whose employ and under whose instruction he served a full apprenticeship in accordance with the usage of the times, until he was 21 years of age, and then entered into a copartnership with his employer Needham, continuing a prosperous business for twelve years. At the end of this time he took the business on his own account, adding to it the specialty of manufacturing chairs for the foreign and domestic trade. In this enterprise he was eminently successful, until the transfer of the commercial industries of Salem to the ports of Boston and New York, had converted this thriving and busy town and port into what its name prefigured, the “City of Peace.” In i860 he closed up his commercial business, and was elected one of the Commissioners for the County of Essex, and in this capacity served his fellow-citizens for six successive terms of three years each, and until December 21, 1878. This repeated endorsement of his fidelity by the suffrages of his constituents at the polls is of itself a sufficient meed of praise, and assures us that he was honest and equitable in his decisions, and faithful and cautious in the demarcation and allotment of the rights of the parties whose interests were submitted to his consideration. For the last ten years of this long service he was made chairman of the board.
His sound wisdom and practical judgment were repeatedly and in many ways invoked to advance and further the interests of his native town and city, after that town had grown to the dignity of a municipal incorporation. For many years he served with efficiency as a member of her School Committee, having the supervision of all grades of her public education. For the years 1839, ’40, ’41, ’42 and ’43, and again for 1855, he was an influential member of the Common Council; and for 1857, and again for the year 1880, he was charged with the duties of Alderman of the city. In 1855, by the concurrent action of the two branches of the City Government of Salem, he was elected one of the Corporators and Trustees of the Plummer Farm School for Boys, in Salem, founded under a bequest of Miss Catharine Plummer of that city, and continued to be re-elected to that trust until 1880. In 1S30 he was admitted a member of the Salem Charitable Mechanic Association, and remained throughout his life a zealous friend of the institution, and an active worker in all its affairs, but especially in the establishment and growth of their present valuable library. In 1825 he was elected its librarian, being as yet but 17 years old, and served in that capacity for 16 years. He was also successively secretary, director, and president of the association, filling the last-named office for the three years, 1856, ’57 and ’58.
He was one of the board of managers of the Salem Lyceum from 1857 to 1867, and vice-president of the corporation from 1867 to 1879. From 1850 he was an active member of the Essex Institute, contributing many interesting historical papers for the historical collection of the Institute,—was elected its Curator of History in 1876, ’77 and ’78, and often gave familiar lectures before that body on the earlier annals of his native city.
Early interested in military matters, he enlisted in 1832 in the Salem Mechanic Light Infantry, served in all the subordinate grades, and as captain from the year 1838 to 1842, when he resigned.
He also represented his city in the Massachusetts Legislature, in the years 1845, 1846 and 1857, serving especially upon the Committees on Military Affairs, and Public Charitable Institutions.
He was at the time of his last sickness and death still busy in the arduous and absorbing labors of an alderman, and it is not surprising that in the recognition of a public career so long, busy, various and faithful, the City Government of which he was a member should express such generous praise as is found in the following resolutions adopjed by them : —
“Resolved, That in the death of Alderman James Kimball, at the ripe age of seventy-two years, the City of Salem is called upon to part with one more of a class of her citizens, admirable alike in their private and public relations, whom she can ill afford to spare. Entering the City Council more than forty years ago, in the early days of our municipal organization, he has been called at short intervals, ever since, to one position or another of trust and honor. During all the years of his manhood, whatever has touched the interests of Salem has touched him, and it would be hard to point to any public movement, whether it be educational, reformatory, political, industrial or social, which has enlisted the efforts of our worthiest citizens and has not owed something to his energy, intelligence, or cheerful contributions of time and means.
“Resolved, That while it would be impossible to close an official connection with our late colleague, marked on his part with such uniform urbanity of bearing, such intelligence, insight and fidelity to every trust, without a formal recognition of these admirable qualities, we desire that the record may none the less evince the sincere regard we feel at the loss of one who has been faithful in friendship, honorable in every relation of life, prompt in charity, wise in counsel, and full of good works. Such a career as that just closed goes far to illustrate the grand possibilities of American citizenship, and to round out the measure of a useful life.”
In 1858 he was appointed by Gov. Banks the Agent of the Commonwealth to receive in charge the Essex Bridge, (situated between Salem and Beverly,) whose charter had expired by limitation, and to manage its affairs on behalf of the State, till such time as it should be laid out as a public highway, which was done by order of the Legislature in 1868.
Our I11. Bro. Kimball was a man of decided and aggressive political principles. On arriving of age he espoused the doctrines of the National Republicans, so called, and of the same party under the name of Whig, continuing an active and zealous worker in their ranks, until the division which took place in 1848, upon the doctrines of Anti Slavery. At once and with energy he took his place with the new party, who were called by their opponents “Conscience Whigs,” but by themselves “Freesoilers.”
He was elected chairman of the first Freesoil County Committee of the County of Essex, and in 1849 a member also of the State Committee, and served on both boards so long as that organization continued its independent existence. To promote the faith and progress of the new party Bro. Kimball was largely instrumental in the establishment of the Freesoil newspaper, called the Essex County Freeman, the first number of which was issued August 1, 1849, under the editorial management of Gilbert L. Streeter, Esquire. This journal was ably supported by the wealth and the talent of the prominent leaders of the new party in the county, and continued to disseminate its faith until 1854, when the union of the Freesoilers with the Free Democracy terminated its mission. Its business affairs for the last two years of its existence were conducted by our Brother. Upon the organization of the Republican party in Salem, our 111.-. Bro.-. was elected chairman of the City Committee, in 1857.
James Kimball was also a consistent Christian, abounding in charity, and taking deep pleasure in doing all that lay in his power to benefit the poor and distressed. For many years, a stated percentage of his income was sacredly devoted to charitable purposes. His religious connections were with the Crombie Street Congregational Church, of which he was for 46 years an able and valued member.
James Kimball June 26, 1834, was married to Maria Giddings Putnam, by whom he had five children, one of whom died young, and the other four, three daughters and one son, survive him. His first wife deceased April 28, 1833, and on January 13, 1861, he married for a second wife Ruth Putnam Stevens, who also survives him, to mourn the loss of his strong wisdom, his tender and abiding love, his faithful, constant and sufficient support.
The attention of our Brother was first attracted by Odd Fellowship, and he became a charter member of the first lodge of that Order instituted in Salem, November 6, 1843, and called the Essex Lodge No. 26. Me was elected its Noble Grand, April 1, 1844. He was a petitioner also for Fraternity Lodge No. 118, in 1846, to be located in Salem, and served as its first presiding head. In June, 1846, he received the Patriarchal Degree, in Trimount Encampment, in Boston. He was initiated into the sublime mysteries of Ancient Craft Masonry in Essex Lodge F. and A. M., in June, 1851. From this Lodge he dimitted in 1871, and was elected to membership in Starr King Lodge in 1873.
The Capitular degrees were conferred upon him in Washington R. A. Chapter of Salem, in May, 1855. In the following June he was elected Excellent King, and subsequently exalted to the dignity of High Priest, in which office he ably served his Companions in the years 1856 and ’57, and again in 1863, ’64 and ’65. In the interim of this service, he was elected Grand Scribe of the Grand R. A. Chapter of Massachusetts for 1858, and Most Excellent Grand High Priest for the constitutional term of three years, covering the years 1859, i860 and 1861. It was to his suggestion, adopted by the Grand Body, that we are indebted for the Committee on Foreign Correspondence; and our I11. Bro. was, by his successor, made the first incumbent of that honorable office.
The Cryptic degrees he received in Boston Council of R. and S. Masters, in May, 1861, and was elected M. I. Grand Master of the Grand Council of Massachusetts in 1862.
The orders of Knighthood were conferred upon him by Winslow Lewis Commandery K. T. in November, 1866, and he was elected and served as the Treasurer of that Body from 1867 until the time of his death.In the latter part of 1862, and the early part of 1863, Ill. Bro. Kimball was enlightened in all the Degrees of the Ancient and Accepted Scotch Rite, in the Boston Lodge of Perfection, Boston Council Princes of Jerusalem, Mount Olivet Chapter of Rose Croix, and Boston Sovereign Consistory. He afterwards became a Life-Member of the Massachusetts Consistory.
At the organization of Sutton Grand Lodge of Perfection in Salem, April 3, 1864, he was elected its Thrice Potent Grand Master, which office he held until March, 1871, when he declined in favor of Ill. Bro\ George H. Peirson, and accepted the office of Grand Secretary, K. S. and A, of which office he was the incumbent when he died.He was made Honorary Member of Washington R. A. Chapter in 1866, a Permanent Member of the Grand R. A. Chapter of Mass. in 1858, and a Permanent Member of the Grand Council of R. and S. Masters, and of the General Grand R. A. Chapter of the U. S.
He was created an Honorary Member of the Supreme Council of Sow. Gr. Ins. Gen., of the 33° and last degree, Northern Jurisdiction, at the annual session held in New York City, in August, 1876.
And now this long and busy life is done; its trusts closed; its cares ended; its duties laid aside; its records sealed; its pains assuaged; its fears composed; and all the myriad things that "Twixt sun and sword" have made it useful, lovely, honest, and of good report, are gathered as the ripened grain into the granary where all the treasures of the past are stored. "Death's mild curfew have from work assoiled,“ and our Ill, Brother now, as a messenger gone before,
With inverted torch doth stand,
To lead us with a gentle hand,
Into the land of the great departed
Into the silent land."
Respectfully and fraternally submitted,
Edwin Wright, 32°,
E. A. Annable, 16°
KIMBALL, JOHN TREADWAY 1840-1913
- MM 1866, Joseph Warren
From New England Craftsman, Vol. VIII, No. 5, February 1913, Page 163:
John Treadway Kimball, Senior Thrice Illustrious Master of Boston Council of Roysl and Select Masters, died Friday, February 7th at the age of 72, after a prolonged illness.
Brother Kimball was connected with Freemasonry in Craft, Capitular, Cryptic, Templar and Scottish Rite, and had in some way done service for each. He became known to thousands of the fraternity through his service as tyler of several bodies, having filled that station nearly twenty years for one or more of the bodies. Among others he was tyler for Grand Chapter and Grand Council of Massachusetts.
Brother Kimball was a man not only well known but well liked. He was modest and courteous, faithful in performance of every trust. His Masonic career covered more than forty-six years. He leaves behind a good record of duty well done.
His funeral was held in Masonic Temple, Monday, February 10th. DeMolay Commandery, of which he was a member, conducted the impressive Templar burial service. Vocal music was furnished by the Schubert Quartet.
KIMBALL, OTIS FREEMAN 1856-1928
- MM 1899, Columbian
From New England Craftsman, Vol. XXIII, No. 5, April 1928, Page 116:
Funeral services for Otis F. Kimball, retired deputy police superintendent of Boston, were held at the Greenwood Memorial Methodist Episcopal Church, Dorchester, recently. The services were held under the auspices of the officers of Columbian Lodge of Masons, with Dr. R. C. Jamieson, worshipful Master, and the Rev. George J. Prescott of Cambridge, Chaplain, officiating. Police Commissioner Herbert A. Wilson and Superintendent Michael H. Crowley and other members of the department attended. The honorary pallbearers included: Deputy Superintendent Thomas C. Evans, Deputy Superintendent Thomas F. Goode, Capt. A. Bruce McConnel], Capt. Jeremiah F. Gallivan, Capt. James MeDevitt and Capt. Herbert W. Goodwin. Burial was at Mt. Hope Cemetery.
KIMPTON, DAN J. 1874-1933
From Proceedings, Page 1934-20:
Brother Kimpton was born in Malone, New York, October 30, 1874, and died in Springfield, December 16, 1933.
Going to Springfield as a boy, he was educated in the Springfield schools and in Wilbraham Academy. After a period in the offices of the Boston & Albany Railroad, he entered the service of the Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company, where he remalned until his death.
Brother Kimpton became a member of Roswell Lee Lodge in l902 and was its Master in 1911. He was District Deputy Grand Master for the Thirty-third Masonic District in 1914 and 1915, by appointment of Most Worshipful Melvin M. Johnson.
Brother Kimpton was a member of all the Masonic bodies in Springfield; and Secretary of all the Scottish Rite bodies except Connecticut Valley Consistory.
Brother Kimpton served Masonry because he loved it. He had a high appreciation of its principles and exemplified them in his daily life. His official activities brought.him into personal contact with great numbers of the Brethren and won him universal respect and affection. In his passing the Fraternity suffers a great loss.
KING, LEANDER G. 1830-1863
- MM 1858, St. Paul (Groton)
- Charter Member of Caleb Butler Lodge
Killed in the battle of Gettysburg, Pa. July 2d, 1863, Bro. Leander G. King, Capt. of Company C, 16th regt. Massachusetts Volunteers.
Bro. King received the three degrees of Freemasonry in St. Paul's Lodge, Groton Centre, during the year 1858, and subsequently became a member of that Lodge. In March, 1859, he was one of the petitioners for Caleb Butler Lodge, at Groton Junction; afterwards became a member, and remained a firm supporter of the Lodge while he lived. Soon after the commencement of the present war, Br. King commenced raising a company in this place to aid in suppressing the rebellion. His kind and courteous deportment enabled him to rapidly recruit a Company, mostly from Groton and Westford, who remained devotedly attached to him to the day of bis death. Our Brother was a superior drill officer, having had some experience in that capacity, in one of the Cambridge companies some years since. He, with his company, had been in from fifteen to twenty battles and skirmishes, previous to the battle of Gettysburg, in which bis bearing and conduct, as an officer, had received the commendation of his superiors. Previous to the departure of the regiment for the seat of war, Bro. King was honored by M. W. Bro. Coolidge in being appointed Master of the Army Lodge connected with the 16th regt., and, though the Lodge held but few meetings, his conduct afforded no reproach to the high position to which he had been called by that appointment. His remains were recovered by Bro. O. N. Wing, and returned to his home in Groton, Junction, where they were deposited in their final resting place, with Masonic honors, by the Brethren of Caleb Butler Lodge.
KING, LOUIS CAMERON 1896-1991
- MM 1951, WM 1969, 1975, Mizpah
- Member 1962, Frank W. Thompson
- WM 1975, Faith
- Member 1976, WM 1978, Lodge of Eleusis
Quietly, in his 95th year, Wor. Louis Cameron King died Sept. 5th. He had been a resident of our Masonic Home for several years. In his room, which he shared with another Brother. Lou had his old battered typewriter, books were piled up by the window, and others were stacked on the floor. He had been hopeful that when he entered the Home he might be able to do some writing for TROWEL. But time does things to all of us and he just never got back his literary ability. All of which has been unfortunate for our readers.
Lou King should have been, and could have been, an asset to any newsroom that liked to hire honest reporters. Like his style or not, he wrote it and told it like it really was. The truth often hurts, but men like Lou could and would back up their statements whenever anybody was foolish enough to challenge him. He was a machinist who learned to write; self-styled as we call it. But, he left a book every Mason-particularly officers in line-ought to read. Clap and Cheer. Some of it is about himself, and most of it is just good common sense for a Mason to use as a rule and guide. Clap and Cheer may be procured from the Grand Lodge Library.
Born in Cambridgeport in 1896, he was educated in the schools in and around Boston. He entered Boston's Mechanical Arts High School, flunked the first year, flunked the second year, and was told to go to work. "The headmaster told me I was immune to education," he told it. He said his father was a "blue bellied" New Hampshire Yankee out of England near 1650 and his mother was Highland Scottish, born in Prince Edward Island. He was the son of Charles P. and Jesse (Buchanan) King. He served a hitch in the Navy during World War I and re-enlisted in 1920. He claimed, "I had an undistinguished career." He received a medical discharge because he had "an incurable sinus that might shorten his life." He fooled a lot of people. They didn't really know Lou King.
He was a machinist in the Boston Navy Yard during World War II. One son enlisted in the Army Air Corps, the other in the Navy. Lou met many Masons, but nobody could tell him how to become one. He sought admission and was accepted in Faith Lodge. Charlestown (now Mizpah-Faith of Cambridge) in 1951. "I received little in instruction, so purchased one of those little black books, learned to interpret the code, and eventually taught candidates." His wife died in 1957. In 1965, after serving as Chaplain, he started as Senior Deacon, reaching the Oriental Chair four years later. In 1974 he was Master of Mizpah and Faith Lodges. "We all survived," and in 1977, at age 81, he was persuaded - not too willingly - to take the East of the Lodge of Eleusis which was barely clinging to life. He was presented the Distinguished Service Medal in 1974.
In 1982 C. Weston Dash, the recently retired Secretary of the Maine Lodge of Research, first met Lou King and picked up a boxful of typescript papers Lou had written. They were all published and Bro. Dash compiled them to publish the book Clap and Cheer. Not bad for a kid who couldn't make it in high school. His regret? That TROWEL hadn't been published earlier in life so he could write for it. Lou also fathered two girls, one with whom he lived with in Maine for a few years. His earthly remains were laid to rest in an Auburn cemetery.
KING, RUFUS 1755-1827
From TROWEL, Winter 2008, Page 2:
Rufus King: Statesman, Public Servant and Masonic Brother
by Rt. Wor. David A. Schofield
It’s ironic that history has passed by this great man. Historians credit men who became president, not the others who worked so diligently in the formation of our country.
Rufus King, an American statesman, was born in Scarborough, Maine, (then Massachusetts), on March 24, 1755. He was sent to Governor Dummer Academy in South Byfield at age twelve, worked his way through school, and graduated from Harvard College in 1777.
While at Harvard he became interested in the law and studied under one of the best, Theophilus Parsons of Newburyport. The young man did so well that in 1780, he was admitted to the Massachusetts Bar, opened a law office in Newburyport, and served on a commission that helped settle the boundary dispute between New York and Massachusetts.
Considered “a man of business, a ready debater, and a pleasing orator,” he possessed great abilities and was an eloquent speaker with a sweet, clear voice. Those abilities soon vaulted him into the spotlight, and in 1783 he became a legislator in the Massachusetts General Court.
In 1784, Rufus King was elected as a Massachusetts delegate to the Second Continental Congress, a post he held for three years. During this time, he became a great friend of Alexander Hamilton and became a converted member of Hamilton’s Federalist Party, the country’s first dominant political party whose members included George Washington, John Jay and James Madison.
These Federalists were responsible for providing the impetus and organization behind the orderly movement through the Revolutionary War, the ratification of the Constitution and the establishment of a stable government.
King didn’t realize what he had personally accomplished in his many roles in the field of politics. His first notable contribution, which brought him much recognition, was his bill in March of 1785, stating that “there shall be neither slavery nor involuntary servitude in any of the States described in the resolve of Congress of April 23, 1784 (Ordinance of 1784), otherwise than in punishment of crime whereof the party shall have been personally guilty, and that this regulation shall be an article of compact and remain a fundamental principle of the Constitution between the original thirteen states, and each of the states described in said resolve of April 1784.”
Congress voted down the 1785 bill, but its substance was incorporated into a portion of the Ordinance of 1787 addressing the Northwest Territory. These two ordinances had far reaching effects in our country’s future. Both Acts created policy that: limited the land claims of the original states; set aside land for future schools and colleges; established new methods of dividing land into townships and selling land to offset government expenses; and enticed expansion to the west.
Shaping our Governing Constitution
After accepting a request that he represent Massachusetts at the Constitutional Convention of 1787, at age 32, King turned suddenly, perhaps under the influence of Hamilton, into an enthusiastic, sharp-witted, persuasive nationalist. He was one of the strong influential members who labored long and hard with lengthy debates.
King received political backing from James Madison for his opposition to states having an equal vote in the Senate. He also objected to the clauses on impeachment and the organization of the Electoral College system of representation. His reasons were simple: states’ rights, people’s rights and man’s rights. He fought hard for a strong central government, popular election of the executive and legislative branches, and a change in an individual state’s representation.
He introduced a clause stating that there be an obligation to contracts.
This founding father summed up the opposition to the Constitution in a letter to James Madison in January of 1788. “An apprehension that the liberties of the people are in danger, and a distrust of men of property and education, have a more powerful effect upon the minds of our opponents than any specific objections against the Constitution.”
On September 17, 1787, a five-man committee was formed to arrange the style and presentation of the Constitution. This group, with Rufus King as a member, wrote the arrangement that each state would be represented by population in the House of Representatives and equally in the Senate. This arrangement was known as the Great Compromise or the Connecticut Compromise. This same group wrote many other articles that became part of the Constitution. He knew that there would be a fight of words, and the twisting of hearts and minds, taking place in every state when considering ratification of the Constitution. So he and four others began a sweep of the prominent citizens of Massachusetts arguing for ratification.
The contest was close and the Massachusetts Convention debated for more than a month. King is credited with winning over John Hancock, Samuel Adams and many others, by promising to support amendments guaranteeing popular liberties. Massachusetts was the sixth state to ratify; the vote was 187 to 168.
Establishing Boundaries and International Relations
Shortly after Massachusetts adopted the Constitution, King moved to New York and his fame followed him, as he was elected to the New York Assembly in 1789 and as its first U. S. Senator in the same year. As a Senator, he always espoused the Federalists’ cause saying: “People were less wrong than their government.” Also, “That the party would rather be right than popular.” The greatest moments of his political career were experienced as a Senator.
On the floor of the U.S. Senate, King addressed President George Washington, saying: “From the difficulty of passing particular instruction in the Senate, it seems to me to be most suitable that the President shall instruct, and that the treaty sheet be concluded subject to the approbation of the Senate . . . lead the Senate away from the President.” In other words, keep the executive and legislative branches separate.
In 1791, he was elected as a director of the First Bank of the United States, which he labored assiduously to create. This was the first central bank of the United States, a predecessor of today’s Federal Reserve System. It was first located in Carpenter’s Hall, often used as a meeting place by Philadelphia Freemasons. The bank — conceived by Alexander Hamilton to handle the war debt—was in operation for only 20 years. The bank building was restored for the bicentennial in 1976.
Carpenter’s Hall, Philadelphia — site of the First Continental Congress. The tall chair in the corner above was used by Peyton Randolph of Virginia, the first president of the Continental Congress, and the others by members of the Congress. Photos courtesy of Carpenter’s Hall, Philadelphia.
Congress considered the international treaty authored by John Jay in 1793. After Alexander Hamilton and King were denied an opportunity to explain its provisions at a public meeting in New York, they wrote a series of papers, called the Camillus Letters that explained the Jay Treaty in detail.
King’s contribution to the papers discussed commercial and maritime law, on which he was an authority. During this period, King informed Virginia Senator John Taylor “that the North and the South have begun to part over this attempt to inflict economic penalties on Great Britain.” This statement proved that this man was far ahead of his time and a deep thinker.
To me, this was a jolt to the other Senators debating the Jay Treaty, which was an agreement between the United States and Great Britain that settled differences not settled in the 1783 Treaty of Paris at the end of the Revolutionary War, including boundary disputes west of the Great Lakes region and in New England. It also decreed that our county was to be a neutral power and allowed to trade freely with any country.
In 1796, the President honored King by asking him to be Secretary of State. King turned the appointment down, citing much work to be done in his state, but in 1797 he accepted his appointment as Minister to England, replacing Thomas Pinckney.
While serving in this capacity, King worked with special envoy James Madison, as well as with his counterpart, the Minister to France, who was Robert R. Livingston, who had been the Grand Master of Masons in New York in 1789, and the man who administered the inaugural oath to George Washington.
King influenced President Jefferson to obtain the Louisiana Territory, known as the Louisiana Purchase. This was a brilliant piece of politics and proved King’s expertise as a negotiator, and his forethought for the expansion of the country.
During the Louisiana negotiation proceedings, King and Lord Hawkesbury completed a convention for the Northern boundary between the United States and the British territory west of the Great Lakes (known as the Northwest Boundary Dispute).
King, a staunch Federalist, proved a cautious and levelheaded diplomat who performed his duties as well as could be expected during a most difficult period of our country’s history. He negotiated with Great Britain for the release of the impressed seamen who could prove their American birth and citizenship. If he had stayed in Britain a few months longer, he most likely would have been able to persuade Great Britain to abandon its policy of impressment. Instead, he answered the call from his party to return to the United States to help in the upcoming election.
A Candidate for National Office
Upon returning for the 1804 election, King found himself in a race for the office of Vice President. He ran on the terms of the Twelfth Amendment (the Vice President would no longer be the runner-up in the Presidential race), the first political figure to run on a political plank of the Constitution.
There was also a debate during this election over the financial stewardship of the Jefferson administration, whose Republican Party had failed to control the national debt from rising to a record $7,800,000, with no taxes to decrease the debt. King lost to the Jefferson/George Clinton ticket of the new Republican Party. The electoral vote was 162 to 14, a bitter defeat for the Federalist Party and King.
In 1808, the Federalist Party was the first to nominate candidates at a party convention — King was the first candidate so nominated, with Charles Cotesworth Pinckney for President and King for Vice President. The Federalist Party lost again. The electoral vote was 122-47 for electing James Madison, by then a member of the Republican Party. The political issue in this election was over the Embargo Act, which was an effort by the Jefferson administration to serve notice to both France and Great Britain that the United States would not trade with either country while they were at war with each other. This was a political and economic disaster for the United States. It forced the industrial and the farming interests to trade through our neighbors, Canada and Latin America. The Act was repealed in 1809, but the damage was already done.
Rufus King and eight others stood in opposition to the War of 1812. The Hartford Convention was an assembly of the leading Federalists of the New England states who were called together to voice a unified opposition to the War of 1812. The New England states were being economically choked by the British blockades in all the major ports, and many businesses were on the verge of collapse.
This convention made other recommendations that were designed to become constitutional amendments. Because this meeting was held behind closed doors, and the members present were sworn to secrecy, rumors spread throughout the country that the New England states were plotting to secede from the Union. This of course was not the case; however it cost the Federalist Party.
In 1813, King was again elected as Senator from New York and became a leader of his party; but after this election he realized that the Federalist Party was no longer being followed by the public and that it was just a matter of time before the party would be history.
In 1816, he ran for President. The press and the political experts of both parties claimed that he had a fifty-fifty chance to win the race. The Federalist Party debated the corruption and filth in the Republican administration.
King had a fight on his hands due to a stand he took during the impressment days. He had not accepted Irish sailors as citizens of the United States. This issue was brought to light by the opposition and the Irish population was swayed to vote for the Republican Party.
He was soundly defeated by James Monroe. The electoral vote was 183 to 43. King carried only Massachusetts, Connecticut and Delaware. He was the last Presidential candidate of the Federalist Party.
“The law established by the Creator, which has existed from the beginning, extends over the whole globe, is everywhere and at all times binding upon mankind.”
Fighting to Promote Trade and Prohibit Slavery
After his defeat for the presidency, King authored the Navigation Act of 1818. This piece of work was so far reaching, with so much thought, that the majority of this legislation is the base of today’s international and maritime laws.
Reflecting his personal beliefs and those preeminent in Newburyport, home of such prominent abolitionists as poet John Greenleaf Whittier and newspaperman William Lloyd Garrison, King fought against the Missouri Compromise of 1820, supporting strongly the anti-slavery program. He was against slavery’s extension and a clause in the Compromise that stated that a slave born in a state after its admission into the Union should be a free man at age 25.
King maintained that Congress was empowered to forbid slavery in Missouri and to make prohibition of slavery a prerequisite for admission as a state. During the Compromise debates, he proposed the removal of slaves to some territories outside the United States borders. At one time he had considered the proposal of shipping slaves back to Africa, but realized that we must correct our errors by eliminating slavery.
The Compromise in its original form did not hold because Maine wanted to join the Union. As a real compromise, Maine and Missouri would be admitted into the Union, Missouri a slave state and Maine a free state. Interestingly, King’s half-brother, William King would become the first Governor of the state of Maine, and its first Grand Master, with the Deputy Grand Master being Simon Greenleaf, also of Newburyport, who served as District Deputy Grand Master for Massachusetts’s Maine District. King carefully studied the problems with public lands.
Being one with Jefferson, who wrote and established the public land concept, he was very much aware of the pitfalls of this act. He carried through a measure providing that public lands should be bought and sold in cash, and at a lower price than ever before, to enhance the settling of the western regions of the country. He also proposed buying the freedom of slaves with the cash proceeds from the sale of the public lands. His fight to keep the Louisiana Purchase free of slavery was only half won, for in 1820 a bill was passed in the Congress keeping slavery out of those states north of the 36 degree 30 minute latitude.
His last contribution to his country was after he declined a re-election bid for his U.S. Senate seat to again accept the position of Minister to Great Britain tendered in 1825 by President John Quincy Adams, who had also studied law under Newburyport’s Theophilus Parsons. In 1826 Rufus King resigned this post due to his failing health and his desire to pass on in the country he loved so much.
On April 29, 1827, this country lost one of its most influential molders. He was laid to rest in Grace Church Cemetery, in Jamaica, Long Island, New York.
As a Mason, He Paid Three Shillings
Many had long doubted Rufus King’s Masonic membership, but research of the records of St. John’s Lodge, Newburyport, confirmed that Rufus King was in fact a member of that lodge.
Rufus King became a member prior to 1781 and frequented the lodge during 1781–1784, before moving to New York. At various times he acted as Junior Warden and Treasurer. Despite the stature of the man, Rufus King was once fined three shillings for being absent without permission of the Worshipful Master.
Alexander Hamilton said of our brother, “A remarkably well informed man, a very judicious one, a man of address, a man of future and economy, whose situation affords just ground of confidence.” Added Daniel Webster, “You never heard such a speaker in strength and dignity, and fire; in ease, in natural effect and gesture as well as in manner, he is unequaled.”
Rufus King was truly a religious man who worked diligently in the formation of our country, and a Masonic brother whose character and enterprise we might all strive to emulate.
Rt. Wor. David A. Schofield is a Past Master of Universal Lodge, Orleans, and Past District Deputy Grand Master of the Provincetown 32nd Masonic District. This article is based upon his research paper presented to the Grand Lodges of Massachusetts and Maine on this founding father of our country.
KINGSBURY, WILLIAM HENRY SMILEY 1879-1947
From Proceedings, Page 1947-249:
Brother Kingsbury was born in Haverhill, Massachusetts, on April 9, 1879, and died at his home in Holden, Massachusetts, on September 7, 1947.
Upon graduation from the schools of Worcester, he entered the employ of The People's Savings Bank where he remained for twenty-four years. He then entered the insurance business, and thus continued until his death.
He was raised in Morning Star Lodge of Worcester on June 8, 1915, and served as Master in 1926. On March 27, 1928, he became a charter member of Joel H. Prouty Lodge of Auburn, serving as its Worshipful Master while under dispensation. He also became a charter member of Rose of Sharon Lodge on October 20, 1928, and served as Master in 1931.
In addition to his Blue Lodge activities, he was a member of Worcester Chapter, R.A.M., and of all the Scottish Rite Bodies.
Our Brother had many Masonic interests, but he was also very active in insurance and civic circles, being particularly active in the Community Chest of Worcester.
Smiley Kingsbury was a Brother whose passing leaves us particularly saddened, for well we know how difficult it will be to fill his place. Funeral services were held in Worcester on Tuesday, September 9th, and the large attendance of friends and Brothers mark the passing of a valued friend and Brother.
KIRKHAM, JOHN B. 1791-1857
- MM 1817, WM 1825, 1846, Hampden
From Moore's Freemason's Monthly, Vol. XVII, No. 6, April 1858, Page 190:
At a late Communication of Hampden Lodge of Free and Accepted Masons, a committee was appointed to prepare some suitable notice and testimonial on occasion of the death of our late Brother John B. Kirkham.
Brother Kirkham had been a member of this Lodge from the time of its installation in 1817; he was also a member of all the other Masonic bodies in this city, and from time to time has most acceptably presided in them all ; and has likewise held and exercised other important and responsible offices and trusts The Masonic honors accorded to him were most worthily bestowed, and always borne with, just appreciation and modesty.
He loved the principles and practice of Freemasonry as well in its prosperity, when the "dew lay all night upon its branches, whose leaf did not wither nor its fruit fail," as in the days of peril and adversity, when false friends and open enemies "cried havoc," and rushed together for its destruction ; and to us it is a most happy reflection, that he lived many years after the whirlwind of party rancor was over and gone, and enjoyed the heartfelt satisfaction of again " setting the Craft to work and giving them wise and proper instruction."
In this view, the members of Hampden Lodge deem something more than a for mal vote required of them; some just and more extended declaration of respect to be "left on long record," in memory of an upright and accomplished Mason, and an honest man. Brother Kirkham, one of the oldest, most worthy and respected of our Fraternity, has fallen in the front ranks ; and it is becoming that we offer a just tribute to the memory of our deceased worthy Brother, an upright, energetic and estimable citizen. But ho has gone down to the grave, a bright and worthy example of Christian and Masonic life, and in him was faithfully exemplified for nearly half a century, the cardinal principles of our Order, Friendship, Morality and Brotherly Love. Therefore
- Resolved, That in the death of our late Brother, John B. Kirkham, a bright and shining light in Freemasonry has been extinguished.
- Resolved, That this Lodge, and the Masonic Fraternity in general, deeply deplore this melancholy dispensation of the Divine Hand.
- Resolved, That the Jewels and Furniture of Hampden Lodge be clothed in mourning for the usual period of time.
- Resolved, That the Secretary transmit to the widow and children of the deceased, and also to the Editor of the Freemasons' Magazine, copies of proceedings in Lodge, and respectfully to request that the same may be published.
James W. Crooks, Daniel Reynolds, S. C. Bemis, Committee.
Attest, Henry A. Chapin, Secretary.
Springfield, Mass., Jan. 19, A. L. 5857.
KIRKPATRICK, ALFRED HAMILTON 1929-1985
- MM 1929, Genesis #201, New York
- Member 1969, Universal
From TROWEL, Summer 1985, Page 30:
Wor. Al Kirkpatrick Lived Useful Life
Wor. Alfred H. Kirkpatrick, 82, an active Mason for more than 50 years and one of the founding members of the Affiliated Past Masters Association of Cape Cod, died Jan. 8, 1985, in Hyannis. He had been ill only a short time. A Past Master of Genesis Lodge No. 201, Brooklyn, N.Y., he was an affiliate of Universal Lodge in Orleans, Cape Cod. He was also a Past Patron of Orleans Chapter, Order of the Eastern Star, and was Secretary of the Affiliated Past Masters Association at the time of his death.
Bro. Kirkpatrick was a member of the Scottish Rite Bodies, Valley of Boston, Sylvester Baxter Royal Arch Chapter of Harwich, Cape Cod Royal and Select Masters Council of Hyannis, Aleppo Temple, A. A. O. N. M. S., and was former Secretary of the 15th Lodge of Instruction. About 150 members of the Craft attended the funeral rites held in the Masonic Temple, Orleans.
KNAPP, WILLIAM 1798-1863
From Moore's Freemason's Monthly, Vol. XXIII, No. 3, January 1863, Page 95:
Newburyport, Nov. 29, 1863.
Mr. Editor— I send you for publication a series of resolutions, recently adopt ed by [masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=StJohnB St. John's] and [masonicgenealogy.com/MediaWiki/index.php?title=StMark St. Mark's] Lodges of this city, relative to the death of Brother Wm. Knapp. L. Dame, Sec. of St. John's Lodge."
When the good and worthy are taken from us, it is becoming to notice, by Resolves, their departure, that their memories may be embalmed in our hearts, and their viitues stimulate us to higher aims. it is a particularly pleasing, though at the same time melancholy, duty for us of the Masonic Fraternity to testify our affection for a departed Brother, by acknowledging his worth as to preserve a record, that though dead he may yet speak to us, and bear us on to deeds of more usefulness.
We are now called upon to note the departure of a true and devoted Brother, though not a member of our Lodge, yet one who has ever manifested a lively interest in our welfare. Brother William Knapp, of Boston, died on the 14th day of October, aged 63 years, and as a slight tribute to his memory, it is
- Resolved, That in the death of Brother Knapp we have lost one, who through all his Masonic career, by his acts of charity and deeds of true beneficence, has exhibited to the world the sublime principles of our Order.
- Resolved, That by his death, Masonry has lost a warm advocate, and Masons a Brother whose kindly assistance was never sought in vain.
- Resolved, That as we delight to recount his virtues, so we will revere his memory and strive to emulate his good deeds.
- Resolved, That these Resolutions be entered upon the Records of St. Mark's and St. John's Lodges, and a copy be forwarded to the family of the deceased with the assurance that we deeply sympathize with them in this sore bereavement.
KNOWLES, ABBOTT LAWRENCE 1843-1906
- MM 1890, Soley
From New England Craftsman, Vol. II, No. 4, January 1907, Page 154:’’
Brother Abbott Kuowles died at his home in East Somerville, Mass., Dec. 11. He was a member of Soley Lodge, A. F. and A. M., Somerville R. A. Chapter. He was also a trustee of the First Methodist Church aud a member of many societies.
KNOX, HENRY 1750-1806
BIOGRAPHY FROM PROCEEDINGS, 1963
From Proceedings, Page 1963-181:
REMARKS AT UNVEILING OF PORTRAIT OF MAJOR GENERAL HENRY KNOX
BY WORSHIPFUL MEYER WEKER, SECRETARY
In gathering here to unveil this magnificent portrait, we are in a true sense paying tribute to a great American and a distinguished Mason, Major General Henry Knox. Who was this man, this Henry Knox, who has sometimes been called the forgotten man of the American Revolution?
He was born in our own City of Boston on 25 July 1750, the seventh of a family of ten sons. At an early age, due to unfortunate circumstances, he became the sole support of his mother and family. As he grew to manhood, his personality and his interests appeared to develop in perhaps two different directions. On the one hand, he was a theorist, a voracious reader of books on many subjects; in fact, so great was his literary urge and his love of books that he adopted bookselling as his life's work. His "London Bookstore" became a fashionable shop for social Boston. On the other hand, he became intrigued with military subjects and affairs, not only strategy and tactics, but the use, construction, and functions of all types of firearms. While hunting as a youth, he accidentally lost two fingers on his left hand.
On 5 March 1770, he was one of those who stood at the head of what is now State Street, near the State House, in Boston, and unsuccessfully attempted to dissuade the British troops from firing on a mob. This became known as the "Boston Massacre," one of the early incidents preceding the Revolution.
A man of peace, yet correctly anticipating future events, he read and studied more and more about artillery, his favorite branch of military science, which he found highly significant and important. He became a self-taught artillerist.
After the Battle of Lexington and Concord, Knox declined Tory military offers, and voluntarily enlisted in the Army of General Artemas Ward. He fought at Bunker Hill on 17 June 1775. His knowledge and ability in the field of military warfare, plus his winning personality, great energy, and keen enthusiasm for the patriotic cause, were recognized very early in the conflict, and he was commissioned as Colonel of the Regiment of Artillery of the Continental Army, on 17 November 1775. When he thanked General George Washington for the great honor conferred on him, it is reported that he jokingly inquired, "But, where is the artillery?" It was at this point that it was agreed that Colonel Knox would proceed to Fort Ticonderoga and Crown Point, where Ethan Allen, Benedict Arnold, and Seth Warner had captured a quantity of British guns and cannon, and bring them back to Boston.
The task of hauling the fifty-nine mortars, howitzers, and cannon on ox-drawn sledges the long distance of three hundred miles, through New England mid-winter weather, in blinding snowstorms, over frozen lakes, and well-nigh impassable roads, was one of herculean proportions. Some of Knox's difficulties included heavy cannon sinking in the ice and snow, which then had to be retrieved, breaking roads through treacherous mountain trails, waiting for rivers to freeze over sufficiently to enable the heavy weapons, animals, and men to cross. And, just as serious was the ever-present need of keeping the disheartened soldiers and volunteers on the job. But, where a lesser man would have failed or abandoned the task, Henry Knox was equal to it all: he delivered his precious cargo to General Washington, and it turned the tide for the Americans in the siege of Boston.
When the Redcoats saw their own cannon pointing down at them from Dorchester Heights, they acceded to Washington's ultimatum and, on 17 March 1776, evacuated Boston. Hence, Evacuation Day, which we observe every year. This was the first substantial victory of the war, the direct result of the valorous exploit of one man, Colonel Henry Knox.
As an interesting sidelight, since this was the great Irish holiday, General Washington decreed that the countersign for the day be "St. Patrick," and as a further compliment to the Irish soldiers in his command, he named General John Sullivan, whose forbears came over from "the old sod" as Officer of the Day.
It was entirely fitting, therefore, that exactly 150 years later, on 17 March 1926, Major General Henry Knox Lodge, A. F. & A. M., of Boston, Massachusetts, named in his honor, was instituted. This historic and Masonic event took place on the gun deck of the renowned Frigate Constitution at the Charlestown Navy Yard, in the very shadow of Bunker Hill. We shall always be deeply grateful to Worshipful Frederic Gilbert Bauer, our first Worshipful Master, and the other 101 Charter Members, some of whom we are happy to greet tonight, who were both Masons and members of the military, whose foresight, devotion, and earnest endeavors brought into being our beloved Lodge, the only military lodge in this jurisdiction.
On 27 December 1776, Knox was promoted to Brigadier General and Chief of Artillery. In most of the battles where General and our Masonic Brother, George Washington, commanded, Knox was there with his ever-ready artillery. No less an artilleryman than Napoleon ranked Henry Knox as "a master of the science, one of the greatest artillery commanders of all time." He has been described as Washington's closest military adviser and constant companion. It is understood that he crossed the Delaware in the first barge with the Commander-in-Chief on Christmas Night in 1776. Although only 26 years of age at the time, Henry Knox was a huge man, weighing about 280 pounds. The story is told that when he sat down at the edge of the small craft, he almost upset it. Nevertheless, he successfully moved his heavy guns across the river on this fateful night. Knox was advanced to Major General, with date of rank 15 November 1781. Later, upon the resignation of Washington, he became the senior officer, and served as Commander-in-Chief of the Army (23 December 1783 to 20 June 1784). From 1785 to 1789, hostilities being happily a thing of the past, General Knox was head of the War and Navy Department, such as it was under the Articles of Confederation.
Finally, in 1789, our first President, George Washington, appointed him as our first Secretary of War. In company with a brilliant group of colleagues, including Thomas Jefferson as Secretary of State, Alexander Hamilton as Secretary of the Treasury, and Edmund Randolph as Attorney General, he served with great distinction, demonstrating ingenuity as well as administrative capability. For example, firmly believing that the new nation for its future defense must produce trained and efficient leaders for our military establishment, he took the first steps towards founding the United States Military Academy at West Point. It is of interest to note that General Knox was the moving spirit in the original organization of the Society of the Cincinnati, of which George Washington was the first head.
As is so often the case during this early period, there is unfortunately a dearth of definite or detailed knowledge as to the Masonic affiliation and activities of Brother Henry Knox. However, the evidence that is available does clearly point to his adherence to Freemasonry. It is said that the Symbolic Degrees were conferred on him in an Army Lodge, attached to a British regiment stationed in Boston prior to the outbreak of war, and he has also been referred to as belonging to the "First Lodge of Boston." He is on record as having visited St. John's Lodge in this city. Also, lodges in Virginia and elsewhere, together with fellow-Masons Washington, Lafayette, von Steuben, and others, during the Revolutionary War. At lease four Masonic lodges today bear his name: Knox Lodge, No. 189, A. F. & A. M. of South Thomaston, Maine; Camp Knox Lodge, No. 919, F. & A. M. of Fort Knox, Kentucky; H. Knox Field Lodge, No. 349, A. F. & A. M. of Alexandria, Virginia; and Major General Henry Knox Lodge, A. F. & A. M. of Boston, Massachusetts. In 1794, General Knox retired from governmental service, leaving the national capital for Thomaston, near Portland, Maine, to develop his extensive family holdings there. He was active in a number of business enterprises. And, among other things, he became a legislator. Henry Knox died at Thomaston, Maine, on 25 October 1806, at the age of only 56, following a most active, varied, and colorful career as a bookseller, patriot, soldier, government executive and administrator, businessman, and, of course, a loyal Mason. Knoxville, Tennessee, and Fort Knox, Kentucky, were named after him, as well as many other communities and counties throughout the land.
He was the man whom the "Father of His Country" respected and trusted all during the long and trying days of the American Revolutionary War and its hectic political aftermath, and whose name he sometimes facetiously spelled "Nox." In his own words, expressed in 1799, the year of his death, George Washington said of Henry Knox, "I can in truth say that there is no man in the Lnited States whom I love more sincerely, nor any for whom I have a greater friendship." General Knox's character and accomplishments were such that all of us, both as Americans and as Masons, are justly filled with pride. May we of Major General Henry Knox Lodge always cherish and be worthy of his illustrious name.
BIOGRAPHY FROM TROWEL, 1985
From TROWEL, Fall 1985, Page 7:
U.S. Stamp Honors Major General Henry Knox'
By Robert W. Williams III
True friendship is a plant of slow growth and must undergo and withstand the shocks of adversity. — George Washington, 1783
An 8-cent U.S. postage stamp, commemorating the bicentennial of the appointment of Major General Henry Knox as first Secretary of War under the Articles of Confederation, was issued July 25 at the Knox mansion, Thomaston, Maine. The stamp, part of the Great American Series, was issued on the birth date of Knox.
Recommended by his wartime commander and Masonic friend George Washington, the post of War (and Navy) Department was created by act of Congress, August 7, 1789. He was commissioned the following September 12 and served six years with President Washington. He retired from government service in 1794 and he, his wife Lucy, and their children moved into "Montpelier" that was built on the banks of the St. Georges River, 75 miles north of Portland. Her father, Thomas Flucker, was an appointee of the British Crown and her mother, Hannah Waldo, had inherited a fortune from her father, including land in the territory that, in 1820, became the State of Maine. Family estates were left to Lucy as she was the only non-Tory member of her family.
"Montpelier," named by Lucy Knox as a salute to their glorious French allies during the American Revolution, boasted 19 richly-furnished rooms that were designed for gracious living. There Henry and Lucy, both charming and socially-minded, entertained lavishly. The beautiful grounds held nine outbuildings. The home afforded ample room for their 13 children and guests. On July 4, 1795, the jolly sociable Knoxes held a gigantic party at which 500 guests swarmed over the splendor of Montpelier to eat and drink their fill.
Henry Knox died suddenly on October 25, 1806, at age 56. His remains were interred in a family plot in Old Town Cemetery, land that he had given to the town for burial purposes. With the passing of the Knoxes, and all but three of the 13 children succumbing to death at young ages, the beautiful mansion became vacant. Through the lapse of time and disrepair, Montpelier suffered from fires and vandalism and was finally razed. Thanks to the concern of the State of Maine and the Daughters of the American Revolution, an exact replica was dedicated in 1931. The impressive white structure, located on Route 1 in Thomaston, is maintained by the state as an historical site and museum, open to the public during the summer months.
Following victories at Trenton and Princeton, Gen. Washington quartered his troops at Morristown, NJ, during the winter of 1776-77. There Henry Knox and Maj. Gen. Nathaniel Greene received their Masonic degrees in St. John's Regimental Lodge. Maj. Gen. Philip Schuyler of New York presided and Gen. Washington was recorded as being present.
When a degree team from the New England Chapter of the National Sojourners conferred the Master Mason Degree on Maj. Gen. Louis H. Bauer in Eliot Lodge, Jamaica Plain (now meeting in Dedham), in May 1924, the Brethren asked themselves, "Why should we continue to do this work for other Lodges? Why not for our own Lodge?" Major General Henry Knox Lodge was instituted on the gun deck of the frigate U. S. S. Constitution on March 17,1926. Better known as "Old Ironsides" as the result of cannon balls bouncing off its sides during the War of 1812, it is the nation's oldest commissioned ship in service. Built by Joshua Humphreys at Edmund Hartt's shipyard in Boston where Constitution Wharf now stands, it was authorized by Congress March 27, 1794, and approved by Maj. Gen. Knox as Secretary of War. To perpetuate its namesake, members of Major General Henry Knox Lodge make an annual July pilgrimage to Montpelier to participate in the public observance of his birthday. Exercises are held at his graveside in conjunction with civic, military, and patriotic groups. First sponsored by the Thomaston Historical Association, the July 25 festivities and memorial are now directed by the Knox Association. This year marked Masonry's 22nd continuous participation. Continued Next Page The bust of Henry Knox used for the stamp is colored in olive green on a field of white and is the original portrait painted by the 18th century artist Charles Wilson Peale. Several years ago Wor. Albert L. Biller, M.D., of Worcester, and a Past Master of Major General Henry Knox Lodge and Level Lodge, and others interested in honoring the hero of the American Revolution approached then-Sen. Edward Brooke to influence the postal authorities in Washington to issue a Knox stamp. The stamp is the result of the persistence of Beniah C. Harding of the Thomaston Historical Association. First-day covers and stamps were sold by Thomaston's postmaster, Neil A. Stetson.
Henry Knox was born in Boston July 25, 1750, the seventh of ten sons. At an early age he had to support his mother and siblings and attended Boston Latin School, the oldest in the nation. He began working in a book store, and later his store on Haymarket St. became one of the fashionable shops in social Boston. He became intrigued with subjects about the military — not simply tactics and strategy, but the construction and use of all firearms. It was while erecting fortifications around Boston that Knox met George Washington. Their friendship was to endure all their lives.
After the incidents at Lexington and Concord, Knox enlisted in the army of Gen. Artemus Ward and fought beside Grand Master Joseph Warren at Bunker Hill. His energy, knowledge, and enthusiasm soon earned him a commission as colonel in the artillery of the Continental Army on Nov. 17, 1775. When given that commission he was said to have replied to Gen. Washington, "But, where's the artillery?" When Ethan Allen, Benedict Arnold, and Seth Warner had captured Fort Ticonderoga, it was Knox who was delegated to go there and bring the cannon and ammunition to Boston. Hauling 59 mortars, howitzers, and cannon on ox-driven sleds in the winter, over a distance of 300 miles, across frozen lakes and hills, would appear impossible to today's soldier who knows only a mechanized army. Placed at Dorchester Heights with the guns pointing directly at them, the British troops finally left Boston March 17, 1776. Evacuation Day is observed annually in Boston as a holiday. Henry Knox had only just begun to make his presence known.
Years of research went into inquiry of the Masonic life of Knox before Prof. Gilbert Patten Brown of New Jersey became convinced that Gen. Knox had in fact been made a Mason, along with Gen. Greene. Bro. Knox was only one of the many confidants of George Washington during the American Revolution. The Great Lights of Freemasonry were their bond.
(Credits: R. W. Meyer Weker of Major General Henry Knox Lodge and the National Sojourners, Inc.; Bro. Albert L. Biller, M. D., Past Master of that Lodge; Mary Zimmer, "A Noble Train of Artillery; Grand Lodge files.)
BIOGRAPHY FROM TROWEL, 1993
From TROWEL, Spring 1993, Page 29:
In Memory of General Henry Knox, 1750-1806
by R. W. James T. Watson, Jr.
While vacationing in Maine in 1985. I had the opportunity to attend the 235th anniversary of the birth of Henry Knox on July 25, 1750. Many Masons from Massachusetts attend these annual pilgrimages, including Grand Lodge officers and delegations from the Henry Knox Lodge of Boston. Orient Lodge of Thomaston also participates regularly. The usual 10 a.m. service at the Knox gravesite in the village cemetery was followed in 1985 by a First Day of Issue Ceremony in the auditorium of the George's Valley High School. The eight cent stamp, issued as part of the Great American Series, honored Knox on his 200th anniversary as the first Secretary of War.
That afternoon we journeyed to the foot of Knox Street, site of the original Henry Knox estate at Fort Point on the St. George riverbank. The Historical Society of Thomaston now meets in the only remaining outbuilding of the original seven, the farmhouse, which was used as a station when the Maine Central Railroad established its Falmouth-Rockland branch in 1871. It now houses drawings of the original buildings on this site.
Later, we visited a replica of the original mansion built on a knoll along Route I according to plans of the original estate and finished with copies of original wallpaper and furnishings. Interesting features of the house include the oval room with doors and marble mantles curved to fit the walls. Similar to the oval rooms at the White House, it displays a copy of Stuart's painting of Knox. An elegant double stairway in the hall behind the oval room leads to the upper floors.
The labors of the General Knox Chapter of the D. A. R., organized as the Knox Memorial Association, are responsible for this replica, completed in 1930. No longer able to keep up with the expenses of the property, the association transferred it to the State of Maine in 1968.
On the front lawn is a Paul Revere bell cast in 1796 and ordered by Knox for the church at Thomaston. When the church was torn down, the bell, weighing 683 pounds, was moved to its present location where it is rung each July 25th at the start of the graveside service.
General Henry Knox was a colonial Mason who, as a major figure in the Revolutionary War. brought much success to the American cause. Born in Boston, he attended Boston Latin Grammar School until he left at the age of nine to help support his family upon the death of his father. His first job in a bookstore shaped his adult life. At 20 he opened The New London Bookstore near the Old State House and the British barracks.
Although a stout Whig, Knox catered to the requests of the soldiers for military books. By reading them himself first, he became well-versed in artillery. Information picked up from soldiers and others, he passed on to Revere and Warren, thus helping to counteract the leak from the Sons of Liberty.
Knox became a trusted advisor and close friend of George Washington, who described him as "a man of great military reading, sound judgment and clear conceptions." Knox was commissioned a colonel and placed in charge of artillery. In 1775 he journeyed to Fort Ticonderoga, a former British fort near the Canadian border, to procure nearly 60 tons of artillery to be used against the British in Boston. The 42 loaded sleds took six and a half weeks making the 300 mile trip to Framingham, because the alternating bitter cold and thawing weather inhibited adequate snowfall. Along the way one of the pieces became known as the "Albany" because people of that city helped to rescue it after it had gone through the ice on the Hudson.
On the sixth anniversary of the Boston Massacre, the British found themselves surrounded by cannon on Cobble Hill. Cambridge, at Roxbury and on Dorchester Heights. Realizing that they could not remain in Boston, on March 17, 1776. they left for the duration of the war. These cannon were later used at Trenton, Princeton and Germantown.
When General Washington entered Boston three days later. Knox accompanied him. proud that his efforts had achieved this great victory. Knox participated in every important military engagement of the war and became a general while in his twenties. In 1779 he organized a temporary military academy at Morristown, N. J., which later became West Point with Knox in command. He became a major-general after Yorktown in 1781 and succeeded Washington as General-in-Chief in 1783, becoming Secretary of War in 1785.
Montpelier, the Knox homestead
In 1796 Knox moved to "Montpelier." the estate built on land inherited by his wife, Lucy Flucker, where he lived until his sudden death on October 26, 1806. Henry Knox returned to Boston on many occasions. The records of St. John's Lodge list him as a visitor on November 26, 1800.
BIOGRAPHY FROM TROWEL, 2000
From TROWEL, Fall 2000, Page 6:
HENRY KNOX by Robert Morris, TROWEL Staff
"I wish to render my devoted country every service in my power."
– Henry Knox
History has not been kind to Henry Knox and he deserves a far better shake than what he has received thus far. It's not that he was either controversial, mediocre or inactive, but that his truly great insights, efforts and accomplishments have simply not been recognized for what they were. He obviously didn't have the press agents of a General Mac Arthur or a General Patton. Only two full-length biographies of him have ever been published; one, almost a century after his death, in 1900, and another 58 years later which does not even acknowledge the existence of the first two. A popular classroom volume collegiate history of the United States, The Federal Union by John D. Hicks, published by Houghton Mifflin Company in 1952, doesn't even mention his name, an almost unbelievable omission. It's nearly as bad as if, in modern day parlance, there has been a vast anti-Knox conspiracy out there to keep him from receiving his just deserts.
In order to appreciate and understand Henry Knox's attitudes and accomplishments one must understand that when he was born, Boston was very much an integral part of the British Empire. It was during the French and Indian Wars when New Englanders marched side by side with their British brethren in trying to eliminate the French from North America. The Governor of Massachusetts was British, as were all other state and local officials, and the people were their loyal subjects. The final defeat of France, however, left the British Empire bankrupt, and it was its efforts to stiff the American colonies for additional revenues which began to unravel this relationship. Knox's formative years occurred during this period of change from staunch British loyalty to ultimate resistance to its authority. Henry Knox was born on July 25, 1750, in Boston, the second last of 10 sons, 6 of whom died in infancy. Two older brothers went to sea and were never heard from again, leaving only Henry and his younger brother William. Their father died when Henry was but 12, leaving Henry the sole support of his mother and brother. He was unfortunately forced to drop out of grammar school, but fortunately landed a job in a Boston book store. In addition to giving him employment, it provided him with an unbelievable source of educational materials, of which he took full advantage. He became a voracious reader on the books on military science and tactics. In order to study the great French tacticians. Marshal Saxe, Vauban and others, he learned to read and speak French, which was later to stand him in good stead in his contacts with America's French allies. Their leader, Rochambeau, spoke no English at all.
It was also at this time that Knox became exposed to the military presence in Boston and joined a group of local militia known as "The Train" led by British officers. Later in 1768 when he was 18, he transferred to the "Boston Grenadier Corps" where he became second in command as a Lieutenant. The British now decided to reinforce their Boston presence with troops from Halifax and their presence became overbearing. It was met with ever increasing subtle resistance and on a few occasions got out of hand, the most famous of which was the "Boston Massacre." On March 5, 1770, a group of street toughs taunted a British sentry causing him to call in reinforcements. Henry Knox happened by unexpectedly just in time to collar the British Captain and urge him to restrain his troops. It was, however, too late; shots rang out and 5 of the Bostonians lay dead on the street in front of the Old State House. The names of the instigators have long been known and a monument to their memory still stands on Boston Common. Henry Knox is, however, the only other American whose name has come down to us, and his testimony of the events of the day at the subsequent trial still survives.
The following year Knox left the bookstore to open up his own bookstore. It proved eminently successful, and became a favorite meeting place for the British officers as it included many volumes on military, historical and current subjects. The next three years were eventful for Knox. He lost his mother when he was only 21; the following year a pistol exploded in his hand maiming him for life by the loss of two fingers on his left hand. Like many other myths of the time. it has been reported that Knox also participated in the Boston Tea Party on December 16, 1773. Because of its clandestine nature, this would have been difficult to prove and Knox himself never admitted to any involvement.
On June 16, 1774, Knox married Lucy Flucker, the daughter of the Provincial Royal Secretary. Thomas Flucker, an ardent Tory. Although the marriage was initially opposed by the Flucker family, it was finally sanctioned. Lucy became an ardent patriot but remained on good terms with her family. Some sources have suggested that she became a mole in the British camp and was able to pass on to her husband intelligence of British actions which might not otherwise have been learned. The battles ofLexington and Concord on April 19, 1775, finally turned the colonists' passive resistance to Britain's restrictive laws into a hot war. It was followed shortly afterward by the next battle on June 17. at Bunker Hill where Henry Knox was an active participant. On July 3, 1775. General Washington arrived in Cambridge to take over command of the Continental Army.
Although Knox's actual military training was minimal, he had already extensively schooled himself in military science and tactics and quickly showed up in Cambridge to volunteer his services to Washington. This was the beginning of a military association and personal relationship which was to last for the rest of their days.
By this time the British had Boston under siege and had halted all traffic and trade with the city. With their powerful fleet in the harbor, the Americans felt impotent against such odds. Knox however realized that the Americans under Ethan Allen and his Green Mountain Boys had captured Fort Ticonderoga at the base of Lake Champlain the previous May and that the great guns of that fortress now lay in disuse. He proposed to Washington that he go there and bring the cannon back to Boston where they could blast the British and their fleet out of Boston. Washington was quick to accept and in November Knox set out with his brother William and others for Ticonderoga. On the trip he spent one night with a captured British officer. Major John Andre, who was on his way to a prisoner exchange. Knox could not know that Andre and he would again meet.
In today's world of interstate highways and modern motor vehicles, it is not possible to fully understand the accomplishments of the task Knox had undertaken. A trip of 300 miles through a frozen wilderness using teams of oxen and horses hauling fifty-five cannon. To some. Knox's proposal must indeed have sounded harebrained. Nevertheless by dint of his undaunting leadership and tenacity, the trek was accomplished and his "noble train of artillery" arrived in Boston in January, 1776, where he was pleased to be advised that he had been appointed Colonel and Chief of Artillery in the Continental Army.
Unbeknownst to Knox while he was trudging through the wilderness, Captain John Manley of Boston took command of the privateer, the schooner Lee, and went sailing in search of the British brigantine Nancy which had been reported bound for the British forces in Boston. The "Nancy" was a British supply ship loaded with ammunition, gunpowder, cannon and thousands of cannon balls of the exact caliber as those of Knox's cannon from Ticonderoga. Manley spotted the Nancy off Cape Ann on November 28 and quickly captured it. The supplies were unloaded at Gloucester and thence to Washington's headquarters in Cambridge. It is no longer known from where the Americans received this convenient information.
Work was now begun on fortifying Dorchester Heights with Knox's cannon and Manley's cannon balls and on March 17. 1776. the British, on seeing that their position was now untenable, evacuated the city. The date is significant in that each year to this day, Boston celebrates an official double holiday on that date —St. Patrick's Day and Evacuation Day. In their evacuation, the British took all their troops and loyalists including all of Henry Knox's in-laws.
Congress now declared Independence on July 4, 1776. Although the British had left Boston, they had not evacuated America; they were simply looking for a more defensible and more strategically located harbor. This they found in the New York City area, mostly occupied by American troops on Long Island and Manhattan where Henry Knox was again building defensive positions. On August 29, 1776, the British were successful in driving the Americans off Long Island. The Continental troops were however saved by Henry Knox and John Glover of Massachusetts. They successfully ferried over 9000 troops and most of their equipment across the East River to Manhattan under the very noses of the unsuspecting British.
By December of that year, Washington had been forced to retreat to the west bank of the Delaware River, but now saw an opportunity to attack the unsuspecting Hessian mercenaries and capture Trenton, New Jersey on Christmas Day. Knox and Glover's Marbleheaders were again in the midst of the action in ferrying Washington and his troops across the ice-choked Delaware River. Knox was eminently successful in positioning his artillery at the head of the two strategic main streets in Trenton and bombarding the Hessians into surrender.
According to some sources, it was at this time that Knox took his Masonic Degrees in St. John*s Regimental Lodge at Morristown. New Jersey. Although other sources dispute this, it is generally recognized that Henry Knox was indeed a Mason and has long been recognized as such by the Grand Lodge of Massachusetts.
The next year and a half were indeed busy for the ever active Knox. He participated in the battle of Princeton and was with Washington during the winter encampment at Valley Forge. He traveled to Springfield. MA and set in motion the establishment of the famous Springfield Arsenal there. In June of 1778 he participated in the Battle of Monmouth and visited West Point. NY where he first conceived the idea of establishing a military academy there. On September 29, 1780. Knox faced one of his more unpleasant experiences when he sat as a Brigadier General on the Court Martial of the British spy Major Andre. Andre was liked by friend and foe alike and Knox had already met him on his trip to Ticonderoga. The guilty verdict was unanimous and Andre was executed.
The fortunes of war had now turned. The Americans and their French allies were finally able to bottle up the British at Yorktown. VA. Knox's strategic artillery emplacements and those of their French allies, gave the British no room to maneuver and they surrendered to Washington's army on November 19. 1781. Knox was very much in the foreground at the surrender ceremony.
With the coming of peace in 1783. came the inevitable farewell address by General Washington at Fraunces Tavern in New York. Henry Knox, by now Major General, was the first to greet Washington at the ceremony. Shortly afterward Knox was the prime mover in founding the exclusive Society of the Cincinnati, a patriotic and charitable organization composed of Revolutionary Army officers and their male descendants. It remains active to this day.
The war was over but the new nation was still in need of a military presence. The Continental Congress appointed "Washington's Favorite General." General Knox as Secretary of War on March 8, 1784.
One of his first duties as Secretary of War was in organizing the forces necessary to quell Shay's Rebellion in Western Massachusetts in August. 1786. The rebellion was quickly put down, but its causes pointed out many inadequacies in the Confederation government. It had no leader at all. no President to serve as its Chief Executive, no control overtaxation, trade or commerce, no national bank, no federal currency or judiciary. It was simply a loose union of thirteen completely independent countries. Knox and others pointed out these Haws to Washington and urged him to chair a Convention to draw up a new proposed Constitution. It's truly amazing that government was able to run the country for the twelve long years that it did.
The new proposed Constitution was sent to the various states for ratification, but many prominent leaders resisted giving more power to the Federal government including John Hancock and Sam Adams. Knox, together with Paul Revere and Rufus King "put the arm" on them and persuaded them to vote for ratification. Upon its final adoption. Washington as President, continued Knox in office as the first Secretary of War under the Constitution.
After Yorktown, Washington had appointed Knox Commandant at West Point, a strategic fort on the Hudson River. It was here that he continued his plans for a military school for the Army. He persisted in this concept throughout the terms of Washington and Adams and was finally to see the fruits of his efforts realized when the United States Military Academy was established at West Point during the Presidency of Thomas Jefferson on March 16, 1802.
In those days, the Secretary of War was also responsible for naval activities. To this end Knox oversaw the beginnings of an official United States Navy by commissioning the building of six new frigates in 1797. He was present at the launching of the first, the USS Constitution in Boston which was later to receive its famous nickname "Old Ironsides. Another of these, the USS Chesapeake, gave us the immortal words of its skipper. Captain James Lawrence, during its battle with the Shannon on June 1. 1813 -"Don't give up the ship."
In the fall of 1784, the. by now famous. General Lafayette paid a visit to the United States. He was welcomed by General Knox who gave him the red carpet treatment. In August, 1793, "Citizen" Genet arrived as Ambassador to the United States from France. His obnoxious behavior generated conflicting recommendations from the Cabinet as to a solution. It was finally Henry Knox's shrewd observations and recommendations which caused Washington to ask France for his recall.
By the end of 1793 Knox, after having served his country for almost 30 years, finally decided the time had come to give priority to his personal and family needs and retired to his newly built estate. "Montpelier." in Thomaston, ME. It was one of the most magnificent homes in New England. It is a stately white Federalist mansion facing the east, having many Knox items and antique furnishings. It was designed by the Boston architect Ebenezer Dunton. Although on a somewhat smaller scale, it is vaguely reminiscent of both Washington's Mount Vernon and Jefferson's Monticello, and like the former, overlooks the local tidal waters. It has a graceful Oval Room where he entertained large gatherings, two matching circular marble fireplaces and a unique set of double unsupported flying staircases. In all there are 19 well appointed rooms. Food was lifted from the basement kitchen to the dining room above by a dumb-waiter similar to that which one can see today in King Ludwig's Neuschwanstein Castle in Germany. To this home he brought his personal library of some 1600 volumes, fully one quarter of which were in French, making it one of the largest in the state. The Knox's entertained royally and some of his parties saw over 500 people in attendance. It was the only home the Knox's were ever to own. The imposing structure you see there today is. however, not the original building but an exact replica built in 1931 to replace the original structure which had become so badly deteriorated that it had to be torn down in 1871.
Although officially in retirement Knox simply could not stay completely out of public life. He became Justice of the Peace in Lincoln County and was appointed to the Governor's Council by Governor Caleb Strong in 1800. He was elected to the Massachusetts General Court where on one occasion he made a speech praising the Marbleheaders who had crossed the frozen Delaware River with him on their way to the battle of Princeton.
All his life Knox had been a prolific writer and it is just possible that more of his correspondence exists today than that of many another famous persons of the time. This collection is estimated to contain over 11,000 pieces of correspondence, chiefly of letters between him, his wife. General Washington and other notable personages of the day. Most of these writings still survive. Dartmouth College awarded Henry Knox an honorary degree in 1793. A United States postage stamp was issued in his honor on his birthday in 1985. His home sits in Knox County. ME. Knoxville and other Knoxvilles exist around the country as well as at least 8 other Knox counties. The famous Fort Knox. KY. of James Bond and Goldfinger fame, is the site of the United States Gold Depository. Despite this recognition . it is a newcomer, having only been established in 1917. The genuine and original Fort Knox is located not too far from Knox's home, in the town of Prospect, ME. It is a most imposing and enormous granite fortress with its archways, buttresses and winding staircases. It is Maine's largest granite fortification and is a splendid example of nineteenth century military architecture. It was used as a model for the other granite forts which can still be seen along the Maine coast. Construction was begun in 1844 and troops were stationed there during the Civil War. Spanish-American War and World War I. It is Maine's most visited state historic site.
In life, as well as reputation. Henry Knox was an imposing figure well over 6 feet tall and weighing in the neighborhood of 300 pounds and accustomed to living in the grand manner. Unfortunately his life was unexpectedly cut short on October 25. 1806. when he died from an intestinal inflammation as the result of having swallowed a chicken bone. He was only 56 years old.
Of especial interest to Massachusetts Masons is the fact that Major General Henry Knox Lodge, located in the Masonic Building. Boston, was instituted in his memory on March 17, 1926. aboard the gun-deck of the USS Constitution during the tenure of Grand Master, Most Worshipful Frank Simpson of Swampscott. It remains the only military Lodge in the state. This Lodge makes an annual pilgrimage to Knox's home in Thomaston, ME on or about his birthday, July 25, each year and usually includes a visit to Orient Lodge No. 15 in that town. When possible the Grand Masters of Massachusetts and Maine are both pleased to attend.
Fort Knox, Bucksport, Maine.
Built to protect the Penobscot River Valley from British naval attack.
Henry Knox was well known for his philanthropy and was constantly assisting those less fortunate in their financial and personal difficulties. When his good friend General Nathaniel Greene died at an early age in 1775. Knox took over in assisting his widow and providing for her son's future education. As one history of famous American Generals, published in 1849, noted about Knox: "Philanthropy filled his heart; in his benevolence there was no reserve."
Without Henry Knox's participation and influence in the American Revolution and its initial governments, the future of the United States could well have taken a different turn and we shall forever be in his debt. Americans and American Masons can all be proud of the legacy he has bestowed on his country which will endure for generations to come.
About the Author: Bro. Robert Morris is Secretary of Manchester Lodge, Manchester-by-the-Sea, a member of TROWEL Staff and a regular contributor.
KOLSETH, HENRY SOPHUS 1841-1908
- MM 1880, St. Paul's (South Boston)
From New England Craftsman, Vol. III, No. 10, July 1908, Page 360:
Brother Henry S. Kolseth, a well known business man and a veteran of the Civil War, died Friday, April 3d at his home in Atlantic, Mass.
Mr. Kolseth was born in Christiania, Norway, Aug. 7, 1841, and came to this country when he was nineteen years old. He came alone and settled in Worcester. Two years later he volunteered his services to the Union. He enlisted in the Forty-Second Massachusetts Regiment, and served with honor through the Civil War.
Mr. Kolseth was connected with the Westinghouse Air Brake Company for a number of years, and was identified with the company's club. He was a member of the New England Railroad Club and the New England Street Railway Club. He belonged to St. Omar Commandery and St. Paul's Royal Arch Chapter of Masons.